Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures and Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures and Performance by University of California San Diego

4.8
1,620 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 330 Reviews for Data Structures and Performance

By 郭浩宇

Jan 02, 2016

哎呦,不错啊。

By Nazeli M

Mar 31, 2016

Very good course containing interesting and fun projects! Professors' explanations make the topics easy to understand.

By dipankar

Jan 31, 2016

Great course

By Kevin Y

Apr 05, 2016

Really interesting projects

By Light0617

Jun 08, 2017

wonderful PA!

By Hamidreza G

Mar 12, 2016

Great

By Hazel P

Dec 13, 2015

A great and comprehensive course. It was well organized and carefully incorporated the user.

By Ryan S

Dec 28, 2015

Amazing lectures and practical assignments.

By namnguyen

Nov 12, 2015

Perfect!

By George N

Sep 05, 2016

Grate course, really interesting and useful especially Algorithms.

Assignments are organized very smart way it really motivates to go deeper.

Thanks University of California San Diego for creating this course on coursera.org and make it available for online study!

By Adam M D

Jan 30, 2016

Very good :)

By Gopi K S

Nov 11, 2016

Very good course, well taught by the instructors.

By Mayco M

Feb 20, 2016

What i really enjoyed in this courser is that I learned how to measure and discuss the performance of a software.

By Wayne A

Dec 05, 2016

Super awesome! I wish I had taken this earlier in my job search. It makes a lot of the algorithms you find in tech interviews super intuitive.

By Gabriel F

Feb 22, 2017

GOOD COURSE

By Ying D

Nov 22, 2017

Very interesting and inspiring.

By Kishwar K

Feb 06, 2016

Perfectly designed..

By Harry B

Sep 07, 2016

Amazing course, I learnt so much about interesting data structures and gained a new understanding of how important it is to choose the right data structure for a specific purpose.

By Joao A

Mar 12, 2016

Very good series for learning Java and OO Principles. The big application approach is very interesting as we can see the whole picture even when we know little yet. The interviews with software engineers are very enlightening.

By TerryTang

Jun 30, 2016

good course,i get much knowledges about java

By Mark K

Jan 11, 2016

Excellent course, packed full of information - A MUST for anyone who is learning the Java programming language. Lots of effort has gone into this course and is very well structured clearly defining topics week by week.

By Fedor

Mar 21, 2016

very good lecture format :)

By Henrique S C

Dec 07, 2015

Fun and very interesting

By Blazhnov I V

Jan 07, 2016

I like it

By Srivathsa D V

Apr 30, 2016

The concepts introduced and the application of concepts in problems is very good.