Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
stars
20,102 ratings

About the Course

If there is a shortcut to becoming a Data Scientist, then learning to think and work like a successful Data Scientist is it. In this course, you will learn and then apply this methodology that you can use to tackle any Data Science scenario. You’ll explore two notable data science methodologies, Foundational Data Science Methodology, and the six-stage CRISP-DM data science methodology, and learn how to apply these data science methodologies. Most established data scientists follow these or similar methodologies for solving data science problems. Begin by learning about forming the business/research problem Learn how data scientists obtain, prepare, and analyze data. Discover how applying data science methodology practices helps ensure that the data used for problem-solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question. Next, learn about building the data model, deploying that model, data storytelling, and obtaining feedback You’ll think like a data scientist and develop your data science methodology skills using a real-world inspired scenario through progressive labs hosted within Jupyter Notebooks and using Python....

Top reviews

HV

Invalid date

A bit more complex than what I would have hoped, but the material is still digestible. I think this course could be improve if the lecturer slow down a bit and spend more time on each topic

JG

Invalid date

This was a clear and concise overview of the methodology and using the case study really helped (although sometimes it got a bit advanced considering this comes before actually learning models).

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 2,537 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Patricia P

Jan 17, 2019

Maravilhoso! Quem trabalha com análises e/ou relatórios já tem uma ideia dos passos, mas ainda assim é válido porque estrutura conhecimento, entra mais a fundo nas etapas e traz muitas informações interessantes. Pra quem não trabalha pode conhecer como fazer uma análise desde o início.

By Ramiro B

Oct 10, 2019

I think this is an amazing coruse, because it gives you the skill for organizing the entire data science process as an organized sequence of strategic stages which are coherent between themselves and together give a way to transform a problem to a real solution in a step-by-step way.

By Lokesh D

Aug 3, 2021

A very detailed course on how to approach a problem Data Science way. The examples provided were also were relatable and understandable. After this course, I have now gained knowledge on the Data Science methodology and was able to complete the final assignment with confidence.

By Ramya D N

Apr 30, 2020

Its really a nice course. If you want to become a data scientist you first understand the basic things. and this course will definitely help you to understand that. Take this course and understand how to approach a business problem and solve it in an efficient manner. Thank you

By Nita A

Dec 12, 2019

Was a fun and interesting course. Got to learn about all the stages of the Data Science Methodology from problem question to be answered to modeling to evaluation to deployment to feedback. Enjoyed the case study, labs, and final assignment. Can't wait to start the next course!

By Jurom N

Jan 21, 2020

The course on Data Science Methodology was sufficient enough to understand this lesson given its examples, scenarios, explanation in each methodology stage, etc. The expectations of learning were also clear and personally, my memory retention is high after taking each course.

By Daniel F

Apr 23, 2020

Quite good, detailed but clear. The Jupyter notebooks provided are excellent and make me want to learn Python because it is a powerful tool for turning data understanding into workable data. The case study is helpful for context. The assignment really requires you to think.

By Benjamin S

Mar 25, 2020

This course is simple yet important for data scientist wannabes. It provides you with important stages of a complete project. Personally, like the effort in the extra lab material, deepening what we have learnt. To improve, I hope to get more toolkits in analytics approach.

By SHUBHAM K

Mar 7, 2020

This course introduced me to the Data Science Methodology in a very good manner. The best part was hands-on lab experience. And the last assignment really helped me to collect all my learning and implement it. It was really a very good experience. Thanks Coursera and IBM.

By Noah F

Jan 13, 2023

I really liked the way the instructor described subjects in the course, especially compared to previous courses in the IBM Data Science certificate. The videos gave a really good introduction to each concept and the Jupyter notebook labs helped reinforce what was taught.

By Raksha S

Apr 3, 2020

Amazing learning experience! The course is taught with a simple analogy to cooking, and it makes learning more fun and relatable. Also, the Assignment is a great way to get a good platform to put on our thinking caps and experience the entire Methodology cycle ourselves.

By Zhari C

May 6, 2019

I am learning so much! Glad to have the opportunity to learn at my own pace. This course is laid out beautifully. If I could change one thing it would be to have updated slides and photos of IBM Watson, not the Data Science Experience. The screens do look very different.

By Saurabh D

Jul 29, 2020

Provides an excellent understanding of various steps within Data Science project. All the videos are very good and describe the concept in a simple and easy way. I liked the analogy between cooking, recipes, ingredients and corresponding steps in a Data Science project.

By Luis G

Sep 2, 2020

This is a compact but informative course that embark the learner into the methodology to successfuly conduct a data science project based on the business requirements and outlines the tasks in each step every professional looking to get a job in this field must follow.

By ruhul a

Mar 27, 2020

Awesome, just what is need for a good and strong background for a perfect Data Science project methodology, need not be only data science this is universal in nature for all kind of business problem. Very well drafted and made topic with good list of course flow

By James W

Apr 4, 2023

Loved the course. I feel a lot more familiar and confident with the concepts of what a Data Scientist does to achieve their goal and I'm eager to continue to learn more. The way the classes are being taught is incredibly conducive to a good learning experience.

By Badal S

May 21, 2020

If your a beginner to the data science or analytics stream then this is the best course to understand where and how this field plays an important role in solving real-world problems that we otherwise not possible. or very complex. I really enjoyed this course!

By Danesh T

Apr 24, 2020

Wonderful Experience of exploring the data science course and in this i learned about the method and process or procedure for certain problem using the data science tools like the IBM cloud in the watson studio to enhance the experience of IBM cloud .

Thank you

By Abdullah A F M

Feb 14, 2024

This is really a well furnished course. The business understanding stages helps me to understand how to apply data science in practical life solution. I recommend that all enroll the course as soon as possible to make the data science journey more enjoyable.

By Gustave M

May 22, 2020

This course is one of the best courses I have taken so far. The breakdown of data science methodology can be used in many cases. For example, I thought about how this course would have helped even during my thesis writing work in graduate school. Well-done!

By Leanna W

Oct 17, 2018

Excellent course! The approach is easy to following and has a proven track record for solving business solutions. I highly recommend this approach for anyone that want to learn more about Data Science or for anyone interested in becoming a Data Scientist.

By Roney j

Sep 13, 2020

This course is an excellent demonstration of several actual data science application. It gives a detailed idea of life-cycle of a data science project. The case study may seem complicated at first but the labs included in the course gives you better idea.

By Joseph K

May 21, 2020

This is the best course I have taken yet in the Data Science family of courses. John Rollins, descriptive Data Science and CRISP-DM methodologies are very useful to not only logically lay out a process but takes into consideration human behavior as well.

By Евгений Г М

Mar 29, 2020

The course is useful primarily for its systematization of all approaches in data science. A step-by-step development of research is demonstrated, starting from the statement of the problem and ending with the found solution to the problem. Useful course.

By Alexandra H

Jan 2, 2021

While being familiar with the process of research methodology I did very much enjoy learning the data science terminology associated with it. The only issue I ran into with the particular module was that the instructions for the labs were out of data.