Chevron Left
Back to Diabetes – the Essential Facts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Diabetes – the Essential Facts by University of Copenhagen

4.7
stars
2,142 ratings

About the Course

Across the world more than 420 million people are living with diabetes. Two thirds of these have not yet been diagnosed. When discovered late or managed incorrectly, diabetes can damage your heart, blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, and nerves, leading to disability and premature death. In fact, more people are dying of diabetes related diseases than of diseases as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. This course will provide you with an introduction to the most recent research in the field of prevention and treatment of diabetes as well as a broader understanding of the situation in different communities, rich and poor, across the world, where diabetes threatens public health. What kind of disease is diabetes, who has it, and who is at risk of getting it? And what are the roles of medicine, exercise and nutrition when trying to prevent, delay or treat diabetes? During the course you will meet researchers and experts from Imperial College London, Emory University in Atlanta, Steno Diabetes Center in Copenhagen as well as the School of Global Health and the Center for Basic Metabolic Research at the University of Copenhagen. They work with very different aspects of diabetes, from microbiology to global public health, but what ties them together is the belief that it is a global responsibility to combat diabetes, and this fight can only be won through new knowledge and global collaboration. We hope you will join us in the course and equip yourself to take part in the ongoing discussions of this truly global and individual health challenge. This course is also part of the EIT Health programme....

Top reviews

RD

Invalid date

This course gave interesting facts about diabetes. I am expecting a sequel to this course. The coordinators may start a new course about its pathophysiology or management.

UH

Invalid date

A very knowledgeable and comprehensive course for an introduction to Diabetes. This should be opted by everyone to help create awareness across the worldwide population.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 538 Reviews for Diabetes – the Essential Facts

By Andrea B

Jul 25, 2022

Very well structure. Clear and coincise overview on diabetes as a condition and what being researched on in order to cure and prevent it.

By Birgül H K

Aug 4, 2021

the course is magnificient! i have learned too many things. i have just started the other course : Diabetes a Global Challenge. thank u!

By Miguel A C T

Aug 27, 2020

Excelente curso, muy completo y con información muy actualizada, estoy gratamente satisfecho de participar de este curso. Muchas gracias.

By Niyati L

Jun 16, 2020

Very nice and informative course. I learned so many new things about diabetes. Thank you for allowing us to complete it without any fees.

By Dr-Ammar A

Dec 22, 2016

As a medical student, i found this course really helpful and up to date, lecturers are great, material are organized.

Highly Recommended !

By Everit J

Jan 16, 2022

It was a pleasure being a part of this course, the info and lecturers were/are on point...I will certainly go forward to the next level.

By Lukas W

Apr 20, 2020

Great introduction to type 2 diabetes. Provides a general understanding of current situation. Videos are concise and easy to understand.

By Aedrian A

Jan 1, 2021

This is an extremely useful course for both the lay and the practitioner to understand state-of-the-art thinking on diabetes mellitus.

By Rani L

Jul 31, 2019

Very interesting and informative class. I learned alot about other people's policies and issues in their countries as well. Thank you!

By Walter T S

Aug 9, 2022

Excelente curso. Los especialistas consideraron el estatus el conocimiento actual y compartieron sus investigaciones. Muchas gracias.

By Dr j S

Jun 2, 2020

I am a diabetic person and Health Professional. I got lot of information about the Diabetic world and very new concepts of Treatment.

By John S

Feb 25, 2018

One need to know what diabetes is, learn how to live with it on a daily basis and hopefully live a longer, fuller and happier life.

By Willy L C

Jul 24, 2020

Excelente contenido, formato y transferencia de conocimientos inherentes a la gestión de la Diabetes en el Mundo. Felicitaciones.

By Deniz M

Dec 19, 2022

Thank you so much! Course is really helpfull, perfect organised and informative.

And helped to deal with the chaos in my head.

By Jaime M H P

Jun 12, 2024

un curso excelente . aprendi muchas cosas que ignoraba de la diabetes, me ayudo mucho con mi problema de glucosa alta gracias

By wilmayork f

Jan 31, 2023

Good course, very didactic, the topic is very important, the people who participated are true researchers, excellent teachers

By Md. R B

Jun 13, 2020

For the current situation, this course badly needed for me. I have learned a lot of things about diabetes. Thanks, Coursera.

By apurva j

Dec 25, 2019

Got a deeper understanding on diabetes and how its a threat to the coming generation .Thoroughly enjoyed learning the course.

By Dorielle C

Mar 1, 2024

I really enjoyed this course; it was extremely informative, I wish the course lasted longer and covered even more content.

By Vi C

Feb 28, 2023

gracias muy interesante . No tengo disponible economía para abonar por este curso culminado, para adquirir mi certificado

By Elias M

Apr 6, 2022

An excellent course on how Diabetes originates and what measures to take to improve the physical condition of the patient

By Magdalena B

Jan 11, 2021

I received a lot of new information about developments en researches in subject diabetes. Really good structured course,

By JOHN Q

Feb 6, 2018

Fun and interesting course; and, vital to me as a diabetic. Thanks to all who worked to put on this course. Thanks.

By Nicole C

Jan 31, 2017

The course was easy to follow and understand. The information was useful, and the way the course was set up was simple.

By INDRANI R

Jun 12, 2020

please update course name as cirtificate in Diabatics then only I can use it for my job and it become valuable for us.