Chevron Left
Back to Diabetes – the Essential Facts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Diabetes – the Essential Facts by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
1,574 ratings
407 reviews

About the Course

Across the world more than 420 million people are living with diabetes. Two thirds of these have not yet been diagnosed. When discovered late or managed incorrectly, diabetes can damage your heart, blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, and nerves, leading to disability and premature death. In fact, more people are dying of diabetes related diseases than of diseases as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. This course will provide you with an introduction to the most recent research in the field of prevention and treatment of diabetes as well as a broader understanding of the situation in different communities, rich and poor, across the world, where diabetes threatens public health. What kind of disease is diabetes, who has it, and who is at risk of getting it? And what are the roles of medicine, exercise and nutrition when trying to prevent, delay or treat diabetes? During the course you will meet researchers and experts from Imperial College London, Emory University in Atlanta, Steno Diabetes Center in Copenhagen as well as the School of Global Health and the Center for Basic Metabolic Research at the University of Copenhagen. They work with very different aspects of diabetes, from microbiology to global public health, but what ties them together is the belief that it is a global responsibility to combat diabetes, and this fight can only be won through new knowledge and global collaboration. We hope you will join us in the course and equip yourself to take part in the ongoing discussions of this truly global and individual health challenge. This course is also part of the EIT Health programme....

Top reviews

OB
Oct 4, 2020

Only thing not furnished that is fasting glucose and pp glucose ranging should be furnished. And also the glucose tolerance test result and Hb1AC test result ranges to be discussed during the course.

BS
Aug 28, 2018

good course , this takes into considerations of diabetes epidemic all over the world . There has to be different mechanism to be adopted in developing countries as compared to developed countries .

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 405 Reviews for Diabetes – the Essential Facts

By Everit J

Jan 16, 2022

It was a pleasure being a part of this course, the info and lecturers were/are on point...I will certainly go forward to the next level.

By Lukas W

Apr 20, 2020

Great introduction to type 2 diabetes. Provides a general understanding of current situation. Videos are concise and easy to understand.

By Aedrian A

Jan 1, 2021

This is an extremely useful course for both the lay and the practitioner to understand state-of-the-art thinking on diabetes mellitus.

By Rani L

Jul 31, 2019

Very interesting and informative class. I learned alot about other people's policies and issues in their countries as well. Thank you!

By Dr j S

Jun 2, 2020

I am a diabetic person and Health Professional. I got lot of information about the Diabetic world and very new concepts of Treatment.

By John S

Feb 25, 2018

One need to know what diabetes is, learn how to live with it on a daily basis and hopefully live a longer, fuller and happier life.

By Willy L C

Jul 24, 2020

Excelente contenido, formato y transferencia de conocimientos inherentes a la gestión de la Diabetes en el Mundo. Felicitaciones.

By Md. R B

Jun 13, 2020

For the current situation, this course badly needed for me. I have learned a lot of things about diabetes. Thanks, Coursera.

By Apurva J

Dec 25, 2019

Got a deeper understanding on diabetes and how its a threat to the coming generation .Thoroughly enjoyed learning the course.

By Magdalena B

Jan 11, 2021

I received a lot of new information about developments en researches in subject diabetes. Really good structured course,

By JOHN Q

Feb 6, 2018

Fun and interesting course; and, vital to me as a diabetic. Thanks to all who worked to put on this course. Thanks.

By Nicole C

Jan 31, 2017

The course was easy to follow and understand. The information was useful, and the way the course was set up was simple.

By INDRANI R

Jun 12, 2020

please update course name as cirtificate in Diabatics then only I can use it for my job and it become valuable for us.

By Helena P W

May 18, 2020

This course was extremely incredible. I have learned so much about diabetes and treatment. This was very informative.

By Giselle M

Nov 7, 2017

very good mooc, very relevant and easy to understand. It will contributes a lot to my future career as health coach.

By Ariana L W

Sep 27, 2020

Me encantó el curso, uno de los mejores para conocer como es la diabetes y que cosas hay que hacer para mejorarla.

By Allison C A G

Aug 12, 2020

excelente, me encantó mucho que la información es concreta y llena de puntos muy importantes, lo recomiendo mucho.

By SURYA P

May 6, 2020

This course really hep me to understand the disease well. Thank you Coursera for providing this opportunity to us.

By Barbara H L

Dec 2, 2019

Demasiado completo, te enseña las generalidades y un extra. Los videos estan muy bien explicados y nada aburridos.

By AYESHA F B

May 10, 2020

this course was best i got to know much about diabetes

i suggest if u want a diabetes free future join this course

By houda m

Jun 9, 2019

Un cours très simplifié qui va au vif du sujet . Merci pour vos efforts j'ai vraiment appris énormément de choses

By Rohini W

Jul 26, 2020

I congratulate you for making this wonderful course. Such a simple language and well explained the content.

By Prateek D

Jul 6, 2019

Good course, loved the fact that quizzes are held at the end of each lecture rather than the entire module.

By BeansAndBagels

Nov 11, 2019

A good first step in opening my eyes to the prevalence, challenges, and potential treatment of diabetes.

By ANGEL O E A

May 2, 2019

Es un excelente curso, te explica ampliamente lo que es la diabetes, y distintas maneras de solucionarlo