Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization by deeplearning.ai

4.9
stars
54,353 ratings
6,208 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

XG

Oct 31, 2017

Thank you Andrew!! I know start to use Tensorflow, however, this tool is not well for a research goal. Maybe, pytorch could be considered in the future!! And let us know how to use pytorch in Windows.

CV

Dec 24, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

5701 - 5725 of 6,136 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By Mohit K

Jun 22, 2018

Thanks for such amazing course. Add little bit more on Tensorflow fundamentals

By LOS

Dec 11, 2017

Great course, still some issues in quizzes and autograder, and lack of support

By Vladislav Z

Oct 08, 2017

Course it good, but IMHO to simple.

BTW I do not have real experience with NN.

By Haim K

May 30, 2020

It would be beneficial to give more details on how tensorflow optimizers work

By Ankur D W

May 09, 2020

This is an important course to go through for improving deep neural networks.

By Luis d l O

Jan 15, 2020

Very nice one. Focus on practical aspects that are quite necessary to use NNs

By Hossein M

Sep 09, 2019

too complicated, many lessens in couple of short videos.

poor video transcript

By Arturo V

May 29, 2019

Se podría mejorar mucho la redacción del libro del ejercicio de programación.

By Alexander

Nov 21, 2018

more python / tensorflow, as well as data exploration and cleaning is welcome

By Damien C

Sep 08, 2017

Excellent on the basis. could cite frameworks like hyperopt, hyperas, etc...

By Luigi C

Aug 29, 2017

There are still some minor typos to correct, but it's a great course anyway!

By IDRIS S

Jul 04, 2020

activity at the end used tensorflow 1, support for tf2 would be appreciated

By samuel E

May 27, 2020

Programming assignments can be made more rigorous with more hands-on coding

By Tukaram P

May 27, 2020

everything is good, jypyter notebooks are slow gets confused in assignments

By Pranaydeep C

Apr 21, 2020

I really liked it because it made me specially under stable with Tensorflow

By Fredrik C

Jul 18, 2019

Great, but could be better. Fix the typos. Add summarized video notes. Etc.

By Shivaraj N

Aug 28, 2020

Pls update to Tensorflow 2.0. Its a bit discouraging to learn and unlearn.

By Saurabh D

Sep 12, 2019

Insights about how machine learning works in real life is quite ingeniuos.

By moonseok s

May 28, 2018

very good lecure.

somewhat difficult to me. I will repeat again and again.

By John F

Jan 26, 2018

Very informative but got some issues with the last programming assignment.

By Arjan H

Dec 08, 2017

More rigorous independent projects/assignments are needed for this course.

By Carol Z

Aug 19, 2017

Deepened my understanding of how to make deep neural networks work better!

By Digaamber D

Jul 18, 2020

Would have been more helpful if TensorFlow was covered in greater detail.

By Xiaoliang L

Mar 25, 2019

Practices are more like "type after me" than a real learning opportunity.

By Jorge G P

Oct 27, 2017

Excelent course with very interesting insigth on tuning a multilayer ANN.