Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures and Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures and Performance by University of California San Diego

4.8
1,620 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 330 Reviews for Data Structures and Performance

By David K M

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent. Great examples, projects, explanations of challenging concepts

By Matthew A

Jun 01, 2017

Very good, graded practical way to learn the fundamentals of data structures. Another great value course from UCSD.

By Hanxiao Y

Aug 18, 2017

This is an amazing course which I highly recommend for all java learners!

By Max

Jun 28, 2017

Excellent course! Strongly recommended!

By Basant S

Aug 21, 2018

Professors, mentors and staff are really nice and helpful, doing a great job. This course offers a great deal of knowledge and provides a really good quality of education.

It was a great course, I had a lot of fun and enjoyed a lot.

Thanks for the wonderful introduction to Algorithms and Data Structures.

By Jack Q W C

Oct 02, 2018

Excellent introduction to data structures and how to measure their performance.

By Sangil Y

Oct 02, 2018

very rewarding !

By Mohammed B

Apr 24, 2019

very good

By Yuming C

Jun 17, 2019

Good Experience

By DAVID L

Jun 22, 2019

A very well thought out course. Programming assignments were challenging enough and focused on the teaching material.

By Johnny R

Jun 21, 2019

excelente

By Александр Б

Jul 01, 2019

It'a Adorable and Must Have!!!

By Chih-Ta W

Jul 15, 2019

Well-organized lecture videos, which contain clear explanation of difficult concepts and very useful material to help me finish all programming assignments. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

By Ian W

Jul 19, 2019

Great lectures and good assignments. Really useful subject matter as well.

By Aman S T

Jul 21, 2019

The lectures are really good. And content provided was really helpful.

By Chujie C

Jul 21, 2019

07/21/2019

By Ritika

Jul 30, 2019

I am very thankful to all the faculties for such an enjoyable learning experience. I thoroughly enjoyed the course.

By Morozov K J

Aug 05, 2019

Thx for this course!

By Vignesh V

Sep 02, 2019

The course was good in terms of the assignments and how it helped at solidifying the knowledge!

By Idris O

Sep 03, 2019

Very excellent course. I love it

By Akshay G

Sep 10, 2019

well prepared, thank you so much!

By YinpuLi

Jan 24, 2019

The course is intro-level and well-organized. Perfect for new Julia users. However, it will be better if updated to Julia v 1.0+.

By Allen S

Mar 27, 2019

Little hard, but a very interesting course. The teachers are amazing.

By José M G

Sep 21, 2018

More examples of java are necessary.

By Jialin Y

Nov 04, 2018

lectures are easy to understand but the programming assignment is not so appealing compared to similar courses provided by Princeton on Coursera. But I really like the real-world part in the lecture videos.