Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Methodology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Methodology by IBM

4.6
7,818 ratings
750 reviews

About the Course

Despite the recent increase in computing power and access to data over the last couple of decades, our ability to use the data within the decision making process is either lost or not maximized at all too often, we don't have a solid understanding of the questions being asked and how to apply the data correctly to the problem at hand. This course has one purpose, and that is to share a methodology that can be used within data science, to ensure that the data used in problem solving is relevant and properly manipulated to address the question at hand. Accordingly, in this course, you will learn: - The major steps involved in tackling a data science problem. - The major steps involved in practicing data science, from forming a concrete business or research problem, to collecting and analyzing data, to building a model, and understanding the feedback after model deployment. - How data scientists think! LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AG

May 14, 2019

This is a proper course which will make you to understand each and every stage of Data science methodology. Lectures are well enough to make you think as a data scientist. Thank you fr this course :)

SJ

Aug 09, 2018

This is my favourite in the series, the 10 questions to be answered were mind opening. The repetition after every video makes easier for important points to stick to the brain. Very good indeed...

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 740 Reviews for Data Science Methodology

By Rick G

Jul 31, 2019

I wanted more out of this class and I think this entire certificate should use this methodology as the manner in which all the classes and projects are done. It was still good to take to get a good foothold of the methodology, but by structuring that same methodology towards this certificate would go a long way in enhancing the overall experience. The first class could go over the analytic approach. The next three or four over data requirements and gathering data. Another three over the exploration and then use the final two classes or so to go over modeling and tweaking. There's potential for such a concept. Make it so!

By Taimore I A

Jul 30, 2019

Case study should be covered in more detail. The other content is good.

By Sakir A

Aug 06, 2019

The cognitive classes can be improved.

By Muhammad U T

May 31, 2019

It provides a satisfactory overview of the data Science methodology, but the slides and the videos does not suffice the needs to fully understand the concepts and the Labs. Supplementary readings for this course are MANDATORY to understand and fill the knowledge gaps for several topics named in the videos.

By Abhijeet B S

Jun 03, 2019

CHF case study was the worst part

By Jacqueline ( G

Jun 04, 2019

I think the example on IBM is good, but on the lecture slide is not very easy to understand.

By Amir S

Jun 08, 2019

The assignment is not very clear. The example had better to be more iterative

By piyush d

Aug 13, 2019

explanation could have been better along with examples. It felt more like reading a text book.

By Yves J

Aug 15, 2019

Methodology course should be done at the end of the whole certificate course or at least when the student has a better understanding of all the statistical methods available (regression, machine learning..)

By Hassan B

Aug 20, 2019

It's good course but still need more explanations and examples to be clearer.

By Mohammad Q

Aug 21, 2019

Good Methodolgy but I feel like I need more explaination about it

By Shraddha K

Aug 25, 2019

More explanation is required. unlike other courses this course needs we refer other sources on net.

By Umaimah Z

Jul 08, 2019

The example provided was not good at all to follow on the concepts. i had a hard time following up with the video since very little time was spent on each concept.

By Andrea M

Sep 07, 2019

I guess it is a good course for someone who has never taken any research methods. But having a PhD this course was quite useless for me.

By Prabir C

Sep 11, 2019

very theoretical topic and hard to follow with case study give, The final assignment is also very unclear on what to expect. This course content needs to be redone by the instructors.

By Cornea D A

Sep 12, 2019

Some summarized text support would have been useful for the final assignment.

By Philipp K

Jun 12, 2019

too much information on slides. Use more pictures for visualization.

By Harpreet

May 28, 2019

please update video with new IBM cloud UI screen

By Venkatesh S

Sep 18, 2019

I felt like there was too much emphasis on a top-down approach. Many a time one doesn't have the good fortune of going through the entire data science methodology as mentioned here. The client has already collected the data and then comes and gives you a problem. In this case, you need to have a bottom-up approach - play with the data already collected and see which analytic approach is feasible. In addition, not enough was done to say that this 'story' is the ideal scenario! Rarely do you get the chance to do a data science project so neatly. But it is always useful to know how things would work in a perfect world.

By Ramkumar G

Sep 24, 2019

Since we are following a track, the previous two courses were basic and in this course we came across to lot of data science terminology without proper introduction.

By Igor L

Oct 02, 2019

Too basic and too easy

By Reinhard H J

Oct 04, 2019

Very generic and superficial explanations. Needs more substance. The best thing was the explanation of the ROC curve.

By Fabrice A

Oct 07, 2019

the video lectures was really fast making it difficult to understand

By Suyog J

Oct 09, 2019

Appreciate the content so far. This can be though made more in-depth when it comes to hands on. Including graded level hands on practice can enhance the learning experience the students get from this course.

Thanks for enabling us with all through the course.

By Chris L

Oct 15, 2019

common sense is rated as professional in this course.