Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Data Science: K-Means Clustering in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Data Science: K-Means Clustering in Python by University of London

4.6
stars
300 ratings
99 reviews

About the Course

Organisations all around the world are using data to predict behaviours and extract valuable real-world insights to inform decisions. Managing and analysing big data has become an essential part of modern finance, retail, marketing, social science, development and research, medicine and government. This MOOC, designed by an academic team from Goldsmiths, University of London, will quickly introduce you to the core concepts of Data Science to prepare you for intermediate and advanced Data Science courses. It focuses on the basic mathematics, statistics and programming skills that are necessary for typical data analysis tasks. You will consider these fundamental concepts on an example data clustering task, and you will use this example to learn basic programming skills that are necessary for mastering Data Science techniques. During the course, you will be asked to do a series of mathematical and programming exercises and a small data clustering project for a given dataset....

Top reviews

AH
Jun 3, 2020

I love this course as it gives me the foundations of learning the Python coding program and relevant statistical methods that used for data analysis. It's really interesting course to attend to.

GR
Sep 9, 2019

184/5000\n\nConferences of very good quality, and the platform for practices is really useful to put the theory into practice. I recommend this course if you want to start in data science.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 100 Reviews for Foundations of Data Science: K-Means Clustering in Python

By VIJAYA R

May 25, 2020

This course starts from fundamental level. The instructors clearly explains statistical methods such as mean, variance, standard deviation, variance etc with python source code on a simple data set. Then they have explained plotting with labels and finally how to apply k-means clustering on bank note authentication dataset.

By HYEIN P

May 10, 2020

It was not fully explained how to use Python, therefore I should have looked for the more information through internet by myself.

However, it was quite interesting to understand why data science could be important and how to use with K-means clustering.

By Colin A

Aug 16, 2020

Overall what you get for the price is about right. Sometimes there are glaring gaps in the presentation of concepts, and how sections fit together. In the end it served its purpose to me - to see if I want to continue exploring data science a a field.

By Justin M J

May 11, 2020

I would highly recommend this course for any beginners. it simply suits both the first timers and people who wish to further existing knowledge and understanding of Python and data science to another level. enjoyable homebased learning.

By Daniel e

Apr 1, 2021

First 4 weeks very good (you learn enough and there are interesting topics), last week very "backloaded" half the course I would say. Also you dont get to do your ow project but is given a topic which i did not like. very good overall.

By Jesus R

Sep 25, 2019

The lessons based on maths had a lot of text; it would have been better to base it more on graphics or imagery, since it was confusing to follow speech and text on video at the same time.

By Soumya S

May 1, 2020

It is a very detailed and well planned course. However, there could have been a few lectures at the end on training set, testing set etc.

By Leonard J

Aug 9, 2020

Very good course to help you understand the basics of data science, the videos are short so will not cover everything you need

By Chintoo K

May 31, 2020

It was a great journey to get through it. Thanks a lot to all the instructors for their valuable job and effort :)

By Jason A

Feb 18, 2020

Good intro into K-means clustering. Some great introductory math tutorials and basic python programming.

By Gangolli, V

Sep 20, 2020

It is a good one for the beginner who is ready to give dedicated time.

By Peggy L

Apr 5, 2021

useful. it will be better if you have some basic knowledge on python

By Yeung K Y

Oct 14, 2020

Good content and I would recommend my friends for it.

By Bhawna D

Sep 24, 2019

More time should be given in the coding part.

By Jaison M

Apr 30, 2020

Very good if new to data science

By DIVYESH M

Jul 12, 2020

Nice course for New learner

By KASIVAJHULA S K

May 13, 2020

GREAT COURSE!

By Jonathan B

Dec 15, 2020

All the statistics and k-Means algorithms are well explained, but there is much missing guidance on how to conduct the final project.

By Ryan N

Sep 27, 2020

Mathematics taught is very abstract. Not many practice examples and linkage to practical side. Not much guidance on guided projects.

By Anton S

Aug 17, 2019

Good introduction to k-means clustering using Python. Easy for follow.

By Naveed K

Sep 27, 2020

It's a good course but data cleaning should also be included...

By Gagan P P

May 21, 2020

Good course.. But self study also needed...

By Margaret M L

Jan 20, 2021

You should be able to transcribe the code which is presented into Jupyter Notebooks as is. This is now the second time I have done so and I am guessing some of the needed code was left out as the code does not work. How can students be expected to complete assignments when the Instructor's code is not reproducible?