Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
stars
15,000 ratings
1,752 reviews

About the Course

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think! LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AG

May 14, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

JM

Feb 27, 2020

Very informative step-by-step guide of how to create a data science project. Course presents concepts in an engaging way and the quizzes and assignments helped in understanding the overall material.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,736 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Miguel V

Aug 07, 2020

This course was actually extremely useful in understanding the mindset of a data scientist. As someone in academia, there has always been an inherent disjunction between scholastic and business methodology. This course bridges that gap. :D

By Aastha M

Aug 20, 2020

This is a very informative course on how the data science methodology process is carried forward when a real problem is encountered. Each phase has been taught with good relatable examples which simplifies the learning process. Thank you!

By Amy P

Apr 26, 2019

Very thorough, thanks to excellent narration that had just the right enough repetition. Helpful use of diagrams to reiterate concepts. The Jupyter notebook labs were a fantastic way to illustrate the stages of data science methodology.

By Isis S C

Jan 21, 2020

Fantástico! Curso super eficiente, traz rápida assimilação da abordagem de Data Science, introduzindo, simultaneamente, Jupyter Notebooks: exmplo e na prática. Os exercícios peer reviewed criam uma deliciosa oportunidade de interação.

By Jafed E G

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Asresh K

Feb 13, 2020

An amazing course which teaches you the path to choose in order to solve data related business problems. The approaches mentioned in this course are very logical and awesome and can be used to solve most of the data science problems.

By Ferenc F P

Feb 26, 2019

This course is excellent, as it helps you understand the way of working, how you should carry out a data science project, and how your final report should look like. This course will help you in making a good report for the Capstone.

By hassan s

Aug 14, 2019

That was great fun learning a lot of stuff regarding the Data Science Modeling. This is a perfect course to understand and come to a problem solving model for any data scientist. Really changed my perception of solving the problem.

By Sérgio L

May 27, 2019

This course gave me a very important and useful framework, as I've been working with data analysis for more than ten years without any methodology to rely on. It is definetely necessary for whoever wants to deal with data analysis.

By Fred R

Dec 18, 2019

A very clear and instructive introduction to the Data Science process, from business question to results, with a very pedagogic explanation of all the stages in the process and the specific problems that characterize each of them.

By Zabihullah

Jan 01, 2020

Satisfying with the materials provided but the issue is the example used in lectures. It is better to find some common examples to be understandable for all fields of studies rather than talking about patients and medical things.

By Louis J

Sep 23, 2019

Very good! Would be interesting to go deeper and apply the whole data science methodology to a real case, write the code and detail deeply each step. I am searching exercises online to practice similar to real business scenarios.

By William B L

Mar 13, 2019

The methodology presented is robustly presented, with detailed descriptions of each step, the relation to those steps around it, the progress made at each step, and what is handed off between steps. I would strongly recommend it

By Abilio R D

Nov 18, 2019

Excellent course. The data science methodology learned in this course can be used to solve any problem present by one stakeholder. This course topic is the foundation for any one that would like to become a good data scientist.

By Francisco B L

Feb 01, 2019

This is the best Course in the Data Science Specialization so far. Not only does it structure the approach to tackle probles in Data Science but the Labs also gie you a very good idea on how powerful the tools are. Great!

By Vivek k

Jan 02, 2020

This course will help you to learn new skills like data science methodology using the various type of examples. This will help you to understand all methodology which is important in data science. I enjoyed this course.

By Alexandru F

Jul 23, 2019

A great overview of how a data science project takes place from inception until it is put into real life usage. Bonus point for the emphasis on the iterative aspect of the work put into delivering a successful solution.

By Truong P H G

Feb 24, 2020

Great case study and detail knowledge of methodology to understand business and problem, methods of data requirements, collection, preparation and so on. However, some tiny issue with the lab work such as delay output.

By Indrajit G

Nov 23, 2019

The most important stage and concepts to dive in data science are clearly explained especially with the lab works which helps to understand and one must always know these to dive deep. thank you IBM-coursera platform

By belachkar a

May 28, 2020

A very good course to get the Data Science Methodology:

Business Understanding, Analytic Approach, Data Requirements, Data Collection, Data Understanding, Data Preparation, Modeling, Evaluation, Deployment, Feedback.

By Fabiyi O

Aug 14, 2019

This is a wonderful course that opened my eyes to Data Science Methodology. It is similar to the process of Data Analysis of survey which i worked on recently. I will definitely look at ways to re-use this knowledge

By Maarten d G

Aug 27, 2020

This course comprehensively explains the data science project cycle. yet remains crisp at all times. The final assignment demands direct application of the learnings from the course and reflects it very well.

By Sagarika S

Jun 14, 2020

Amazing course! This course taught me many things and how we can solve any problems related to any industries using data science. Thank you to all the instructors for providing this course in a amazing way...

By Portia T J

Jan 08, 2020

The course is very helpful. But I think the case study of hospital add complexity to the theory. If they can just use some normal business as case study, it might be better. But otherwise, I like this course.

By Muhammad U N

Mar 21, 2019

This course teaches you the data science methodology which is very iterative to ensure to get intended answers to your problems. And the amazing thing is that the course really simple and easy to understand.