Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
816 ratings
168 reviews

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this second part--part two of five--we cover derivatives, differentiation rules, linearization, higher derivatives, optimization, differentials, and differentiation operators....

Top reviews

JB

Feb 17, 2018

So much fun, and hits all sorts of things I'd always wanted to know. The homework took me a long time, so I didn't get to watch all the bonus lectures, but the ones I did were really interesting.

AB

Dec 7, 2020

This course introduces brand new perspectives and concepts of derivatives and differentials. It also provides applications of differentials in different fields, such as Physics and Economics.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 163 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

By Deleted A

Oct 9, 2018

marvellous

By Ijaz A

May 21, 2022

fantastic

By Siva k T

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent

By ELJAYI A

Aug 1, 2019

excellent

By 胡启阳

Feb 24, 2019

excellent

By 顾雪

Jun 10, 2017

henbangen

By 王力超

May 24, 2016

excellent

By fahim n

Jul 8, 2021

very fun

By Rama T

Oct 28, 2020

Useful

By 黎健钊

May 3, 2017

THANKS

By Tuan H

Sep 11, 2016

Great!

By Belaid M

Dec 5, 2021

great

By Ganjikunta A

Apr 25, 2022

Good

By Xiao L

Nov 17, 2017

The bonus lectures are great! I majored in pure Mathematics in university, and I find them incredibly enlightening. One question, though. We have been taught several techniques to compute derivatives based on the derivatives of such simple function as sin(x), cos(x), and exponential. Shouldn't we learn how those basic derivatives are computed in the first place?

By Frances C

Jun 8, 2020

I like both the video lectures and the textbook readings for each lecture. I wonder whether you would want to draw more attention to the textbook readings for each of the lectures?

Aside: I wanted to retry a couple of the questions on the exam. Is there some way for me to do this?

By Roshan N

Oct 20, 2018

Thanks Mr. Ghrist for this course . I learnt many new concepts and mainly how to deal with problems by using visualization . Also understand why we are learning things and their applications. Again thanks a lot.

By Gabriel Q

Mar 17, 2019

some interesting applications of even the most basics of calculus, also finally a way to truely understand the second derivate test

By Elton B R

Jun 17, 2020

i WOULD LIKE TO SUGGEST TO PROFESSOR ROBERT CHRIST TO PRESENT MORE EXAMPLE IN ORDER TO MAKE EASY STUDENT UNDERSTANDING.

By Omar A K

Sep 7, 2017

I am not giving 5 stars because of lack of proofs ! some topology i think is necessary to talk about calculus

By Ankish S

Jun 15, 2020

Overall the course was best but could be improved by a few more examples. Loved this course.

By Bendeguz S

Aug 10, 2019

Presentations are great, albeit some topics were neglected or were too short. Overall 8,5/10

By Alinaswe C

Jan 12, 2022

The course is great although deeper explanations and more examples are needed.

By Le W

May 4, 2020

the Professor's voice and tempo is tooooooooo slow that we want to sleep

By Benjamin C

Mar 19, 2018

Tough course, but a very fresh look at differential calculus.

By Salim S

Jan 10, 2018

IT'S GIVE ME A DEEP UNDERSTANDING . THANK'S