Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
stars
20,119 ratings

About the Course

If there is a shortcut to becoming a Data Scientist, then learning to think and work like a successful Data Scientist is it. In this course, you will learn and then apply this methodology that you can use to tackle any Data Science scenario. You’ll explore two notable data science methodologies, Foundational Data Science Methodology, and the six-stage CRISP-DM data science methodology, and learn how to apply these data science methodologies. Most established data scientists follow these or similar methodologies for solving data science problems. Begin by learning about forming the business/research problem Learn how data scientists obtain, prepare, and analyze data. Discover how applying data science methodology practices helps ensure that the data used for problem-solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question. Next, learn about building the data model, deploying that model, data storytelling, and obtaining feedback You’ll think like a data scientist and develop your data science methodology skills using a real-world inspired scenario through progressive labs hosted within Jupyter Notebooks and using Python....

Top reviews

PA

Invalid date

It's a very good course for getting the basic idea of the methodology of data science. It will help to get grip on how to proceed to a problem in a systematic manner for getting good results.

JG

Invalid date

This was a clear and concise overview of the methodology and using the case study really helped (although sometimes it got a bit advanced considering this comes before actually learning models).

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 2,537 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By María A G L

Feb 11, 2023

Este certificado me aclaro que la ciencia de datos es una herramienta clave en cualquier empresa o instituciones. Definitivamente quiero y necesito continuar y ampliar conocimientos en este campo para utilizarlo en mi carrera profesional. Gracias a los instructores por su tiempo y esfuerzo y por la oportunidad que me dieron en Coursera

By Varun V

Nov 11, 2018

This is a very nice course since understanding this course has helped us in thinking deep about various stages of a Data Science project. Moreover, the author has taken a case study and used that for explanation of all the concepts which made it look more like a story rather than just boring lectures. Very helpful and nicely organized.

By Darshan K

Jun 21, 2022

That's very systematic learning!! There is one suggestion from my side. There should be a more common example or case study to use to understand the whole methodology than hospital case studey. Other than this the course is excellent and full of knowledge with adequate pace. Thank you Coursera and IBM team for such a valuable content.

By Tatyana F

Apr 22, 2020

It turned out that this theoretical block is quite complicated, since there are many details that must be taken into account when answering test questions. However, I am glad that I completed that course. Now I have a deep understanding of how to work with data at all stages. I thank the authors of the course for such quality content!

By Reza J

Dec 6, 2021

A great course before starting data science real projects. It is important to have a road map in every project where you create paths based on your goals and this course helps you out to do so. Also, the examples that this course use are simple but they are pretty close to real-world projects and helps understanding them a lot.

By Leonardo R

Jul 10, 2019

This course provides the perfect explanation of what goes into the data science methodology. The course guides students through an in depth analysis of each stage with examples and labs so they can follow along. The course also uses the data science method to solve a real world problem that one may encounter in their career.

By Ankit R

Apr 26, 2020

For a newbie,It is very important to understand how to solve a real world problem and for that its very important you should have knowledge of "How to approach?" and what all methods are required to achieve a statistical solution. This course helps me a lot in gaining those skills and looking ahead for other courses of IBM.

By Gideon R

Nov 3, 2018

Having a structured methodology is an essential part of one's work. Nothing is more tempting than shortcuts but we always end up regretting them. The Rollins approach to data science, when properly understood, really clarifies the sequence of steps involved in achieving a result that will satisfy the organizational needs.

By dave d

Apr 2, 2022

A Wll Designed Course for beginners to Learn about data science methodology before applying Programming Skills however there is a suggetion from my side about Data Modelling stage as i am not a Statastics Student and don't know about what are the types of data Modelling so kindly Provide classifiction of Data Modelling.

By Ahmed H M

May 21, 2020

Great theoretical course for the whole process that Data Scientists go through. Explained well with case studies, however comes with a bit of intermediate python code to understand at this early stage, it forecasts what to expect next in the specialization from programming point of view, so get ready and enjoy the ride!

