Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures and Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures and Performance by University of California San Diego

4.8
1,621 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 330 Reviews for Data Structures and Performance

By Jordi C

Dec 13, 2016

This was another outstanding course. I will review what I've learned because everything was useful.

By Shashikanth G

Jul 06, 2018

Good course on intro to data structures and performance. Excellent explanations of all the topics.

By Shiyang L

May 11, 2017

Great course. Very clear explanations for java data structures and interesting projects. Thanks UCSD.

By Vasileios K

Sep 10, 2017

Very good course. The professors are really interesting and fun to watch. I really like the project oriented approach they take.

By Qianli S

Jun 17, 2017

Nice course with extensive tutoring. Thank you instructors!!

By Nikhil P

Jun 11, 2018

Great Course!

By Michael D

Jun 04, 2018

Great course!

By Oliver H

Jun 04, 2018

Great educational structure. I have learned a lot.

By John S

Dec 03, 2016

Great review of data structures

By Peter A

May 09, 2017

Excellent course! I truly recommend this course. Christine Alvarado, Mia Minnes and Leo Porter have created a great course on performance and data structures. You get to learn about regular expressions, Big-O notation and searching data structures such as trees and tries. I especially enjoyed the programming assignments that Christine, Mia and Leo had prepared for us, fascinating real life examples.

By Omar L

May 09, 2017

This is one of the most comprehensive and engaging computer science courses I ever took. The content is well explained and very useful. The idea of working on a real-world project and finishing it is what made this course really great. You will have more to show off than a grade after you finish this course!

By Jyotman S

Dec 20, 2015

Really good course.

By Raw N

Jan 24, 2017

Course is very well organized with solid projects.

By Christo P

Jun 21, 2016

Wow, I learned way beyond expectations!

By 李紹弘

Jul 26, 2017

This course helps a lot for my concept of Java Data Structure.

By Pooja M

Jul 13, 2017

involving course and best part is the project which provides practical exposure along with conceptual knowledge

By Teio W

Aug 10, 2017

Fantastic course and assignment ever if took hours to code the assignment, but rewarding afterward. Suggestion to relate future assignment to IOT application.

By Diyi L

Aug 03, 2017

Very good course. Although it is not very challenging in my view but it tells you the right concepts about coding, testing and debugging.

By Felix V B

Feb 29, 2016

Great course! I learned a lot in very little time.

By Robert C

Jun 27, 2016

Excellent course continuing the tradition set from the first in the sequence.

By Mattia C

Nov 12, 2016

It's really well made, everyone who took this course should be very proud of the program they made during those weeks.

By Stanislav R

Dec 31, 2016

That's greate course. Strongly recommended.

By Patrick S C

Mar 15, 2018

Excellent for those eager to learn about more advanced data structures in Java, specially tries.

By Volodymyr B

Sep 16, 2016

It was amazing

By Sonia R

Jun 10, 2017

Great course to start off with the Data Structures and their performance.