Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
2,914 ratings
706 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

WT
May 1, 2018

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0.

S
Aug 30, 2020

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 692 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Ataullah N

Sep 7, 2020

This course exposed me to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small

By Shriniwas S S

Oct 4, 2020

This is a very good course offers and teaches about Industry 4.0 & Digital manufacturing and design paradigm. This course is a game changer and we really learn about so many things that we may not aware of. I will highly recommend you to do this course . Professor Ken English is a very good professor Huge respect for them.

By Bismillah G B

Sep 7, 2020

Manufacturing technologies improve overall productivity, which increases profit immensely as well. Reduction in Overall Production Time - The longer the production process is - the more it is going to cost. Manufacturing technologies drive the production process and get products out in a much more efficient manner.

By Rahul A

Jun 9, 2020

Digital Manufacturing and Design (DMD) is the ideal course for those seeking knowledge about the modern manufacturing techniques and the whole procedural work needed to undergone for final product. The faculties are very well educated and gives deep information about every topic as mentioned in the catalogue

By ABHISHEK A

May 16, 2020

It was a great learning experience from the University Of Buffalo and now i am very much confident that i can utilise my knowledge about digital manufacturing and design or industry 4.0 to develop and work in the field of intelligent machining in this very age of digital industrial revolution.

By Kaushal G

Nov 13, 2020

This helped me alot , gave a good explanation as to how automation in manufacturing is more important in the coming future. This has established a stepping stone in my future towards this manufacturing fields and its careers . Thank you UNIVERSITY OF BUFFALO and Coursera

By Israel B

Dec 19, 2018

The course was well organized in terms of materials, video lectures and links to resources for us to have more clearer vision of Advanced Industry 4.0. The teachings are simplified to my understanding. I advice them to keep the good work.

By Asma H

Jul 22, 2018

Un cours permettant d'avoir une idée claire sur les bases de la digital Manufacturing & Design. Je recommande ce cours à toute personne qui cherche à savoir qu'est ce que c'est que l'industrie 4.0 et comment elle va changer le monde.

By Mohammad S I

Jul 18, 2020

Firstly thanks to Coursera for giving me the opportunity to take this course. I hope this course is more effective me in my future job because every parts of this course was very clear concept which was consumable for me. Thank you

By Amey D M

May 13, 2020

This course provide an enthusiast way of learning. It covers several methods for better understanding. The information shared is worth gaining and it would help an individual to make the foundation of career in manufacturing field.

By Sanjeeb R

Jul 29, 2020

This course is a well-balanced course to introduce the primary ideas of digital manufacturing and design with attractive knowledge and application pool. The illustration and resources used are really interesting and fun to read.

By CHAKRADHAR V K

May 11, 2020

The course was very useful and gave information on digital thread, components of digital thread, Intelligent machining, advanced manufacturing systems, information security, how to prevent information hacking etc..

By Manoram R B

Sep 20, 2019

This Course has given an insight about the latest technologies in Industry 4.0. This course is very useful for all the engineers and academicians who would like to get transformed from Industry 3.0 to Industry 4.0

By Mohammed S P

Aug 29, 2017

The explaination by Prof. Key English sir was simply outstanding . I recommend this for those who want to learn about future of Industrial revolution. As this way a introductory course I found it very useful.

By SURYANSHU

Aug 31, 2020

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0

By RAHUL

Jul 15, 2020

Amazing Course and the stuff provided by Prof. English- I am Thankful to Coursera team for Giving me this wonderful opportunity to learn this course to upgrade my skills by providing financial Aid.

By Priyanshu P

May 8, 2020

Introduction to the main concepts is given in such a manner that it can be understood easily. Also the small quizzes and assignments are a great way to solidify these newly learned concepts.

By Deepanshu K

Jul 20, 2020

The course helped me gain key insights into the Digital Manufacturing Paradigm and Foundational ideas of Industry 4.0. The instructor was good and hope it will help me in my future goals.

By Dalal A

Jun 30, 2020

I really enjoyed this class. I learned a lot of interesting things.

The lectures, readings, and assignments complemented each other, and The text and assigned readings were valuable.

By venkata v c

Apr 25, 2020

this course is very helpful and you can gain basic information about digital manufacturing, this course also tells about skills you should gain in the future for this specialization

By Pratit s

Nov 4, 2019

Very helpful to understand what is DMD ( Digital Manufacturing and Design ) and what will be future scope for DMD.Satisfy with the course content and the way for transferring data.

By Raza A

Apr 12, 2020

An excellent introductory course on Digital Manufacturing and Design. Indeed Industry 4.0 is the future and it is already here. Excited to go on further in the specialization.

By RAJESH S

May 25, 2020

This course helps us to learn about the present manufacturing and design with intelligent machining. And also learned how the manufacturing companies are producing products.

By Sumathy M

May 21, 2020

The course is highly interesting and informative. Professor Ken English delivered the course in a great manner. I am highly satisfied with course content and delivery plan.

By ds_devang

May 26, 2020

This course gives basic knowledge about the Digital Manufacturing and Design with suitable examples and reference materials. Thank you for designing such a helpful course.