Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.6
729 ratings
171 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

WT

May 02, 2018

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0.

MP

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 163 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Aditya M

Sep 17, 2018

amazing experience

By Houssem C

Oct 05, 2018

This course is very rich with vocabularies related to digital manufacturing design

By Laurent V

May 11, 2018

e

By Praveen V

Oct 15, 2017

Digital manufacturing and design is a valuable course for the industry 4 community and its knowledge add value to those works in the manufacturing field in the industry 4. The manufacturing engineers who deals with digital design should go through this course.

By Scott A

May 15, 2018

A good overview of the Digital Manufacturing and Design. The course brought me up to date with the new technology.

By Noel J

Jun 01, 2018

Found it very interesting!

By Flavio R

Jan 17, 2018

Absolutely to be recommended to everybody is to start working in activities such as Additive Manufacturing, like I did. I would have liked attending this course before!!

By Chapalamadugu H C

May 23, 2018

It's extremely resourceful and worth the efforts.

By K P k

May 30, 2017

Nice Introduction to DMD.!!

By Silvio M

Mar 01, 2017

A lot of hype has built up around Industry 4.0 which makes it sometime difficult to recognize the key components. This great course let’s you organize the tiles to see the big picture.I also find it very appropriate at management level. You get the elements necessary to envision a digital transformation project and communicate with all stakeholders.

By ALI R

Aug 31, 2017

Its mind blowing awesome for mechanical engineering students

By Nabil H

Jan 20, 2018

Excellent introduction to the Digital Manufacturing And Design Course. Thanks A Lot!

By ROEL G

Jun 19, 2017

A greate primer !

By FAWAD

Jun 17, 2018

Highly recommended.

By Meetkumar J P

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

By Paritosh U

Sep 12, 2017

It was really nice getting a idea whats actually going on in industries

By Huy N

Oct 28, 2017

It's a pretty informative class about the 4.0 age of manufacturing. Very glad to take this introductory class. The information that is thrown at your is mostly audio making it difficult to take notes and follow along due to requiring so much pausing to write.

By Mallela S V G

Mar 27, 2017

Excellent course for Industry 4.0 technology aspirants.

By Jesus Z F

Oct 22, 2017

Very interesting course and a very good overview for the specialization.

By Serkan O

Feb 15, 2017

It was very usefull information. Our Trade Center would have at 24 th of february this month a conference about Industry 4.0 I would be proudly inform taht I would be qualified soon and I already aware of it.

By Qasim N

Apr 27, 2017

An excellent course giving a comprehensive overview of the transformation happening through digital manufacturing & design; unveiling the future industrial trends by exploring the manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution. Thank you University at Buffalo and coursera for providing this opportunity.

By Bhargav p

Oct 21, 2017

this course is great, must for mechanical engineer

By Marc s

Jul 10, 2017

Great introduction to DMD for Industry 4.0. Ready for the next course!

By Alexandr K

Aug 21, 2017

Great course! Many thanks!

By Anoop J

Jul 26, 2017

Very informative and provides an excellent overview of digital manufacturing including practical tools.