Chevron Left
Back to A Crash Course in Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Crash Course in Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
7,140 ratings
1,358 reviews

About the Course

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Reviews)
Well taught
(48 Reviews)

Top reviews

MD
Aug 27, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

SJ
Sep 9, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 1,325 Reviews for A Crash Course in Data Science

By Pooja S

Jun 20, 2017

I really liked this crash course as it was to the point, clear and concise. I really liked short videos with quizzes at the end of each section. Thank you. I alreday feel that i h

By Thomas G

Sep 22, 2020

The system had a couple of glitches and some misleading statements that may confuse those with no Data Science experience, but overall well worth taking this crash course module.

By Ivan S

Dec 5, 2016

This was logically structured, yet interesting and engaging, great videos. The only thing that could make it better is more imagery for conveying some of the more complex ideas.

By Murari B

Apr 9, 2017

I had gone through each session, it gives good understanding on the data science. My suggestion is to go through each session more than once. Both the faculties are great.

By Rudy R

Jul 30, 2017

Good course though some of the content sped by too quickly to apply to the quizzes. However, I loved that everything was pared down to only the essentials in this primer.

By Ramya K

Sep 6, 2017

I enjoyed the quick intro to the subject. It also gave me a lot of leads with regards to the kind of tools I'd like to learn more about and pursue for my field of work.

By Aditya R

Dec 7, 2015

1.Concise and well structured.

2. Allows me to think about the core and the essentials.

3. Creates the basics on which I can learn further, deep dive and build expertise.

By Mauro P

Nov 25, 2017

A pretty short course which frame well the domain of Data Science and provides hints on how to obtain a deeper knowledge. All in all a good introductory course.

Thanks!

By Ritik S

Apr 22, 2020

This course is great for a newbie Data Scientist....Help a lot to grab all Data Science terminology...It would be better if question asked are updated everytime,,,

By James W

Nov 8, 2015

The course offers a solid overview of data science. If you have little to no familiarity with the field, I recommend taking a few hours to go through the course.

By Elena L

Dec 7, 2015

The crash course was easy to understand. The classes used good examples to give you visual details about the subject and the instructors were clear and precise.

By Stephanie G

May 20, 2018

A good intro on Data Science for those who have to work with data teams. You'll get to learn what all the buzzwords mean and separate real work from the hype.

By Scott C

Jan 26, 2017

Easy to follow without the jardon. Recommendation for those interested in statistics, Biostats, and looking to cost effectively learn or enhance skill sets.

By Arturo M R

Feb 18, 2018

Sometimes the workload limits the time for learning in reduced times. It would be good to have longer time margins to complete this type of academic program.

By kuldeep s

May 16, 2016

I would have liked a bit more detail and some more examples from business perspective. But I am sure there will be a more advanced course that I could take.

By Camilo M N

Jan 26, 2016

Very good introduction to the topic and also clarifies some terms that are in the air and end up misleading. like inference prediction and machine learning.

By Roven T

Sep 29, 2020

The Crash Course in Data Science gives you an overview of their Data Science Specialization. It is good for those who want to pursue to learn Data Science.

By Pietro B

Sep 30, 2015

Very crash course that gives you a taste about the different aspects of data science and makes you want to dive in the specialization program right away!

By Jayadev M

Dec 6, 2016

Course Material is good however I felt trainer is not very much engaging with the audience. There is not liveliness in the way the videos are projected.

By Dipesh J P

Jul 1, 2020

An excellent brief introduction to Data Science. However, I wouldn't have minded if the course were moderately longer with more relevant key concepts.

By Anand G

Dec 3, 2015

As the title of the course says, it's a Crash Course.

Quick, simple, effective in giving you the very basic terminologies, use cases of Data Sciences.

By Sarah B

Jan 2, 2017

Good introductory course. A bit dry with no interaction with other students (the forums were not popular and there were no peer-graded assignments).

By Martin F

Jun 21, 2019

All good apart from the video explanation of "Software" which came across as a bit all over the place. Likely to cause more confusion than answers.

By Federico J D F

Sep 10, 2020

I really enjoyed stuying this class. The content is very relavant and practical. I wish it could have shown more examples on the toolbox section.

By Afshin M

Feb 15, 2018

A good general overview that can be finished pretty quickly. There are some terms thrown around that might throw you if you get hung up on them.