Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.6
681 ratings
157 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

MP

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

SP

Mar 03, 2019

The course has a lot of basic information, and this isn't an intensive course as mentioned. but overall the information was clear and informative. thanks coursera.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 149 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Vikash S

Oct 20, 2018

Do this course if you want to know about digital manufacturing

By ZAFAR I

Oct 09, 2018

The course provides a very informative overview of digital manufacturing and design. i had found it very useful for my workplace activities.....

By PRASANTH B

Oct 21, 2018

Nice introduction to Industry 4.O

By David S

Oct 23, 2018

G

By NAGA S P

Oct 26, 2018

very useful course to gain knowledge best for mechanical engineers

By Alfredo J L H

Oct 31, 2018

excellent

By SOMU S

Nov 02, 2018

It can give a good opportunity for me it good university

By Laurent V

May 11, 2018

e

By Flavio R

Jan 17, 2018

Absolutely to be recommended to everybody is to start working in activities such as Additive Manufacturing, like I did. I would have liked attending this course before!!

By ALEEM A R T

Nov 24, 2017

its a very good initiative for the upcoming generations....

By Praveen V

Oct 15, 2017

Digital manufacturing and design is a valuable course for the industry 4 community and its knowledge add value to those works in the manufacturing field in the industry 4. The manufacturing engineers who deals with digital design should go through this course.

By Scott A

May 15, 2018

A good overview of the Digital Manufacturing and Design. The course brought me up to date with the new technology.

By Noel J

Jun 01, 2018

Found it very interesting!

By Chapalamadugu H C

May 23, 2018

It's extremely resourceful and worth the efforts.

By Mallela S V G

Mar 27, 2017

Excellent course for Industry 4.0 technology aspirants.

By Jesus Z F

Oct 22, 2017

Very interesting course and a very good overview for the specialization.

By Huy N

Oct 28, 2017

It's a pretty informative class about the 4.0 age of manufacturing. Very glad to take this introductory class. The information that is thrown at your is mostly audio making it difficult to take notes and follow along due to requiring so much pausing to write.

By ALI R

Aug 31, 2017

Its mind blowing awesome for mechanical engineering students

By Senthilkumar

Jun 06, 2017

very useful and informative also reading materials are interesting. thank you for giving me the opportunity to participate and learn

By Nabil H

Jan 20, 2018

Excellent introduction to the Digital Manufacturing And Design Course. Thanks A Lot!

By ROEL G

Jun 19, 2017

A greate primer !

By FAWAD

Jun 17, 2018

Highly recommended.

By Vancho D

Dec 28, 2017

Frankly one of the best courses that I have tried and succeeded here on coursera. My background is mechanical engineering and industrial engineering and management. It was not difficult for me to understand the transition between the traditional manufacturing to digital manufacturing and design paradigm, However, I highly recommend that you take this specialization especially if you're into manufacturing and the transition to Industry 4.0. You'll take me later :)

By Meetkumar J P

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

By Paritosh U

Sep 12, 2017

It was really nice getting a idea whats actually going on in industries