By Abelardo F

Jan 2, 2021

This course was very useful to fully understand the ideal Methodology for Data Science. From conceiving and formulating the correct questions to thinking analytically and chose which of the data models are the best for our problem. I really feel this is a basic course for anyone who wants to Excel in Data Science!

By Jason D

Jul 30, 2019

Good course. Very important when it comes to implementing Data Science in real life. The instructor explains the life cycle and flow of the Data Science methodology along with an example scenario. Understanding and differentiating between the different phases of the methodology is much easier because of this.

By Baris P

Dec 13, 2019

Due to its approach to methodology, the course as a whole looks intimidating, but actually what it does is great way to teach a methodology, which is useful in both data science working space and academic environment. The course is quite easier than what it requires to fully understand the methodology.

By Jose J D

Sep 24, 2019

Absolutely Amazing Course. Clear, providing useful plug and play methodology. One of the best courses I have taken. One suggestion is to improve the quality of Slides on the presentation, I should have to evaluate with four stars due to this, but the quality is so high that I would go with five stars.

By Muhammad H N

Nov 7, 2022

Really enjoyed the course. Before this course, even though I had become quite familiar with Data Science and the various tools, but I was still not confident enough. It was this course which comprehensively embedded the whole concept of Data Science and the end to end methodology of it in my mind.

By Tsz K K L

May 23, 2021

Very useful course to tackle day to day workspace issues, especially if you're as a operations position. I was very inspired after taking this course and can relate to a lot of stuff that I'm working on at work. Definitely will apply this methodology and improve the process and achieve efficiency!

By Mohit S

Jun 15, 2020

This course will actually transits you the classroom, abstract teaching, or say for story telling to Real problems. In this course you will learn hoe to approach the problem and how one should think like a Data Scientist. Anyone who is interested to learn about Data Science must take this course.

By Pamudri B

Jan 13, 2021

This course gave me the exact idea of how to develop and integrate machine learning into my thesis in medicine. As a person who is completely new to the field, I have the knowledge now to develop a problem that would match my main research interest. Thank you for this amazing course. I loved it.

By James L M

Jul 2, 2020

The course is very comprehensive. I like the way explain each steps in a manner in which we could understand diagram on which the arrows are pointing. I hope they gave more examples or more practice so we could familiar each steps and the actions taken on their. All in all, the course is great!

By Sofia L

Dec 29, 2019

This course has completely blew my mind. I now see how data science can be applied to everything and can help find solutions to anything! from social issues to business. I thrilled that i have gained new insights from this course that I will put in practice from now on in every day in my life!

By Jarred P

Jul 27, 2022

This was the best class that I have taken from the data science certificate so far. The videos are effective and just the right length. The case studies were really good and helped me apply concepts to the real world. I also thought the readings were really helpful and were very interactive.

By Mauricio E M

Jun 9, 2020

What a course! totally surprised me. This course changed the way I approach any situation and problem not only in Data science but also in any day situation. You learn a methodology in order to aproach, work, analyze, structure, model and deploy your data science work. Thanks, very helpful!

By L H

Dec 17, 2022

Excellent, clear outline of fundamentals of DS Methodology. Very clearly presented in bite-sized chunks, building coherently upon each other. A good balance of practical work with useful intro to modelling before some will have learned the programming skills involved. Well thought out.

By Rubén Q “ H D M

Apr 18, 2020

Comprendí que la metodología CRISP-DM es fundamental para la gestión de datos en Data Science, el éxito en el campo de la ciencia de datos depende de su capacidad para aplicar las herramientas correctas, en el momento correcto, en el orden correcto, para abordar el problema correcto.

By Matthew L

Sep 8, 2019

This course was very helpful in putting the whole concept of data science methodology together. As someone currently working in data science, I found the methodology excellent, as it clearly laid out the conceptual reasons for how and why to successfully complete data science projects.