Chevron Left
Back to Diabetes – the Essential Facts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Diabetes – the Essential Facts by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
1,703 ratings
434 reviews

About the Course

Across the world more than 420 million people are living with diabetes. Two thirds of these have not yet been diagnosed. When discovered late or managed incorrectly, diabetes can damage your heart, blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, and nerves, leading to disability and premature death. In fact, more people are dying of diabetes related diseases than of diseases as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. This course will provide you with an introduction to the most recent research in the field of prevention and treatment of diabetes as well as a broader understanding of the situation in different communities, rich and poor, across the world, where diabetes threatens public health. What kind of disease is diabetes, who has it, and who is at risk of getting it? And what are the roles of medicine, exercise and nutrition when trying to prevent, delay or treat diabetes? During the course you will meet researchers and experts from Imperial College London, Emory University in Atlanta, Steno Diabetes Center in Copenhagen as well as the School of Global Health and the Center for Basic Metabolic Research at the University of Copenhagen. They work with very different aspects of diabetes, from microbiology to global public health, but what ties them together is the belief that it is a global responsibility to combat diabetes, and this fight can only be won through new knowledge and global collaboration. We hope you will join us in the course and equip yourself to take part in the ongoing discussions of this truly global and individual health challenge. This course is also part of the EIT Health programme....

Top reviews

OB

Oct 4, 2020

Only thing not furnished that is fasting glucose and pp glucose ranging should be furnished. And also the glucose tolerance test result and Hb1AC test result ranges to be discussed during the course.

BS

Aug 28, 2018

good course , this takes into considerations of diabetes epidemic all over the world . There has to be different mechanism to be adopted in developing countries as compared to developed countries .

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 436 Reviews for Diabetes – the Essential Facts

By Nadia O P

May 25, 2021

Thank you for sharing with so much clarity such important data, always contributing to a better quality of life, therefore the progress of a country.

By Luis F O G

Apr 26, 2022

U​n curso totalmente positivo, actualizado y de gran nivel! Gracias por la oportunidad! Saludos a los Investigadores de la Universidad de Copenhague

By Sandra A

Mar 25, 2021

This course has enlightened me on health issues ,I'm forever grateful. I recommend this course because it will help us all in all areas of our life

By Anzeela K

May 30, 2020

It was a great course covering almost all factors related to Diabetes. Learned alot from this.

Thankyou University of Copenhagen

Thankyou Coursera

By Amarley W

Sep 28, 2021

Excellent course. I recommend it for persons doing diabetes research as well as other individuals who seek to know more about this condition.

By Luca D F

May 29, 2020

As a medicine student I already knew most of the contents, except for the issue regarding diabetes in low-income country. Very interesting.

By Nimbe S H P

Jun 2, 2019

Este curso es muy bueno, la información brindada es indispensable para mantenernos actualizados. Muchas por compartirnos sus conocimientos.

By Birgül K

Aug 4, 2021

the course is magnificient! i have learned too many things. i have just started the other course : Diabetes a Global Challenge. thank u!

By Miguel A C T

Aug 27, 2020

Excelente curso, muy completo y con información muy actualizada, estoy gratamente satisfecho de participar de este curso. Muchas gracias.

By Niyati L

Jun 16, 2020

Very nice and informative course. I learned so many new things about diabetes. Thank you for allowing us to complete it without any fees.

By Dr-Ammar A

Dec 22, 2016

As a medical student, i found this course really helpful and up to date, lecturers are great, material are organized.

Highly Recommended !

By Everit J

Jan 16, 2022

It was a pleasure being a part of this course, the info and lecturers were/are on point...I will certainly go forward to the next level.

By Lukas W

Apr 20, 2020

Great introduction to type 2 diabetes. Provides a general understanding of current situation. Videos are concise and easy to understand.

By Aedrian A

Jan 1, 2021

This is an extremely useful course for both the lay and the practitioner to understand state-of-the-art thinking on diabetes mellitus.

By Rani L

Jul 31, 2019

Very interesting and informative class. I learned alot about other people's policies and issues in their countries as well. Thank you!

By Dr j S

Jun 2, 2020

I am a diabetic person and Health Professional. I got lot of information about the Diabetic world and very new concepts of Treatment.

By John S

Feb 25, 2018

One need to know what diabetes is, learn how to live with it on a daily basis and hopefully live a longer, fuller and happier life.

By Willy L C

Jul 24, 2020

Excelente contenido, formato y transferencia de conocimientos inherentes a la gestión de la Diabetes en el Mundo. Felicitaciones.

By Md. R B

Jun 13, 2020

For the current situation, this course badly needed for me. I have learned a lot of things about diabetes. Thanks, Coursera.

By Apurva J

Dec 25, 2019

Got a deeper understanding on diabetes and how its a threat to the coming generation .Thoroughly enjoyed learning the course.

By Elías J R M

Apr 6, 2022

An excellent course on how Diabetes originates and what measures to take to improve the physical condition of the patient

By Magdalena B

Jan 11, 2021

I received a lot of new information about developments en researches in subject diabetes. Really good structured course,

By JOHN Q

Feb 6, 2018

Fun and interesting course; and, vital to me as a diabetic. Thanks to all who worked to put on this course. Thanks.

By Nicole C

Jan 31, 2017

The course was easy to follow and understand. The information was useful, and the way the course was set up was simple.

By INDRANI R

Jun 12, 2020

please update course name as cirtificate in Diabatics then only I can use it for my job and it become valuable for us.