Chevron Left
Back to Diabetes – the Essential Facts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Diabetes – the Essential Facts by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
2,142 ratings

About the Course

Across the world more than 420 million people are living with diabetes. Two thirds of these have not yet been diagnosed. When discovered late or managed incorrectly, diabetes can damage your heart, blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, and nerves, leading to disability and premature death. In fact, more people are dying of diabetes related diseases than of diseases as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. This course will provide you with an introduction to the most recent research in the field of prevention and treatment of diabetes as well as a broader understanding of the situation in different communities, rich and poor, across the world, where diabetes threatens public health. What kind of disease is diabetes, who has it, and who is at risk of getting it? And what are the roles of medicine, exercise and nutrition when trying to prevent, delay or treat diabetes? During the course you will meet researchers and experts from Imperial College London, Emory University in Atlanta, Steno Diabetes Center in Copenhagen as well as the School of Global Health and the Center for Basic Metabolic Research at the University of Copenhagen. They work with very different aspects of diabetes, from microbiology to global public health, but what ties them together is the belief that it is a global responsibility to combat diabetes, and this fight can only be won through new knowledge and global collaboration. We hope you will join us in the course and equip yourself to take part in the ongoing discussions of this truly global and individual health challenge. This course is also part of the EIT Health programme....

Top reviews

RD

Invalid date

This course gave interesting facts about diabetes. I am expecting a sequel to this course. The coordinators may start a new course about its pathophysiology or management.

ZA

Invalid date

Thank You so Much for such a wonderful Course . Learn A lot in a modern way the essential fact related to Diabetes. Looking forward to learn more from such a experienced intructors.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 538 Reviews for Diabetes – the Essential Facts

By Helena P W

May 18, 2020

This course was extremely incredible. I have learned so much about diabetes and treatment. This was very informative.

By Giselle M

Nov 7, 2017

very good mooc, very relevant and easy to understand. It will contributes a lot to my future career as health coach.

By Ariana L W

Sep 27, 2020

Me encantó el curso, uno de los mejores para conocer como es la diabetes y que cosas hay que hacer para mejorarla.

By Allison C A G

Aug 12, 2020

excelente, me encantó mucho que la información es concreta y llena de puntos muy importantes, lo recomiendo mucho.

By SURYA P

May 6, 2020

This course really hep me to understand the disease well. Thank you Coursera for providing this opportunity to us.

By Barbara H L

Dec 2, 2019

Demasiado completo, te enseña las generalidades y un extra. Los videos estan muy bien explicados y nada aburridos.

By AYESHA F B

May 10, 2020

this course was best i got to know much about diabetes

i suggest if u want a diabetes free future join this course

By houda m

Jun 9, 2019

Un cours très simplifié qui va au vif du sujet . Merci pour vos efforts j'ai vraiment appris énormément de choses

By Wageh M A

Oct 13, 2023

I think this course is very important to improve our health and will help us to have higher quality of life

By Rohini W

Jul 26, 2020

I congratulate you for making this wonderful course. Such a simple language and well explained the content.

By Prateek D

Jul 6, 2019

Good course, loved the fact that quizzes are held at the end of each lecture rather than the entire module.

By Ayşe Ş

Jan 13, 2023

İt was an effective course that helped me gain a new vision and perspective. Thank you so much Coursera.

By Ana P L

Sep 21, 2022

Ótimo curso!

Indico a todos! Foi de grande valia para meu crescimento pessoal e profissional.

Obrigada!

By BeansAndBagels

Nov 11, 2019

A good first step in opening my eyes to the prevalence, challenges, and potential treatment of diabetes.

By ANGEL O E A

May 2, 2019

Es un excelente curso, te explica ampliamente lo que es la diabetes, y distintas maneras de solucionarlo

By VAN C M

May 6, 2020

Très clair et accessible à tout le monde. Ce cours devrait être donné dans les écoles et aux parents.

.

By Jo i

Feb 11, 2021

So much information is available about Diabetes and this course clarifies some of the essential facts

By Diane B

Feb 4, 2021

Would like more dietary info. Food guidelines very important carb limitations due to sugar conversion

By Denis M

Jun 21, 2020

A++++, great informative course, great videos, please add more courses to your diabetes curriculum.

By Nirnay D S

Jun 11, 2023

Good course that discussed overall diabetes management and future scope and progress in this field.

By RINI L

Aug 13, 2020

This was a very interesting course and I loved every bit of it. Very informative and influential.

By Shilna

Apr 21, 2022

It would be helpful if u conduct one course on diabetic nephropathy and its diagnostic biomarkers

By Melih U

May 24, 2022

YEni şeyler öğrenmeme ve olan bilgilerimr farklı bir açıdan bakmamı sağladığınız için teşekkürler

By deepthi e

Sep 13, 2019

ITS REALLY VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE FOR BEING PART OF THIS COURSE

I THANK EVERY SPEAKER OF THIS COURSE

By Vinny C M

Oct 30, 2020

First one I have completed. It is easy to understand and crucial for people to know these facts.