Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
stars
10,746 ratings
1,084 reviews

About the Course

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think! LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AG

May 14, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

TX

Apr 01, 2019

It just totally rebuilds my mind in thinking about how I should approach solving problems. I feel that I'm learning strong framework for an evidence-based logical approach. Just like a consultant.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,077 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Jianxu S

Aug 24, 2019

I would probably give 4.5 stars if there is such choice. Overall, it is good and fun to work through the material but there are places where the message was not crystal clear. For examples, the analogy between data scientist and cook is not always helpful. One of the quiz question described model 2 but was associated with the wrong cost ratio (4:1 instead of 9:1). If Receiver Operation Characteristic (ROC) curve is an important concept then perhaps a little bit more explanation is warranted.

By Guilherme P d C

May 06, 2019

For the case study presented, specially during modeling and evaluation phases, more elaboration would make the course better. Specially during modeling evaluations and ROC.

Also the course being conducted in a recorded slides is not appealing for student engagement. Would be great to have some videos with people explaining, like in the in course 1 of this program.

By Jason K

May 21, 2019

This course made me realize that people tend to jump to execution mode without even understanding what the business really want from them, and by not having a proper understanding they either produce a system that adds no value to the business, or they waste unnecessary time. The tools from this course is very helpful in any field that you are working in.

By Mark L

Jan 27, 2019

While the course is brief, exploring only one methodology in depth (predictive), it is well done. I could understand the exercises well. One fix would be a quiz asked what percentage was on a previous table. I did not take the time to memorize the values in the table as I don't see how that is relevant. A better quiz question could be been formulated.

By Varun V

Nov 12, 2018

This is a very nice course since understanding this course has helped us in thinking deep about various stages of a Data Science project. Moreover, the author has taken a case study and used that for explanation of all the concepts which made it look more like a story rather than just boring lectures. Very helpful and nicely organized.

By Leonardo R

Jul 10, 2019

This course provides the perfect explanation of what goes into the data science methodology. The course guides students through an in depth analysis of each stage with examples and labs so they can follow along. The course also uses the data science method to solve a real world problem that one may encounter in their career.

By Gideon R

Nov 03, 2018

Having a structured methodology is an essential part of one's work. Nothing is more tempting than shortcuts but we always end up regretting them. The Rollins approach to data science, when properly understood, really clarifies the sequence of steps involved in achieving a result that will satisfy the organizational needs.

By Jason J D

Jul 30, 2019

Good course. Very important when it comes to implementing Data Science in real life. The instructor explains the life cycle and flow of the Data Science methodology along with an example scenario. Understanding and differentiating between the different phases of the methodology is much easier because of this.

By Baris E P

Dec 13, 2019

Due to its approach to methodology, the course as a whole looks intimidating, but actually what it does is great way to teach a methodology, which is useful in both data science working space and academic environment. The course is quite easier than what it requires to fully understand the methodology.

By Jose J D

Sep 24, 2019

Absolutely Amazing Course. Clear, providing useful plug and play methodology. One of the best courses I have taken. One suggestion is to improve the quality of Slides on the presentation, I should have to evaluate with four stars due to this, but the quality is so high that I would go with five stars.

By Sofia L

Dec 29, 2019

This course has completely blew my mind. I now see how data science can be applied to everything and can help find solutions to anything! from social issues to business. I thrilled that i have gained new insights from this course that I will put in practice from now on in every day in my life!

By Matthew L

Sep 08, 2019

This course was very helpful in putting the whole concept of data science methodology together. As someone currently working in data science, I found the methodology excellent, as it clearly laid out the conceptual reasons for how and why to successfully complete data science projects.

By Patrícia P A

Jan 17, 2019

Maravilhoso! Quem trabalha com análises e/ou relatórios já tem uma ideia dos passos, mas ainda assim é válido porque estrutura conhecimento, entra mais a fundo nas etapas e traz muitas informações interessantes. Pra quem não trabalha pode conhecer como fazer uma análise desde o início.

By Ramiro B

Oct 10, 2019

I think this is an amazing coruse, because it gives you the skill for organizing the entire data science process as an organized sequence of strategic stages which are coherent between themselves and together give a way to transform a problem to a real solution in a step-by-step way.

By Nita A

Dec 12, 2019

Was a fun and interesting course. Got to learn about all the stages of the Data Science Methodology from problem question to be answered to modeling to evaluation to deployment to feedback. Enjoyed the case study, labs, and final assignment. Can't wait to start the next course!

By Jurom N

Jan 21, 2020

The course on Data Science Methodology was sufficient enough to understand this lesson given its examples, scenarios, explanation in each methodology stage, etc. The expectations of learning were also clear and personally, my memory retention is high after taking each course.

By Zhari C

May 06, 2019

I am learning so much! Glad to have the opportunity to learn at my own pace. This course is laid out beautifully. If I could change one thing it would be to have updated slides and photos of IBM Watson, not the Data Science Experience. The screens do look very different.

By Leanna W

Oct 17, 2018

Excellent course! The approach is easy to following and has a proven track record for solving business solutions. I highly recommend this approach for anyone that want to learn more about Data Science or for anyone interested in becoming a Data Scientist.

By Jeff L

Jan 23, 2020

It's really a lot of information than I expected, but it is certainly helpful for helping me to further understand data science. My only suggestion is to include more explanation to the code in the labs to make it easier to interpret for the students.

By Bibhu A P

Nov 05, 2019

The methodology was really great. Though this is somewhat a modified version of the CRSIP-DM methodology being used in Data mining. The labs were wonderfully set up to understand the topic. The case study was the most interesting aspect of the course.

By Raphael N

Mar 04, 2019

This was one of the trickiest courses I have taken yet. I have had to re-read the documents and watch the presentations to get the concept clearly. I highly recommend it to anyone willing to be patient to understand the under-workings of data science.

By Thomas P

Apr 03, 2019

Good introduction to the methods used by data science. It was a clear walk through the different stages of the process. A good outline to keep available when tackling basic data science problems. I will print out the method and use it at work.

By Amy P

Apr 26, 2019

Very thorough, thanks to excellent narration that had just the right enough repetition. Helpful use of diagrams to reiterate concepts. The Jupyter notebook labs were a fantastic way to illustrate the stages of data science methodology.

By Isis S C

Jan 21, 2020

Fantástico! Curso super eficiente, traz rápida assimilação da abordagem de Data Science, introduzindo, simultaneamente, Jupyter Notebooks: exmplo e na prática. Os exercícios peer reviewed criam uma deliciosa oportunidade de interação.

By Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand