Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures and Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures and Performance by University of California San Diego

4.8
1,615 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 330 Reviews for Data Structures and Performance

By Bufan L

Aug 04, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Great assignments and quiz!

By Abhishek N

Jun 11, 2016

A very good course. Sets a very strong base in data structures.

By Kunal B

Oct 09, 2016

wonderful

By Geo D W

Feb 05, 2016

Such a nice course on Data Structures. Whats stands out is the simple explanation and assignments thats solves real world problem.

By Pradyumn A

Jun 16, 2017

A great course indeed. Taught how to use Data Structures in software development.

By Maosen

Nov 07, 2016

Really good to learn and implement data structures and algorithms through project

By Timur O

Aug 09, 2016

5 start course

By Andrew B

Jun 17, 2017

This course helped understand the utility of data structures in software and how to benchmark algorithms in order to compare their performance so as to choose the most efficient algorithm

By Charles C

May 28, 2017

Although I learned Java before, I never used it after second year of university. It has been 2 years and this series are good refreshing courses

By Ahmed B

Feb 07, 2017

Great Material, and great teachers!

By Aleksandar A

Jun 28, 2018

This course provided me with the understanding of necessity for implementation of various data structures. It was a bit more challenging, but fun at the same time because it helped me understand underlying algorithms that are implemented in many text processing applications. If you want to learn "serious stuff" this is the course to take.

By Shahar D

Mar 25, 2016

This Awesome I can learn for free!

By Roberto R

Apr 08, 2017

I love the course, good explanation of basics in Java.... NEEDED

By fernando s

Nov 22, 2016

best than first part

By Noor

Sep 19, 2016

This is awesome!

By Daniyar Z

Jun 26, 2016

The course gives you understanding of basic data structures, how they implemented and show their usage in real life.

By RAVITEJA K

Jul 24, 2017

Cource is too good

By Keval S

Sep 28, 2016

Thank you!

Please keep up the good work.

By Fan Y

Jan 09, 2017

The materials are interesting, but the course can become better if the instructors discuss more about stacks, queues and trees

By Saddam H

Oct 01, 2017

Best Teaching by best way with best material, I love you my all instructors of this course, may God give you long life.

By Feng Z

Jun 07, 2017

This course is really useful for people who want to learn basic knowledge about data structure and performance.

By Yuri A P

Aug 11, 2017

Fantastic course! Filled all the gaps I had on data structures and a lot more.

By Ansh P

Jun 07, 2017

Excellent course:)

By xiaojing

Nov 11, 2017

Great !

By Carl H

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course for the budding intermediate developer!