Chevron Left
Back to A Crash Course in Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Crash Course in Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
7,170 ratings
1,367 reviews

About the Course

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Reviews)
Well taught
(48 Reviews)

Top reviews

SJ
Sep 9, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

MD
Aug 27, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 1,334 Reviews for A Crash Course in Data Science

By Jose F V G

Jul 2, 2018

Content was super high level. Deeper content will do (more examples, pages, exercises or real life practice).

By Michel G

Dec 26, 2018

Knowledgeable professors. Had to spend some extra time researching some of the terms not covered in course.

By Andrew E

Jul 4, 2017

It is what it is: a crash course. Good to immerse in before committing to longer and more expensive courses.

By Rui R

Jun 5, 2017

Not dificult, but can be improved !

In terms of time, it is not time consuming. Better to whom has less time.

By SAURAV P

Dec 30, 2015

A very articulate orientation, which meticulously arouses interest about different corners of Data Science.

By Christophe A

Jun 4, 2020

Interesting overview of what is Data Science. I would have hoped more concrete examples and case studies.

By caroline l

Mar 11, 2018

Good basics, but basic and you really need to have knowledge of many Data Science terms before you start.

By Aishwarya K

Mar 26, 2018

Felt a little confused sometimes. I hope the videos can be a bit more detailed and clear with their flow

By Aishwarya R P

Oct 9, 2020

I quickly learnt about various aspects & fields in Data Science and their importance & relevance in it.

By Jeff F

Jan 9, 2018

A quick and easy high level overview of data science. Enjoyed the separating hype from hope questions!

By Madhav D

Jan 20, 2016

Good course for someone wanting to familiarize themselves with Data Science and understand the basics.

By Makar V

Sep 22, 2015

great introduction to field, but there is lack of examples of bad usage data science methods and tools

By Marie K G

Jun 1, 2020

It was a great starting point on learn the basics of Data Science. Looking forward to learning more.

By Steven B

Mar 24, 2019

Decent intro. It still uses a lot of terminology that is not defined and may be beyond the beginner.

By Vivek T

Aug 27, 2018

Helpful; learnt new stuff. But some of the course videos do not correspond with the quiz questions.

By Leonardo S

Jan 15, 2017

Clear and streamlined. I wish it could go deeper. Moving on with the other courses on the subject.

By Christopher M

Dec 30, 2017

Basic information on some of the terms you will encounter in other courses and in the real world.

By jyoti r

Oct 11, 2017

It was very informative course for those who wants to learn -what is data science is all about.

By Jeff G

Feb 21, 2017

a bit of mumbling in the videos, and some of the single/multiple answer buttons were incorrect.

By Marcel S

Jan 6, 2019

Algumas coisas ficaram meio confusas sobre o capítulo 3. Achei os exemplos pouco ilustrativos.

By Ron L

Feb 16, 2018

I liked it. Nice, quick, high-level overview of the most critical components of data science.

By Ahmed A

Apr 16, 2020

This course is presented and delivered by a professional academic team who has perfect skills

By Ronald J

Jun 6, 2019

Great course describing the process flow of Data Science and how to formulate quality results

By Robert G

Apr 6, 2020

The course is a good introduction to data science and the periphery of data science projects

By Cindy L

Feb 24, 2016

Good short introduction to the field who someone with minimal understanding of data science.