Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization by deeplearning.ai

4.9
38,091 ratings
4,051 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

XG

Oct 31, 2017

Thank you Andrew!! I know start to use Tensorflow, however, this tool is not well for a research goal. Maybe, pytorch could be considered in the future!! And let us know how to use pytorch in Windows.

CV

Dec 24, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 3,980 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By pratik a

Jan 04, 2019

A great course!!

By Jorge B

Jan 04, 2019

Very practical, clear and useful.

By Sudheer P

Jan 05, 2019

This course teaches the mechanics of deep neural networks and how to optimize the neural net. Prof goes at a reasonable pace so that the student understands the concepts.

By GANHADHAR

Jan 04, 2019

Great Learning . Thanks a Lot

By Babu, C

Jan 07, 2019

Excellent optimization techniques articulated very well

By chanish a

Jan 05, 2019

I never have enjoyed this much while studying.

By Arsalan

Jan 06, 2019

I believe a approach Sir takes while teaching the course makes it comparatively easy to learn the very difficult concept of deep learning.

By Abdullah

Jan 07, 2019

Very thorough explanation about the hyperparameters and optimization techniques.

By Ajay S

Jan 07, 2019

Really a Great course for the deep learning thanks coursera for prioviding me financial aid for the course and i am able to complete the course with in the time . Thanks a Lot .

By Ruiliang L

Jan 06, 2019

Help you get the best understanding of the deep learning

By Qasid S

Jan 06, 2019

Great Course!! This course should be part of every deep learning career path.

By Dhananjaykuamr o

Jan 08, 2019

great course

By WALEED E

Jan 08, 2019

The course is very useful for being acquainted with tuning hyper-parameters and modern optimization algorithms like momentum, RMSProp an Adam. It is also introducing how to prevent over-fitting efficiently from recent papers in addition to mini batching training data. Although it introduces TensorFlow in a brief way, the overall assessment needs some revision.

By Lim K Z

Jan 09, 2019

Really love your interviews with the prominent figures in the AI sphere - very inspiring and insightful. Particularly like the advice given by Yoshua Bengio. Keep it up!!!!

By Aakash G

Jan 08, 2019

Started with some basic tensors... so that's good. However I like how Andrew explains the effect of each hyper-parameter on the models output. Happy learning!

By Syed M H J

Jan 09, 2019

Easily the best course on diving under the hood of how a Neural Network actually works and how to tune to the satisfaction of our results.

A no brainer for sure. The best part the exercises. You MUST do the exercises to understand thoroughly how the systems actually work.

By KimYunSu

Jan 09, 2019

I liked it!

By AlexZhao

Jan 08, 2019

Awesome course

By 江逸群

Jan 09, 2019

Thanks so much for this course

By Yannik L

Jan 09, 2019

Excellent

By dmitry p

Jan 09, 2019

Good course, just jupyter notebook hangs

By Sijie J

Jan 10, 2019

get a lot of insight about how to improve my own neural network.

By Loay W

Jan 10, 2019

I liked the Framework choice as TensorFlow and the project was nice!

By Dunitt M

Jan 11, 2019

Excelente curso, aunque me quedé con las ganas de implementar la normalización de lote en Numpy antes de usar TensorFlow.

By aisibi

Jan 12, 2019

good!