Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
4,249 ratings
395 reviews

About the Course

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think! LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AG

May 14, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

SJ

Aug 09, 2018

This is my favourite in the series, the 10 questions to be answered were mind opening. The repetition after every video makes easier for important points to stick to the brain. Very good indeed...

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 465 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Clayton S

Feb 02, 2019

This one is fairly painful to sit through and needlessly complex. Other sites have explained this much simpler and clearer than here

By Husain B

Jan 29, 2019

Instead of CHF the case study should be change to something which everyone can understand.

By Ozge I

Jan 24, 2019

1) This descriptions in this course are very dull. They need to be supported by better examples which do not include a lot of terminology specific to the topic.

2) The questions in the videos can be better designed to evaluate the students' knowledge about the topic, e.g., letting them apply their knowledge in new examples. Some questions are redundant such as the name of the person who designed the data science methodology or questions specific to the case study and does not necessarily provide insight into general concepts.

3) Simply reading what is in the slides is not a good use of videos and cannot keep the focus of the students for a long time.

4) This course might be located after the Python for Data Science course or even later so that the students could have a more meaningful final assignment, actually applying what they learned on a small data set.

5) Knowing a subject and teaching a subject are two different things. I hope you consult a university professor in the field about how to teach these courses. There is a lot of room for improvement in terms of the pedagogical perspective.

By Jiayang Z

Feb 17, 2019

The example should change to a easier one. This example is hard to understand.

By Sasha M

Jul 27, 2018

Really difficult content to digest without much written information. This course needs to provide more readings and the videos need to provide more text, as opposed to relying on voice instruction.

By Lauren J

Apr 03, 2019

This was a good course. It was an overview of the entire data science process, which was helpful for me since I didn't really have a good understanding of what data science meant before this class. Now I have a much better understanding of what people mean when they say data science. Also, this class gives a good orientation for other courses; for example, I would see "data mining" courses on Coursera and not understand how that fit in with data science. Now I do. I would recommend this course for people very new at programming and data science, like me.

By Kristoffer H

Feb 05, 2019

Quizzes quiz on material not covered in the course or directed to externally. Most of the quizzes are word games and do not apply concepts covered in the material. Everything from how disconnected the quiz questions are compared to available information provided in the course to the peer-graded final assignment show little or now effort was put into composing this course.

By Ponciano R

Feb 04, 2019

Fine for an introductory course

By Jianfei Z

Jan 20, 2019

Nothing is discussed in details. For people know nothing about data science, many topics are not explained and they won't understand anything valuable; for people already have a background in data science, the topics are useless and too shallow.

By Johannes

Jan 16, 2019

this course should be a little later in the IBM sylalbis

By Christian J

Jun 24, 2019

I imagine this to be the foundation of any data science problem, and will probably be knowledge used for the rest of my data science career.

By Pitchaiah U

Jun 24, 2019

Good one

By Lipin A

Jun 24, 2019

I think it is very significant course that is helpful not only for data scientists, but also for any researcher.

By Mohit M

Jun 23, 2019

Very helpful.

By Arup K N

Jun 23, 2019

This course is more theoretical than practical which kinda makes this course a little boring then the other courses.

By Nurullah K

Jun 23, 2019

The course was effective,it was a little bit hard but it was instructive,i am happy that i finished a step more in the data science journey.

By Deepratna A

Jun 22, 2019

Could have made it more interesting

By Daniel L A

Jun 22, 2019

-

By MUNIB U R

Jun 22, 2019

The course is a bit confusing for a beginner, the concepts should be clearly explained, the prediction model and the descriptive model should be taken in different videos.The learner should understand the difference clearly.

By Shubham T

Jun 21, 2019

this course helps how to think when solving such a problem and not just DATA science problem but any problem.

By Shuyuan C

Jun 21, 2019

A good introduction to get useful skills for data analysis process.

By ABHIJEET C

Jun 21, 2019

Cognitive class links are not working sometimes. Rest course is excellent.

By Tryambak G

Jun 19, 2019

Great learning experience!

By Jonathan O A

Jun 19, 2019

The course presentation is clear and concise!

By Maulin A

Jun 19, 2019

Almost fell asleep during the narration.