Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.6
736 ratings
173 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

WT

May 02, 2018

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0.

MP

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 167 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Tejo R B

Sep 18, 2017

Very Good Course.

By Mohammad j n

Oct 04, 2017

a great way to learn design and manufacturing try to don't miss it.

By Haley S

Feb 06, 2017

Great visuals, content and lectures from the professors. Easy to follow!

By Sanjeev V

Jun 24, 2018

The best online course for professionals who want to understand Industry 4.0 concepts

By srikanth s

May 24, 2017

Very well explained with the right steps

By yashar k s

Dec 02, 2017

best

By S.LAKSHMANAN

May 16, 2017

great

By VIPUL K

Apr 30, 2017

very useful

By Maria S N

Sep 30, 2017

Complete and simple to understand. This course gives a holistic overview of the current DMD approach.

By Gehad M A O

Feb 16, 2017

This course is very informative, it discusses a broad of things regarding digital manufacturing, and it can put you on the right track by letting you know about the industrial revolutions, where are you standing, and which field do you want to proceed and work in. I recommend it to anyone who wants to start a career in manufacturing, even those who are already in the field and want to refresh their information or to know broader information regarding what they are missing, or want to upgrade their factory's systems. I recommend it also to engineering students, and young technicians. Good luck everyone!

By Aileni R

Dec 26, 2017

great to learn

By Saurav K J

Oct 28, 2017

Good start of specialisation. Already feeling confident.

By Dave A

May 12, 2018

really enlighting

By Muhammad s

Sep 28, 2017

interesting course

i love it .

By K P k

May 30, 2017

Nice Introduction to DMD.!!

By Silvio M

Mar 01, 2017

A lot of hype has built up around Industry 4.0 which makes it sometime difficult to recognize the key components. This great course let’s you organize the tiles to see the big picture.I also find it very appropriate at management level. You get the elements necessary to envision a digital transformation project and communicate with all stakeholders.

By ALI R

Aug 31, 2017

Its mind blowing awesome for mechanical engineering students

By Nabil H

Jan 20, 2018

Excellent introduction to the Digital Manufacturing And Design Course. Thanks A Lot!

By ROEL G

Jun 19, 2017

A greate primer !

By FAWAD

Jun 17, 2018

Highly recommended.

By Meetkumar J P

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

By Paritosh U

Sep 12, 2017

It was really nice getting a idea whats actually going on in industries

By Mallela S V G

Mar 27, 2017

Excellent course for Industry 4.0 technology aspirants.

By Jesus Z F

Oct 22, 2017

Very interesting course and a very good overview for the specialization.

By Serkan O

Feb 15, 2017

It was very usefull information. Our Trade Center would have at 24 th of february this month a conference about Industry 4.0 I would be proudly inform taht I would be qualified soon and I already aware of it.