Chevron Left
Back to Data and Health Indicators in Public Health Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data and Health Indicators in Public Health Practice by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
1,055 ratings
229 reviews

About the Course

Epidemiology is often described as the cornerstone science in public health. Epidemiology in public health practice uses study design and analyses to identify causes in an outbreak situation, guides interventions to improve population health, and evaluates programs and policies. In this course, we'll define the role of the professional epidemiologist as it relates to public health services, functions, and competencies. With that foundation in mind, we'll introduce you to the problem solving methodology and demonstrate how it can be used in a wide variety of settings to identify problems, propose solutions, and evaluate interventions. This methodology depends on the use of reliable data, so we'll take a deep dive into the routine and public health data systems that lie at the heart of epidemiology and then conclude with how you can use that data to calculate measures of disease burden in populations....

Top reviews

MB
Dec 13, 2019

Excellent introduction to epidemiology and public health, all the topics link together well and provide a good understanding of the public health basics which assist with related study and work.

JC
Nov 6, 2020

Very informative and simple. A good refresher course for medical students who want to get into public health. The instructor is very clear and concise, making the whole thing easily digestible.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 226 Reviews for Data and Health Indicators in Public Health Practice

By Akshita R

Jul 6, 2020

Application-based sessions & backing by literature was very useful and helped provide proper insights into the same.

By Beverly D

Oct 9, 2017

Interesting lectures with excellent tools/links/spreadsheets. A lot of complex information was presented in eas

By Oumou B

Nov 3, 2019

Excellent!!! the teaching methodology is clear, well articulated and very practical. The pedagogy is excellent!

By Danny G

Oct 27, 2017

It was excellent. Although it required more attention that I had anticipated, as there is much nuance involved.

By Michael S M M

Aug 30, 2020

It was really interesting this course by its easy understanding, I loved the practical lessons in last week.

By Loretta

Jul 21, 2020

Very helpful course for emerging public health professionals. Data sets used for practice were quite helpful

By Yessica L G M

Jun 3, 2021

EXCELENTE CURSO, EL APRENDIZAJE ES MUY PRACTICO, LOS CONCEPTOS SON APROPIADOS, MUY INTERACTIVO Y DIDACTICO

By Karen G

Jul 13, 2020

The amount, quality and substance of the course was great. But should allow more time for the excercises.

By Mariko E Y

Apr 2, 2020

Very organized, easy to follow, and informative. It definitely filled in some gaps in my understanding.

By Dr P S

Aug 20, 2018

This is a wonderful course given me a great insight for practical application of tools of epidemiology.

By Rolando T

Mar 4, 2018

Amazing course, I learned a lot about what I do as an epidemiologist in public health practice. Thanks.

By Sakhile N

Apr 1, 2020

content rich and very enlightning. week 2 was a bit tricky for me. but overall it is a great course

By Vennah O

May 19, 2019

a very important and informative course for anyone looking to work in a public health system sector

By Yenith A C S

May 29, 2020

Practical work allowed me to learn more and get the tools to perform my own analysis in the future

By Aba A

Sep 18, 2019

This Public health Course is just what I needed to boost my skills on the job. cud-dos to the team

By Benjamin E A

Jul 27, 2017

This has been a very helpful course and the subjects were properly taught and easy to understand.

By Reina F

Jan 27, 2021

I found this Course so interesting !!!! Thanks for this opportunity to improve my knowledges!!!

By Andria J N S

May 29, 2020

The instructor of the course was very knowledgeable and patient.Explained all details clearly.

By Fernando C

Apr 26, 2020

Very useful and interesting activities, highly didactic and entertaining to learn this topic.

By ALEXANDRA B V

Nov 11, 2021

Me encanta he aprendido mucho sobre salud publica y como hacer una vigilancia epidemiológica

By Diana C

Jan 12, 2020

Brief and practical way to learn about key aspects of epidemiology applied to public health.

By Cleo F T

Apr 25, 2019

This is a course that every public health worker should go through and learn if not master.

By NSIKAKABASI S G

May 3, 2020

Really an awesome experience especially with the access to data.

Thank you for this course

By Esraa E E M A

Mar 1, 2019

it was a great experience, i gained a lot of information and techniques in epidemiology