Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures and Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures and Performance by University of California San Diego

4.8
1,621 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 330 Reviews for Data Structures and Performance

By Nidhi V

Sep 24, 2017

Good material and systematic in teaching concepts. Great course!

By Rajendra A K

Mar 30, 2016

Just....Awesome

By Konstantin P

Feb 21, 2016

I recommend this course to all beginners programmers

By satish

Jan 19, 2016

it grate course for me i learn a lot from this course.

By Dzmitriy T

Aug 21, 2016

Very good course, I learned a lot!

By Michael D

Jun 04, 2018

Great course!

By Peter A

May 09, 2017

Excellent course! I truly recommend this course. Christine Alvarado, Mia Minnes and Leo Porter have created a great course on performance and data structures. You get to learn about regular expressions, Big-O notation and searching data structures such as trees and tries. I especially enjoyed the programming assignments that Christine, Mia and Leo had prepared for us, fascinating real life examples.

By Daniyar Z

Jun 26, 2016

The course gives you understanding of basic data structures, how they implemented and show their usage in real life.

By Fan Y

Jan 09, 2017

The materials are interesting, but the course can become better if the instructors discuss more about stacks, queues and trees

By Feng Z

Jun 07, 2017

This course is really useful for people who want to learn basic knowledge about data structure and performance.

By Carl H

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course for the budding intermediate developer!

By Felix V B

Feb 29, 2016

Great course! I learned a lot in very little time.

By Robert C

Jun 27, 2016

Excellent course continuing the tradition set from the first in the sequence.

By Stanislav R

Dec 31, 2016

That's greate course. Strongly recommended.

By Raw N

Jan 24, 2017

Course is very well organized with solid projects.

By Pooja M

Jul 13, 2017

involving course and best part is the project which provides practical exposure along with conceptual knowledge

By Diyi L

Aug 03, 2017

Very good course. Although it is not very challenging in my view but it tells you the right concepts about coding, testing and debugging.

By Mattia C

Nov 12, 2016

It's really well made, everyone who took this course should be very proud of the program they made during those weeks.

By Patrick S C

Mar 15, 2018

Excellent for those eager to learn about more advanced data structures in Java, specially tries.

By Volodymyr B

Sep 16, 2016

It was amazing

By Sonia R

Jun 10, 2017

Great course to start off with the Data Structures and their performance.

By Bufan L

Aug 04, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Great assignments and quiz!

By Maosen

Nov 07, 2016

Really good to learn and implement data structures and algorithms through project

By Charles C

May 28, 2017

Although I learned Java before, I never used it after second year of university. It has been 2 years and this series are good refreshing courses

By Aleksandar A

Jun 28, 2018

This course provided me with the understanding of necessity for implementation of various data structures. It was a bit more challenging, but fun at the same time because it helped me understand underlying algorithms that are implemented in many text processing applications. If you want to learn "serious stuff" this is the course to take.