Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Capstone by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
1,155 ratings
302 reviews

About the Course

The capstone project class will allow students to create a usable/public data product that can be used to show your skills to potential employers. Projects will be drawn from real-world problems and will be conducted with industry, government, and academic partners....

Top reviews

NT
Mar 4, 2018

Capstone did provide a true test of Data Analytics skills. Its like a being left alone in a jungle to survive for a month. Either you succumb to nature or come out alive with a smile and confidence.

SS
Mar 28, 2017

Wow i finally managed to finish the specialization!! definitely learned a lot and also found out difficulties in building predictors by trying to balancing speed, accuracy and memory constraints!!!

Filter by:

276 - 292 of 292 Reviews for Data Science Capstone

By Michael S

Jul 2, 2016

Of all the offerings in the specialization, this one felt like it was thrown together in less than hour. I expected to have to learn quite a bit of material on my own, but even the references to additional materials were very thin.

I could have saved many days if more guidance on the project workflow would have been given. The pre-processing of the data was quite extensive (9 steps before generating the ngram tables I used in my model) and was the key to getting decent results IMHO, but one had to step on a quite a few landmines to figure this out.

The problem was an interesting one and I ended up reworking it after passing with 95% (the only class in the specialization I didn't get 100% on) because I didn't have time to implement much of what I had to figure out by 'hard-knocks'

By Marco S C

May 26, 2016

Unfortunately this project is not fully aligned with all the previous program, which is a shame. Ideally, the project was more related to quantitative data, or have compulsory module NPL. It was certainly a very important learning, but very stressful to have to grasp NPL and do the project in a short time.

Learning NPL in short time in a DIY way without any help it was very negative and stressful.

By Sandro R

Jun 28, 2019

As other reviewers said, the Capstone is too unconnected to the rest of the specialization. In the end, there is no metric as to what makes your model successful, it's just the Slides and the appearance of the Shiny app that counts towards the total mark. Also, the topic (Natural Language Processing) is just too unconnected to anything seen in the other courses. It was fun, but felt a bit off.

By Tavin C

Aug 17, 2017

The series leading up to the capstone was excellent but the capstone itself was a disappointment. Very little instruction was provided and the grading criteria were flawed. Also, most of what we learned in the first 9 courses about statistics and machine learning turned out to be irrelevant to the capstone project.

By Clara B

Sep 21, 2016

The course has nearly nothing to do with the previous themes. I already have had enough knowledge, but as there is no support by the team it seems to be rather time consuming for others.

By WONG L C

Jun 7, 2016

I hope it will involve statistics analysis in the capstone project. It is kind of bias to apply NLP knowledge and develop data product in the capstone project.

By Sevdalena L

Dec 10, 2016

Not enough information on how to approach the final project. The project itself is very time consuming with lots of self learning and unclear specifications.

By Lee M S

Apr 23, 2016

The capstone project doesn't fully utilise d knowledge from earlier modules such as Machine Learning, statistical analysis, regression models n etc.

By CW

Jul 16, 2017

No physical way to complete the class within one session. Little is learned, no instruction is given, just build a thing that sort of works.

By Dmitri P

Mar 30, 2016

The course is outdated and abandoned by the teachers.

SwiftKey engineers are nowhere to be seen.

There is no guidance.

By Yohan A H

Dec 17, 2019

Thanks for the guide but I did the hole course without instructions, there were new thing that could be tougth.

By unijoy

Mar 23, 2016

need more details

By Joerg L

Jun 4, 2016

I currently taking this capstone and I must unfortunately say that this is the most worst course in the whole specialization. Of course the topic NLP and word prediction is interesting, but the problem is, that this is a dead course. A couple of students in the forum strugeling with details, but there is NO Mentor, no Professor or other course staff and no SwiftKey engineer as announced in the Project Overview.

So everything you have to figure out completely by yourself and this takes a lot of more time than the 4-9 hours. And also why should you pay for a course where you learn anyway only ba your own.

Pick any intersting topic you would like to work on and invest the time in this instead of paying for this Capstone without any support form Coursera, JHU or SwiftKey.

By Ben T

Feb 11, 2021

The course is really just a structure for the final project. Most learning and programming techniques for the capstone are self taught and require intense research and experimentation. This entire certificate is more or less in the same vein. Only attempt this if you are confident of your skills as a self directed learner. Overall I found most of the courses to be disappointing in the series though I did finish.

By Crimson

Dec 26, 2020

Class offers nothing more to the previous 9 courses. The curators of the course seem to have given up at this point, basically telling us to do something on our own (to be graded amongst ourselves).

By Stephen E

Jun 27, 2016

A poor end to a poor Coursera specializations.

By Runhao Z

Nov 28, 2017

bad ending