Chevron Left
Back to Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Deep Dive

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Deep Dive by Duke University

4.9
stars
59 ratings
11 reviews

About the Course

DeFi and the Future of Finance is a set of four courses that focus on decentralized finance. The third course is called DeFi Deep Dive. It is essential that you do the first two courses I. DeFi Infrastructure and II. DeFi Primitives before doing this course. It is the longest of the four courses and focuses on some of the leading protocols in the DeFi space. We will look at Credit and Lending (and feature MakerDAO, Compound and Aave), Decentralized Exchange with an analysis of how protocols like Uniswap and Balancer works, Derivatives (featuring Yield Protocol, dYdX and Synthetix) and Tokenization with an analysis of Set Protocol as well as wrapped bitcoin. For many of these leading protocols, we include detailed examples of how the mechanics work. For example, we show how to use a dYdX flash swap to execute an arbitrage transaction (take advantage of different prices on different exchanges for the same asset)....

Top reviews

EL
Dec 8, 2021

More on the theory of About crypto nd it's existing functions in the Cryptoworld, also talks about what the future holds for the cryptocurrencies.

CB
Jan 20, 2022

Concise coverage and clear explanation of various DeFi mechanisms and protocals.

Filter by:

1 - 12 of 12 Reviews for Decentralized Finance (DeFi) Deep Dive

By Mike M

Dec 23, 2021

Excellent course! Highly recommended. I took this course as part of the four course specialization. Professor Harvey does an excellent job explaining many nuances to DeFi.

He uses a combination of powerpoint, visuals, analogies and case studies to make the content understandable. The professor teaches with clarity, and passion yet treats the subject fairly offering alternative points of view about the opportunities and risks of DeFi as compared to the current financial system.

I have been introduced to the cryptocurrency and DeFi space a little over 6 months ago. Since that time, I have "fallen down the rabbit hole" so to speak and cannot learn enough about it. These courses provide a strong foundation to explore further for personal investing, and or a career in the space.

Unlike the other courses I took on Coursera related to blockchain and cryptocurriencies (which were also pretty good), these courses felt much more up to date than the others. Being up to date in this space is essential because one year is like 10 years of another field in terms of innovation and how fast the landscape changes.

Specific to this course, it was really helpful to understand the mechanics behind the different DeFi protocols to understand the potential benefits and risks to the average retail investor.

By Keith M

Dec 4, 2021

Another informative course that explores different options available to DeFi users. The beauty in these courses is that it explains concepts that to most people, won't know about since we are not DeFi professionals. Dr. Harvey has done an excellent job of providing cogent examples that are easy to understand and, more importantly, explain to others.

By Murray S

Dec 19, 2021

Fantastic course. Professor Cam Harvey DeFi series on Coursera is essential learning for anyone wishing to know more about DeFi. Great range of topics and very useful examples. Best learning I have seen in this space.

By Mr K D K

Dec 20, 2021

Cam is fantastic communicator, he is a master of explaining conceptual elements, but he has a breadth of technical and financial acumen that means he will go deeper into topics and apply them to the real world.

By Earl J L

Dec 9, 2021

More on the theory of About crypto nd it's existing functions in the Cryptoworld, also talks about what the future holds for the cryptocurrencies.

By Charles W B

Jan 21, 2022

C​oncise coverage and clear explanation of various DeFi mechanisms and protocals.

By Trung N

Jan 25, 2022

Really good info about various DeFi protocols.

By Svarichevskiy R V

Dec 3, 2021

​complex defi project. Super like.

By Jad B

Jan 1, 2022

Simply excellent. Thank you.

By Prasannakarthik S

Jan 6, 2022

A solid insight!

By Wy C

Nov 14, 2021

Excellent

By DIMITRIUS M C

Jan 21, 2022

Amazing