Chevron Left
Back to Diabetes – the Essential Facts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Diabetes – the Essential Facts by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
2,141 ratings

About the Course

Across the world more than 420 million people are living with diabetes. Two thirds of these have not yet been diagnosed. When discovered late or managed incorrectly, diabetes can damage your heart, blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, and nerves, leading to disability and premature death. In fact, more people are dying of diabetes related diseases than of diseases as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. This course will provide you with an introduction to the most recent research in the field of prevention and treatment of diabetes as well as a broader understanding of the situation in different communities, rich and poor, across the world, where diabetes threatens public health. What kind of disease is diabetes, who has it, and who is at risk of getting it? And what are the roles of medicine, exercise and nutrition when trying to prevent, delay or treat diabetes? During the course you will meet researchers and experts from Imperial College London, Emory University in Atlanta, Steno Diabetes Center in Copenhagen as well as the School of Global Health and the Center for Basic Metabolic Research at the University of Copenhagen. They work with very different aspects of diabetes, from microbiology to global public health, but what ties them together is the belief that it is a global responsibility to combat diabetes, and this fight can only be won through new knowledge and global collaboration. We hope you will join us in the course and equip yourself to take part in the ongoing discussions of this truly global and individual health challenge. This course is also part of the EIT Health programme....

Top reviews

RD

Invalid date

This course gave interesting facts about diabetes. I am expecting a sequel to this course. The coordinators may start a new course about its pathophysiology or management.

BS

Invalid date

good course , this takes into considerations of diabetes epidemic all over the world . There has to be different mechanism to be adopted in developing countries as compared to developed countries .

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 538 Reviews for Diabetes – the Essential Facts

By Lisa G

Feb 26, 2022

Really good to learn about Diabetes in this way. Like the interview format and using different people and referencing the current studies as well as a brief history at the beginning.

Looking forward to more.

By Smriti V

Jun 4, 2020

Comprehensive course giving a general overview on the basics of diabetes, how it is affecting various populations and possible means to keep the level of blood glucose in check and further research scope.

By Ivona B

Feb 8, 2024

Loved its contents. Extremely useful and educational! Everybody nowadays should take this course just to become more aware of the importance of leading a healthy lifestyle (healthy food + exercise).

By Ivonne D

May 18, 2020

En definitiva es un curso que vale la pena para compartir los conocimientos adquiridos y llevarlos a cabo peesonalmente. Gracias! Gracias a mos colaboradores y a la Universidad de copenhague

By Aale M

Oct 30, 2020

This course is easy to follow along as it doesn't use too hard medical terms, that and the interviews make this course very enjoyable. All the information provided has been quite helpful.

By Lars A

Feb 12, 2021

Very well performed and interesting course - also for individuals without medical training but with interest in diabetes. Great learning from the short lectures and intermediate quizzes.

By N. F

Jan 14, 2023

I enjoyed this informative course a lot. It's well-made and easy to understand. I just didn't like the number of assignments needed to complete the certificate course. Thanks any ways

By ZEESHAN A

Aug 25, 2023

Thank You so Much for such a wonderful Course . Learn A lot in a modern way the essential fact related to Diabetes. Looking forward to learn more from such a experienced intructors.

By Kar L

Aug 16, 2022

Buenas tardes

Me gusto este curso ya que abarca los principales temas sobre la diabetes y sus actualizaciones. Se expresar´n de forma clara y sencilla. Me gusto muchisimo.

Saludos

By Andrea P

Jun 26, 2019

It is a great course. It show different points of view from different expert in the field of diabetes. It is good presented, understandable, and very likely to follow. Great job.

By Dharshine S G

Jun 26, 2020

The course was awesome. The issue I faced is, despite having a good network strength, the video would get struck.Other than this, the course was very informative and precise.

By Abishek R

Jun 4, 2022

Very useful course , making us realise how gradually and progessivley diabetes prevalence is increasing, and teaches us the fundamental ways to almost eradicate diabetes.

By Mahakaal B

Jun 12, 2021

A brief knowledge of Diabetes in 3 weeks only. I am in love with COURSERA. Now I can enhance my skills sitting at my home on my finger tips. Thank you very much COURSERA.

By Usra H

Sep 21, 2023

A very knowledgeable and comprehensive course for an introduction to Diabetes. This should be opted by everyone to help create awareness across the worldwide population.

By رند ف

Nov 27, 2020

Very useful and the information are presented in a an attractive way.

It was an easy beneficial course, I recommend it any one who seek general knowledge about the topic

By Karla G C Á

Feb 19, 2021

Excellent introductory course to Diabetes. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in knowing how does Diabetes affects our body and what can we do to prevent it.

By Dorota M

Jun 20, 2022

The content of the course was very useful. There was a lot of essential information about the processes going on in the body and some very interesting talkers.

By KRISHNA P

Jun 19, 2023

This is an excellent summary of the bare essentials of diabetes. The key message for me is that gestational diabetes (not genetic) is a lifestyle disease.

By Nadia O P

May 25, 2021

Thank you for sharing with so much clarity such important data, always contributing to a better quality of life, therefore the progress of a country.

By Luis F O G

Apr 26, 2022

Un curso totalmente positivo, actualizado y de gran nivel! Gracias por la oportunidad! Saludos a los Investigadores de la Universidad de Copenhague

By Sandra A

Mar 25, 2021

This course has enlightened me on health issues ,I'm forever grateful. I recommend this course because it will help us all in all areas of our life

By Anzeela K

May 30, 2020

It was a great course covering almost all factors related to Diabetes. Learned alot from this.

Thankyou University of Copenhagen

Thankyou Coursera

By Amarley W

Sep 28, 2021

Excellent course. I recommend it for persons doing diabetes research as well as other individuals who seek to know more about this condition.

By Luca D F

May 29, 2020

As a medicine student I already knew most of the contents, except for the issue regarding diabetes in low-income country. Very interesting.

By Nimbe S H P

Jun 2, 2019

Este curso es muy bueno, la información brindada es indispensable para mantenernos actualizados. Muchas por compartirnos sus conocimientos.