Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
stars
20,129 ratings

About the Course

If there is a shortcut to becoming a Data Scientist, then learning to think and work like a successful Data Scientist is it. In this course, you will learn and then apply this methodology that you can use to tackle any Data Science scenario. You’ll explore two notable data science methodologies, Foundational Data Science Methodology, and the six-stage CRISP-DM data science methodology, and learn how to apply these data science methodologies. Most established data scientists follow these or similar methodologies for solving data science problems. Begin by learning about forming the business/research problem Learn how data scientists obtain, prepare, and analyze data. Discover how applying data science methodology practices helps ensure that the data used for problem-solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question. Next, learn about building the data model, deploying that model, data storytelling, and obtaining feedback You’ll think like a data scientist and develop your data science methodology skills using a real-world inspired scenario through progressive labs hosted within Jupyter Notebooks and using Python....

Top reviews

HV

Invalid date

A bit more complex than what I would have hoped, but the material is still digestible. I think this course could be improve if the lecturer slow down a bit and spend more time on each topic

HH

Invalid date

This was a critical course for me. Understanding the data scientists workflow which includes customer\client interaction has help me in understanding how to proceed in future endeavors.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 2,537 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Jeff L

Jan 23, 2020

It's really a lot of information than I expected, but it is certainly helpful for helping me to further understand data science. My only suggestion is to include more explanation to the code in the labs to make it easier to interpret for the students.

By Bibhu A P

Nov 5, 2019

The methodology was really great. Though this is somewhat a modified version of the CRSIP-DM methodology being used in Data mining. The labs were wonderfully set up to understand the topic. The case study was the most interesting aspect of the course.

By Raphael N

Mar 4, 2019

This was one of the trickiest courses I have taken yet. I have had to re-read the documents and watch the presentations to get the concept clearly. I highly recommend it to anyone willing to be patient to understand the under-workings of data science.

By Ivan F

Apr 4, 2022

I was a bit reluctant to do this course, however, after starting I could not stop. I think this course presents the DS methodology in the easiest way to understand for beginners. The examples that the instructor shows are clear and easy to relate to.

By Juan M H T

Dec 11, 2020

This is not a general overview, it's a complete scann to Data Science Methodology that allowed me to see the complete development of a Data Science project with the usage of the tools and intervention of roles previously reviewed in the past courses.

By Marat M

Oct 30, 2020

Very interesting and useful course. Final project is also very useful, since it allows to apply immediately the learning skills creating a new brief data science project. I am very impressed by this course and I would like to thank the instructors!

By Louis C C I

Dec 29, 2020

Its a great introduction to the data science methodology. The only thing I wish is that they go a little bit slower in the videos. They're talking about something and I'm reading the slides and then it just shifts over to a new slide fairly quick.

By Amitayu B

Dec 16, 2020

Interesting course, only video-sound was a bit low. Learned the basic steps Business understanding, Analytic approach, Data requirement, Data collection, Data understanding, Data preparation, Modelling, Model evaluation, Deployment, and Feedback.

By Deleted A

Apr 2, 2019

Good introduction to the methods used by data science. It was a clear walk through the different stages of the process. A good outline to keep available when tackling basic data science problems. I will print out the method and use it at work.

By Ankit T

Apr 26, 2020

It is a great course in understanding the concepts of how data scientist starts with a business problem and transform that into a solution using data. It takes you through the journey from the problem until the solution and how you go about it.

By Deleted A

Sep 6, 2020

The course is really good which makes me have a new vision about Data Science, especially the part of Ungraded External Tools. Although there are a few bit of confusing concepts, I have learned so much from the course. Thank you, instructors

By sabra h

May 23, 2020

its good to know about methodology before going deep to a better ideal, i think this course should be after next courses, because practical labs was hard, if there was practical lab that we can do it all by myself, it will be more awesome.

By Miguel V

Aug 6, 2020

This course was actually extremely useful in understanding the mindset of a data scientist. As someone in academia, there has always been an inherent disjunction between scholastic and business methodology. This course bridges that gap. :D

By Aastha M

Aug 20, 2020

This is a very informative course on how the data science methodology process is carried forward when a real problem is encountered. Each phase has been taught with good relatable examples which simplifies the learning process. Thank you!

By Amy P

Apr 26, 2019

Very thorough, thanks to excellent narration that had just the right enough repetition. Helpful use of diagrams to reiterate concepts. The Jupyter notebook labs were a fantastic way to illustrate the stages of data science methodology.

By Ísis S C

Jan 20, 2020

Fantástico! Curso super eficiente, traz rápida assimilação da abordagem de Data Science, introduzindo, simultaneamente, Jupyter Notebooks: exmplo e na prática. Os exercícios peer reviewed criam uma deliciosa oportunidade de interação.

By Jafed E G

Jul 6, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Asresh K

Feb 13, 2020

An amazing course which teaches you the path to choose in order to solve data related business problems. The approaches mentioned in this course are very logical and awesome and can be used to solve most of the data science problems.

By Ferenc F P

Feb 26, 2019

This course is excellent, as it helps you understand the way of working, how you should carry out a data science project, and how your final report should look like. This course will help you in making a good report for the Capstone.

By Mahdi G

Jun 14, 2023

Really it is Worthfull Course. Helpfull Training Method. Nice Videos & Specially The Labs Are Worthfull & Helpfull.

I extend my thanks and gratitude To Coursera & IBM To give me chance learning. i Say Best Wishes & Regards. u r great

By hassan s

Aug 14, 2019

That was great fun learning a lot of stuff regarding the Data Science Modeling. This is a perfect course to understand and come to a problem solving model for any data scientist. Really changed my perception of solving the problem.

By Sérgio L

May 27, 2019

This course gave me a very important and useful framework, as I've been working with data analysis for more than ten years without any methodology to rely on. It is definetely necessary for whoever wants to deal with data analysis.

By Lucas F M

Jan 15, 2021

Very nice review of the steps needed to develop a project in Data Science. It may not be too much of a surprise for people who have a background in Science, but it still well put together and interesting. Nice case study included.

By Kwadwo A

Nov 21, 2020

My first time ever using Coursera. I feel justice was done to the topic. It was very detailed ad enjoyed each day i reviewed the resources on this topic. Thank you for such a platform. Looking forward to completing future courses.

By Fred R

Dec 18, 2019

A very clear and instructive introduction to the Data Science process, from business question to results, with a very pedagogic explanation of all the stages in the process and the specific problems that characterize each of them.