Chevron Left
Back to Data Collection and Processing with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Collection and Processing with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,121 ratings
517 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

CM
Oct 9, 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

A
Jul 9, 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 514 Reviews for Data Collection and Processing with Python

By Edward K

May 19, 2020

The lessons on REST API need more information and more examples about the subject.

Also, the instructions in the final project should be cleaner. If a list is required, the specifically write, "output is a list. this list will contain".

By Liu W

Mar 26, 2020

The tool is TERRIBLE!!! To much bugs that waste tons of times!!!

Fine, then, except for the tool, everything else of the course is fine. But the course is DEFINITELY NOT for beginners. At lease take a basic python course before this one.

By Carol M

Aug 20, 2020

Compared to the first two classes in the Python 3 Specialization, this one has fewer exercise opportunities and is highly focused on a few concepts. The final project is a bear, due largely to challenges in the Runestone environment.

By Scott C

Aug 12, 2019

This would be much better if you could use an external IDE. The final project wasn't realistic because we were stuck using the Runestone code window which makes it very difficult to code as you would in a real job.

By Frank P

May 6, 2020

The final assessment is a nightmare as your CACHE File is broken. My code works perfectly in my IDE but I never could make it work on your evaluation tool. Wasted 5 days on this.

By Matthew F

Aug 12, 2020

the final project was very difficult and had to learn a package that only applied to this class and will never be used outside of class and has less function

By Paul S

Feb 15, 2021

Good course. The training environment is a bit rough to work in just for this specific course. Pay attention to the instrcutions to get it to run right

By Michelle M V

Jul 14, 2020

The Runestone environment becomes very slow once you're working with multiple functions and is sensitive to bugs.

By Edwin Y

Jan 15, 2021

the last question of project is such a challenge, the run time error is not helping in many cases

By Nidhi K

Jun 13, 2020

The runestone environment often gives mistakes that are not actually present

By Yongjian F

Jul 5, 2019

The API documents are not so useful. The final project is fun though.

By Helena L

Jul 9, 2020

Hope the course material could be more related to the final project.

By Paul B

May 13, 2020

Last assignment was screwy with the runestone implemenation.

By LIBIN W

Aug 4, 2020

good course but concepts in 3rd week was a real quickie.

By Yash R

Jun 12, 2020

feedback: week 3 modules were not structured properly.

By Иван И

Aug 21, 2019

Sufferings with final tests ( partially outdated )

By PRANAV G

May 30, 2020

Should bs focused more on requests module and API

By LifeExp

Aug 7, 2019

cannot access many of APIs used during the course

By Jason B

Nov 16, 2019

Really could have used more practice exercises.

By Yagna Y N

Apr 5, 2020

please provide detailed information in project

By Yuhao W

May 11, 2020

Week 3 and the final project is toooooo hard!

By Bohdan K V

Aug 17, 2020

The last assignment as always awful!

By Ioannis K

Jun 1, 2019

Runestone has a lot of bugs...

By Md. F K

Jun 19, 2020

Kind of complex to understand

By ASIF S

Aug 27, 2020

the tests are too tough