Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
stars
15,916 ratings
1,899 reviews

About the Course

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think! LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AG
May 13, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

JM
Feb 26, 2020

Very informative step-by-step guide of how to create a data science project. Course presents concepts in an engaging way and the quizzes and assignments helped in understanding the overall material.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,882 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Sagarika S

Jun 14, 2020

Amazing course! This course taught me many things and how we can solve any problems related to any industries using data science. Thank you to all the instructors for providing this course in a amazing way...

By Portia T J

Jan 8, 2020

The course is very helpful. But I think the case study of hospital add complexity to the theory. If they can just use some normal business as case study, it might be better. But otherwise, I like this course.

By Muhammad U N

Mar 20, 2019

This course teaches you the data science methodology which is very iterative to ensure to get intended answers to your problems. And the amazing thing is that the course really simple and easy to understand.

By Yedhu K V P

Oct 22, 2018

I got to know the overall data science methodology cycle. I also loved that I could get some practical knowledge by trying them out in Python. I absolutely recommend this to anyone who's new to Data Science.

By Carl-Michael E

Feb 26, 2021

This is the best course so far in the IBM Data Science Professional Certificate program.

The content was well structured, the videos were clear, and the use of the case study helped to demonstrate each step.

By Elmer B E

Jul 13, 2020

Well recommended course to take to fully understand the basic framework on what a data scientist should apply as appropriate methodology in answering a business problem by harnessing the insights in a data.

By Bill S

Feb 9, 2020

Course gives a better understanding of the data science field and it's tools. It breaks down the methodology followed and how all the pieces come together to get you on your way to becoming a data scientist

By Timothy-Ray H

Aug 28, 2020

This is a very important course for the beginning Data Scientist. It helped me to understand the importance of developing the question and selecting, testing, and integrating the correct data for analysis.

By Shane W

Dec 5, 2019

This course is short, but it gives a thorough introduction to a very straightforward methodology that is easy to understand, apply, and communicate to stakeholders, but still effective. Highly recommended.

By Simran P S

Jun 25, 2019

its a good course , you get to learn how to approach a problem and how to deal with it, what steps to take to ensure your models are working etc... would definitely recommend going through it at least once

By Ramón S A

Aug 25, 2020

A good course, in my opinion fundamental to step forward in Data Science projects, only one consideration, I thinkk it would be better to put in 2nd place of the degree , before of Tools for Data Science.

By Diego M E C

Jul 20, 2020

Very well explained, easy to digest and really paints the picture of a data scientist various activities and contributions within a project. I highly recommend this course, no previous knowledge needed.

By Desmond W K

Nov 26, 2019

Great overview of most popular data science tools, like Jupyter notebooks and numpy a really great entry point for using machine learning, learning about server services and applying them to businesses.

By Sorath A

May 21, 2020

This course clearly describes the iterative process of Data Science Methodology which is mandatory for a Data Scientist. The course material was easy to follow and the final assignment was interesting.

By Javier F A

Mar 26, 2020

T

h

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

i

s

r

e

a

l

l

y

f

a

n

t

a

s

tic. It is impossible to understand the purpose of a science if you don't understand the problem and the approach to problem solving. And this is precisely what is achieved here.

By Diego A P

Aug 6, 2020

This course covers the end to end cycle suggested framework that can be useful not only in Data Science but also in other Research Projects that manage information to create and deploy a solution.

By Joaquín R

Dec 30, 2019

It is a very important course to understand the procedures and thought processes behind data science. I strongly recommend it to those who are unfamiliar with data science or reserach methodology.

By Joseph G

Nov 30, 2019

This was a clear and concise overview of the methodology and using the case study really helped (although sometimes it got a bit advanced considering this comes before actually learning models).

By Humayun O

Jun 16, 2020

Great Course. It was a simple course and to the point. It explained the concepts perfectly for future advancement. I think the theory in here could be applied to any problem data science or not

By Ani 0

Apr 15, 2020

It's a very good course for getting the basic idea of the methodology of data science. It will help to get grip on how to proceed to a problem in a systematic manner for getting good results.

By Aniket R

Nov 23, 2019

It was a good course with very easy to understand material and methodology.

In my opinion additional optional reading resources or case study links is required for this to be a 5 star course.

By omid z

Jan 6, 2021

in this course step by step guide for beginner data scientists is illustrated with practical application and real examples with codes! best course in this specialization so far. Enjoy it :)

By Hind B

Aug 17, 2020

Very enriching course. I really liked the content of this course as it has guided me the basic framework of solving any data science problem. the assignment is also fun and enjoyable to do.

By Alejandro G

Feb 16, 2020

Muy completo, y entendible acerca de cómo convertir un problema en un proyecto solucionable a través de la data, siguiendo simplemente unos pasos y pensando con un poco de creatividad.

By Israel N M

Aug 19, 2019

This course is a great overview of the process of analyzing a data set. I feel a lot more ready for a Data Analysis job after this course than I did before. So glad I chose to take it.