Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,872 ratings
2,017 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VC
May 16, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

AS
Jan 11, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1951 - 1975 of 1,997 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Enrico L

May 30, 2020

I was attracted by the syllabus (substance) but I found the presentation of the teachers quite disturbing (form); bad calligraphy, some mistakes, poor explanations. Anyway I completed the course and it will be useful as a general introduction to the topics.

By David S

May 26, 2020

The probability section left many serious gaps in information compared to the test. I had to take the exam multiple times, and even after restarting half of the class twice. I'm not usually one to have to do this for a class.

By Hitesh D

Jun 21, 2020

Video lectures were not very clear. It looked like these lectures are for revision and not for learning it first time. Baye's Theorem is yet not clear to me... I just mugged up some formulas which i will eventually forget.

By Sandeep M

May 21, 2020

The weeks 1-3 although elementary were explained well but the change of professor on the last one really did nothing. There were far better tutors on youtube teaching the same things he did more clearly.

By Jayprakash C

Sep 1, 2020

Concepts not covered well enough, just for the sake of teaching. Pure time waste. Bayesian Theory was not taught up to the mark, I had to refer external resources to understand it well.

By Gaurav A

May 25, 2020

the video learning was good, but the quiz questions were at a very different difficulty levels. I would just like to say that this was supposed to be an beginner level course.

By E M

Jul 27, 2017

This course is very short. I've completed it in about 4 hours. Nothing was told about linear algebra, statistics, optimization. It is not enough even to learn Data Science.

By Ashraf S

Jan 17, 2019

This course dos not contain enough examples which needed to train and practice ,PDF is not clear enough and does not contain any problems to practice.

Thanks

By Saleem G

Apr 30, 2020

Week 1 and Week 2 material is very well presented. Week 3 was presented very poorly but reading the notes and youtube helped. Week 4 went over my head

By Maria K

Nov 21, 2020

Materials provided are not sufficient to fully understand the concepts. One has to look for additional books and forums on the internet.

By Jomon K S

May 11, 2020

The content of the course was simple. But the quiz were above average. The classes were not sufficient to answer the questions.

By Esaú C

Apr 25, 2020

I

t's a good review for the people that know something but will be very hard for students that don't have a background in Maths

By Vaibhav J

Feb 10, 2019

Found the title of the course mis-leading! School level Math skills are taught. Found the title to be similar to "click-baits"

By Xose C

Apr 6, 2020

You'd spend lots of time checking other sources as they do not explain things in detail. They assume many things.

By Peter G

Mar 4, 2018

I enjoyed the first 2 weeks. Weeks 3 and 4 were harder to follow. Too few examples, particularly in week 4.

By Andersson F R A

May 17, 2020

A pesar de que el curso es básico, la parte de probabilidad no está muy bien explicada.

By Nayaung L

Jun 30, 2020

The last probability course is really horrible It should be changed or make it easier.

By vivek a

Apr 12, 2020

The course name should be Bais Mathematics instead of Data Science Maths Skills.

By PRASAD K

May 23, 2020

Concepts from Probability up to Bayes' Theorem could have been explained better

By Saurabh S

Jul 11, 2017

Week 1 and week 2 are good. rest of the weeks are very fast and not clear.

By Jonathan H

Feb 8, 2017

Very basic course... probably won't teach you a lot of new things

By 小洋xiaoyang

Dec 27, 2020

Wish there will be more example question in the lectures

By A M A

Dec 24, 2017

Probability part is good others are elementary math

By Rodrigue S

Jun 24, 2020

This is really basic basic.

By Derek S

Mar 29, 2018

last week was very hard