Chevron Left
Back to Developing Data Products

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Developing Data Products by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
1,847 ratings
348 reviews

About the Course

A data product is the production output from a statistical analysis. Data products automate complex analysis tasks or use technology to expand the utility of a data informed model, algorithm or inference. This course covers the basics of creating data products using Shiny, R packages, and interactive graphics. The course will focus on the statistical fundamentals of creating a data product that can be used to tell a story about data to a mass audience....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 04, 2016

This is a great introduction to some of the many ways to present your data. It's probably the easiest course in the specialisation but shows off an impressive array of widgets and gadgets.

RS

Nov 19, 2018

This course was amazing, it could definetly be more deep in each of the subjects, but gives you so much practice in tools that are very useful in the day by day of a data scientist

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 347 Reviews for Developing Data Products

By Matthew W

Mar 31, 2016

Fun making some apps and presentations in the context of Data Science.

By Chigrinov S

Feb 07, 2016

For me the course was really interesting. Yes, all topics are not covered in deep details - but lecturers show what technologies exist and for what purposes. So if you're interested in some of them - it is up to you to discover more (useful links are included). Really nice and useful overview.

By Falko K C

Apr 03, 2016

Excellent course, that helped me finish my own student project.

By jose m

Apr 27, 2016

Nice I like a lot, shiny nice tools. thanks to the teachers.

By Pam M

May 19, 2016

Really enjoyed learning how to build a Shiny App, and see a lot of use for this in my work environment. The Slidify product was not as useful - after 3 months of working on the project, I moved from Slidify to RPres, and was able to complete the project in very little time.

By Arnaud L

Nov 07, 2017

I loved it, very interesting and interactive

By Viditya T

Mar 31, 2018

Awesome Course and content

By Praveen S

Feb 11, 2018

awesome course

By Rodrigo C

Oct 16, 2017

Great course to consolidate everything that we have learned before

By Gregorio A A P

Aug 26, 2017

Excellent, but I would be grateful if you could translate all your courses of absolute quality into Spanish.

By Bruno C G

Oct 20, 2016

Great course, a lot of information!

By Michael S

May 19, 2018

Excellent course

By Richard I C

Feb 06, 2016

The material is great; and learning to use Shiny and creating an application is a lot of fun.

The only complaint I have with this course was it being put into the new Coursera platform. I felt like I was beta testing the new platform and that distracted from focusing on the course and the assignments within it.

By Amit K

Jun 28, 2017

Wonderful.

By Paul A

Apr 14, 2016

The best course so far and pulls everything together, surprised how much I have learnt over the specilaisation

By jose r

Jul 05, 2018

excellent

By Henk S

Dec 06, 2015

This is my comment as a beta tester:

1) The changes to the lessons have changed the course for the better.

2) If you want to be factually right than the statement that Bootstrap is a style should be changed on a few places. Bootstrap itself is not a style, although it is used as a style guide for the development of products. Obviously this is not a big issue and people that delve into will find the facts easily.

Bootstrap is an HTML, CSS, and JS front-end framework with a strong support for themes which people also call styles. Many themes/styles are available to build responsive, mobile-first web sites. Bootstrap was created by a designer and a developer at Twitter in mid-2010 and was released to the public in August 2011. It has become one of the most popular front-end frameworks and open source projects in the world. Bootstrap has a few easy ways to quickly get started, each one appealing to a different skill level and use case.

By Juan E F N

Sep 01, 2017

Brian Caffo is the best! No one could explain better than him. Congratulations for this excellent course, you are my inspiration to become a better data scientist.

By Geetha K

Dec 30, 2016

Very informative

By Daryl V D

Jun 20, 2017

Fantastic!

By Joe L

Apr 30, 2017

Great class, great series. Still much to learn.

By yefu w

May 30, 2017

Nice! Interesting!

By Artem V

May 16, 2017

Update rating!

By Ivan T

May 02, 2017

Interesting things about shiny applications nd creating own swirl courses.

By Michael H

Jun 24, 2018

Great overview of data products