Chevron Left
Back to A Crash Course in Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Crash Course in Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
6,906 ratings
1,309 reviews

About the Course

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Reviews)
Well taught
(48 Reviews)

Top reviews

MD

Aug 28, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

SJ

Sep 10, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

Filter by:

1176 - 1200 of 1,275 Reviews for A Crash Course in Data Science

By Daniel S

Sep 15, 2020

I know its a crash course, but probably need to be less general management stuff and more on data science

By Karthik S N

Apr 24, 2016

Really basic course. Not needed for people you have already done data science specialization in coursera

By Aarti K

Jan 03, 2018

The teachers spoke really fast with which it became difficult to grasp the words. Overall it was good.

By Hason G

Aug 18, 2017

Would have liked to seen more examples from other industries for those not in health industry

By Peter L

Jul 25, 2018

Added value is highly dependent of your experience with data analysis or data engeneering

By Clive C

Dec 31, 2017

An excellent high level overview, the presentations were strong. Could be more hands-on.

By Wei C

Oct 02, 2015

It provides a quich shot on data science, but the way it presents is not so interesting.

By Gobi R

Nov 06, 2017

Pretty basic only for those who have never heard of anything but the term data science.

By Michael G

Jun 13, 2018

Some topics are too high-level. But a great team delivering the content (as always)!

By Agnieszka W

Jul 18, 2020

The content is OK - wasn't really new for me, but the videos could be more engaging

By milosz

Nov 21, 2018

Very rudimentary but if the very basics are what you need, then it might suit you

By Ricardo J O

Jan 05, 2016

The courses in this specialization are - in my opinion, excessively short.

By Gregory G K

May 09, 2016

Interesting but uneven. Felt like the first draft of a team-taught course

By Hussein A

Aug 22, 2020

i didnt understand the examples cause i dont have a strong background

By Moein Z B

Aug 17, 2018

For managers and who like to know what is data science in general

By Chris B

Apr 22, 2017

Good intro to the terms, concepts, and approach for data science.

By Andrew P

Feb 10, 2016

Solid introduction. Not so engaging if using the non-paid options

By Rubén D C R

Sep 25, 2016

Excersices! real excersices to really understand the theory.

By Kunal S

Aug 03, 2020

Other than Jeff both the instructors were quite engaging.

By Kristen G

Jun 15, 2017

presenters were a little hard to follow. but good content

By Marcellus A

Nov 01, 2016

Good introductory course but a bit too superficial.

By Daniel

Nov 25, 2015

Concise but could already include a basic proyect.

By Patrick S L

Feb 06, 2020

More of a lean-back course. Missing case studies.

By Conrad W

Jan 04, 2018

Very high level but probably good for beginners.

By Alberto M B

Feb 28, 2019

Perhaps too shallow. I was expecting more info.