Chevron Left
Back to A Crash Course in Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Crash Course in Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
7,129 ratings
1,354 reviews

About the Course

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Reviews)
Well taught
(48 Reviews)

Top reviews

MD
Aug 27, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

SJ
Sep 9, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 1,321 Reviews for A Crash Course in Data Science

By Madhav D

Jan 20, 2016

Good course for someone wanting to familiarize themselves with Data Science and understand the basics.

By Makar V

Sep 22, 2015

great introduction to field, but there is lack of examples of bad usage data science methods and tools

By Marie K G

Jun 1, 2020

It was a great starting point on learn the basics of Data Science. Looking forward to learning more.

By Steven B

Mar 24, 2019

Decent intro. It still uses a lot of terminology that is not defined and may be beyond the beginner.

By Vivek T

Aug 27, 2018

Helpful; learnt new stuff. But some of the course videos do not correspond with the quiz questions.

By Leonardo S

Jan 15, 2017

Clear and streamlined. I wish it could go deeper. Moving on with the other courses on the subject.

By Christopher M

Dec 30, 2017

Basic information on some of the terms you will encounter in other courses and in the real world.

By jyoti r

Oct 11, 2017

It was very informative course for those who wants to learn -what is data science is all about.

By Jeff G

Feb 21, 2017

a bit of mumbling in the videos, and some of the single/multiple answer buttons were incorrect.

By Marcel S

Jan 6, 2019

Algumas coisas ficaram meio confusas sobre o capítulo 3. Achei os exemplos pouco ilustrativos.

By Ron L

Feb 16, 2018

I liked it. Nice, quick, high-level overview of the most critical components of data science.

By Ahmed A

Apr 16, 2020

This course is presented and delivered by a professional academic team who has perfect skills

By Ronald J

Jun 6, 2019

Great course describing the process flow of Data Science and how to formulate quality results

By Robert G

Apr 6, 2020

The course is a good introduction to data science and the periphery of data science projects

By Cindy L

Feb 24, 2016

Good short introduction to the field who someone with minimal understanding of data science.

By Deleted A

Nov 2, 2016

Solid executive level overview of the domains involved in leading a Data Science program.

By Sandrine R

Jul 19, 2018

Clear and well structured course. I would only suggest to spend more time on examples.

By Rhonda J

Dec 9, 2017

Good overview, but you'll need a more indepth course if you want to work in the field.

By Abdulaziz E

May 16, 2016

It is helpful for those who want to get an overview of what data science is all about.

By Rufat A

Feb 1, 2019

Good introduction to the data science field, although a bit heavy on the theory side.

By Abhishek S

Sep 5, 2017

A good overview of data science and terminologies. Few slides had some QA issues that

By Derek H

Aug 8, 2017

Covers the major areas of data science. Good segment on data science reality vs hype.

By Kalyan K S N

Oct 7, 2015

Very good course to understanding the nuances of Data science and various tools used.

By Melissa B

Jul 29, 2017

Good information on the basics in data science - presented in understandable format.

By Damon R

Sep 11, 2016

Good for getting a quick summary of what Data Science is for those new to the field.