Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures and Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures and Performance by University of California San Diego

4.8
stars
2,091 ratings
432 reviews

About the Course

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Top reviews

DB
Oct 12, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS
Dec 18, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 421 Reviews for Data Structures and Performance

By Anjie Z

Nov 19, 2020

The course is well designed and practical. I learned a lot. However, I wish the material can be more challenging.

By Joseph S

Apr 12, 2018

Fantastic Class, with a fun and engaging project. A lot of great information about data structures and performance!

By Ola H

Jan 25, 2016

Good course to understand the basics of data structures and performance of different data structure implementations

By Wei H

Dec 27, 2015

I can tell the tutors spent time on preparing the course. This is the most well-organized coursera course I took.

By Surisetty N

Mar 4, 2016

The course is extremely good. It would be still better if there is inclusion of basics to create a UI.

By Omer K

Aug 3, 2017

Excellent lessons, very thorough, clear and modular, enjoyable to listen. Not too challenging though.

By 张之晗(ZhiHan Z

Aug 14, 2017

Not as goog as the first course because knowledge introduced in there is not systematic as I thought

By Heng W W

Mar 21, 2016

The overall course is good. But might touch too little on Big O? Not sure. But still good course!

By Nouran M

Oct 11, 2020

This course gives a good background and basic knowledge needed to go in depth for these topics.

By Charles J

Feb 25, 2018

there were plenty of challenging exercises in this class. I learned so much.

By Allen S

Mar 27, 2019

Little hard, but a very interesting course. The teachers are amazing.

By RANJITKUMAR C D

May 9, 2020

Good course. I have learned so many things and thank you Coursera.

By Octave M

Nov 17, 2017

I really enjoyed this class! Great content and great teachers!

By Riccardo C

Dec 31, 2015

Very well structured. Information complete and good exercises.

By Denis S

Dec 29, 2015

One of the better programming classes. Definitely recommended.

By Hangyul M

Nov 22, 2018

It will teach you some skills to implement your algorithm

By Shen Z

Jan 16, 2016

great course, but the assignments are somewhat easy....

By robin j

Oct 12, 2016

Good one. Nicely paced. Necessary challenge included..

By Generoso C

Jan 6, 2018

New data structure learned: Tries. Totally worth it.

By Sathya P

Dec 6, 2015

Interesting assignments. Concise video lectures.

By Si J

Oct 18, 2016

Too much information in the StarterCode t

By Kshitij T

Nov 13, 2017

Assignments could be more challenging.

By José M G

Sep 21, 2018

More examples of java are necessary.

By Abhijit G

Mar 23, 2017

very good course for data structure

By 王海阳

Apr 2, 2016

not bad,but too simple for me