Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures and Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures and Performance by University of California San Diego

4.8
1,618 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 330 Reviews for Data Structures and Performance

By Shubham A

Nov 24, 2015

This is an excellent course with super awesome syllabus. It is taught in an engaging manner, with quizzes. It could have been more improved by adding in-video quiz.

By Scrypnychenko A

Nov 15, 2016

Nice Job!

Thanks for the course!

By Jianhao C

Jul 26, 2017

It's a great course with a lot of project experiences to gain for me, a student transferring from EE to CS

By Mostafa M K

Apr 09, 2016

The most awesome course I have ever joined.

By Sitaram G

Apr 27, 2016

Learning a lot in this class about OOP and class.

By Mehul R

Feb 29, 2016

Loved it .

Best MOOC specialization i have attended.

Thanks a lot!!!

By Christopher A

Dec 08, 2016

The presentation of the material, multiple paths to choose depending on your skill level and actual use / application of what was being taught make this an excellent course !

By Gaurav P

Dec 13, 2015

Promising one!!!

By Satyam

Dec 27, 2015

Truly exceptional course for any beginner who wants to learn data structures from the basics. Everything is explained in detail. Loved learning things like asymptotic notations, calculating rate of growth of an algorithm. Also I liked the way the pseudo code is presented in the class made complex algorithms too easy.

By AHMED M

Dec 10, 2015

Loved it. The assignments were fun to solve.

By Krishna S

Dec 30, 2015

Best course on Data Structures with a very cool project to apply the concepts learned in this course.

By Ardi G

Feb 18, 2016

Here I had a good introduction to regular expressions also I like the design of the project.

By Joshua D P

Dec 23, 2015

What l learn is how cool is data structure and how useful in real world.

By Alexander D

Dec 17, 2015

I liked everything about this course: the theory, the programming assignments, the consistency and clarity in explaining complex things. The material was structured, well-organized, valuable and helpful. I really liked the lecturers. Mia Minnes, Leo Porter and Christine Alvarado are the ones of the best I've seen in my whole life! A Huge Thank You for your hard work and your strong dedication to what you do!

By Sree l A

Feb 17, 2017

Great Course To revise your knowledge on data strutures!

By Ziwei L

Apr 18, 2016

clear logic and you could get to know data structure in a fast pace

By Jesús Á A G

Feb 07, 2016

This course is a excellent introduction to data structures and algorithms for beginners. The lectures are extensive, complete and very helpful. The assignments are challenging and stimulating. The project is the construction of a text editor with check spelling, auto-correction, suggestion and more. It was the first time I felt involve in a large project, and you learn a little bit of software engineering too. This is the second course in the specialization and it overcomes the previous course in every aspect.

I'll give five stars. The only thing I didn't like was the concept challenges, and not because of the challenges but because of the discussion with the UC San Diego learners. They are not beginners, they are actor pretending they don't know how to solve the problems when it is evident -at least it was my impression- that they are advanced students. I found them annoying and not helpful at all.

By abhinav

Dec 13, 2016

Exceptional so far

By JIAXING S

Apr 22, 2016

Perfect course for intro of data structure

By sivid w

Feb 15, 2016

Presented in an easy to understand format, videos are short which helps keep focus, assignments are well prepared which keeps student on the learning material. This course really helped me understand things more clearly.

disclaimer: I have previously enrolled in Algorithms Part I (from Princeton).

By Oscar R

Jan 09, 2016

Very good teachers/instructors.

By Chessie R

Jul 05, 2017

Learnt a lot from it.

By Siddharth S

Aug 09, 2016

Since my majors was bioengineering, whenever my computer science friends discussed about data structures and their importance, I always wondered what data structures are and why they hold so much importance. The course and the instructors who have beautifully designed and developed it, gave me really good insights into data structures. Thank you Coursera, UCSD, Mia Minnes, Christine Alvarado, Leo Porter!

By AKSHAT B

Jan 17, 2017

A very good course for beginners , people having prior knowledge about data structures might found it a bit easy , anyways the projects were fun and was course was worth taking

By Diana S T

Oct 12, 2017

Very easy to follow and very helpful