Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
stars
17,599 ratings
2,161 reviews

About the Course

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think!...

Top reviews

TM

Jun 18, 2021

Very interesting course. It shed a light on what the structured approach really is. It's worth to pause for a moment with every step of the methodology and think how to apply it in real life. Thanks!

AG

May 13, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 2,167 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Javier F A

Mar 26, 2020

T

h

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

i

s

r

e

a

l

l

y

f

a

n

t

a

s

tic. It is impossible to understand the purpose of a science if you don't understand the problem and the approach to problem solving. And this is precisely what is achieved here.

By Tomasz M

Jun 19, 2021

Very interesting course. It shed a light on what the structured approach really is. It's worth to pause for a moment with every step of the methodology and think how to apply it in real life. Thanks!

By Diego A P

Aug 6, 2020

This course covers the end to end cycle suggested framework that can be useful not only in Data Science but also in other Research Projects that manage information to create and deploy a solution.

By Joaquín R

Dec 30, 2019

It is a very important course to understand the procedures and thought processes behind data science. I strongly recommend it to those who are unfamiliar with data science or reserach methodology.

By Joseph G

Nov 30, 2019

This was a clear and concise overview of the methodology and using the case study really helped (although sometimes it got a bit advanced considering this comes before actually learning models).

By Ali M

Jun 5, 2021

A very important course to develop a fundamental understanding of data science. Excellent in-course example to simplify the process of learning (think of it as a recipe in cooking). Enjoyed it.

By Humayun O

Jun 16, 2020

Great Course. It was a simple course and to the point. It explained the concepts perfectly for future advancement. I think the theory in here could be applied to any problem data science or not

By Pokala A

Apr 15, 2020

It's a very good course for getting the basic idea of the methodology of data science. It will help to get grip on how to proceed to a problem in a systematic manner for getting good results.

By Aniket R

Nov 23, 2019

It was a good course with very easy to understand material and methodology.

In my opinion additional optional reading resources or case study links is required for this to be a 5 star course.

By omid z

Jan 6, 2021

in this course step by step guide for beginner data scientists is illustrated with practical application and real examples with codes! best course in this specialization so far. Enjoy it :)

By Hind B

Aug 17, 2020

Very enriching course. I really liked the content of this course as it has guided me the basic framework of solving any data science problem. the assignment is also fun and enjoyable to do.

By Smita T

Feb 12, 2022

Content delivery was good, slides are awesome, lab assignmet , quiz questions are great for understanding the course, case study based learning helps to understan the concepts clearly.

By Alejandro G

Feb 16, 2020

Muy completo, y entendible acerca de cómo convertir un problema en un proyecto solucionable a través de la data, siguiendo simplemente unos pasos y pensando con un poco de creatividad.

By Israel N M

Aug 19, 2019

This course is a great overview of the process of analyzing a data set. I feel a lot more ready for a Data Analysis job after this course than I did before. So glad I chose to take it.

By LO W

Jun 27, 2021

P​urely the Methodolody of Data Science. It is good for those who want to know the big picture or the working flow of Data Science. It is necessary to take other courses to go deeper

By Xing W C

May 19, 2022

Very helpful in helping students to understand the general methodollogy of data science and how the model can be iteratively improved for higher accuracy in production environment.

By Kalyan P

Oct 11, 2019

By this course you will be able to think like a Data Scientist. The methodologies explained in the course rebuilds my mind in thinking about how I should approach solving problems.

By Adeyemi O O

Feb 2, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this module and will go back to reread it several times over. This is the foundation of everything I will be doing in the future. I want to be grounded in it.

By Edwin S

May 2, 2020

Love the CRISP-DM methodology and the examples given to illustrate each step. Definitely needs to be a standard procedure for any company wanting to develop data-driven analysis.

By Matej K

Sep 13, 2019

Very well done course that explains all the stages of a data science project with use of examples (case study). Reading and Jupyter Notes are also very well done and descriptive.

By Eric N

Apr 30, 2019

It don't just give you the methodology at high level, it also shows you the codes you would write for each step so you get a solid feel of how the analysis and execution happens.

By Carlos J B A

Feb 17, 2019

A rewarding experience because I have been able to learn very valuable information. It is an excellent course. It has helped me in the personal and professional field. Thank you.

By Francisco M

Nov 26, 2019

Maybe the Data Science Methodology course it is the more important course from IBM Data Science Professional Certificate. This course will help me a lot in my professional life!

By Pablo M

Jun 6, 2019

This is a great introductions to the methodology that is needed for any data science project. I only wish it would give more formal definitions of the major concepts we learned.

By Dinesh Z

Feb 7, 2019

This is one of the fantastic course in data science. I enjoyed a lot learning through this course. It had explained nicely, various data science methodologies with case studies.