Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
2,430 ratings
608 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

WT

May 02, 2018

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0.

RR

Jul 15, 2020

Amazing Course and the stuff provided by Prof. English- I am Thankful to Coursera team for Giving me this wonderful opportunity to learn this course to upgrade my skills by providing financial Aid.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 600 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Sriram P

Mar 03, 2019

The course has a lot of basic information, and this isn't an intensive course as mentioned. but overall the information was clear and informative. thanks coursera.

By Wail R

Mar 14, 2020

Excellent presentation with minimal academic terminology that adequately describes the new technologies and techniques of Industry 4.0 and Digital manifacturing.

By Tanya S

Aug 05, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, I recommend it for all ages, I am 15 but in the discussion there were also people much older, it's a great way to learn about DMD!

By JAY G

Jul 29, 2020

This is a fantastic course which gives a complete overhaul of today's industry and practices that are needed to be done in future along with shaping our lives.

By Alari L

Jul 30, 2020

This course provides a broad description of how different disciplines can be merged together and work simultaneously in industry 4.0. It's very interesting.

By Kathleen T

Mar 20, 2020

Super interesting and easy to understand. I loved that there was a quick practice quiz at the end of each lesson. I felt very prepared for final quizzes.

By CHINTADA H K

Feb 10, 2020

THE COURSE GAVE ME THE INSIGHTS INTO HOW THE WORLD OF MANUFACTURING HAS BEEN TRANSFORMING AND FURTHER GOING TO IMPROVE AND STREAMLINE MAJOR INDUSTRIES

By Arjun K A

May 23, 2020

Even though it covers the basic level of digital manufacturing, it gives a good idea for those of who wants to enter the digital manufacturing sector

By Tushar S

Apr 26, 2020

this course is really helpful for beginners to understand how information technology helps to enhance the productivity of the manufacturing process .

By CHAITANYA P

Jun 14, 2020

it were excellent to learn to learn how digital manufacturing and design done by the industries and want to learn more and more thing about machine.

By ARUL M . 1

Jul 19, 2020

It is really perfect for those who want to learn what industry 4.0 and the technology improvement in fourth industrial revolution.just go for it

By ajay k v

May 05, 2020

Very Good insights on Digital Threads into the Manufacturing, Indeed a best Introductory course with advance concepts explaining at entry level.

By ZAFAR I

Oct 09, 2018

The course provides a very informative overview of digital manufacturing and design. i had found it very useful for my workplace activities.....

By Kamasani P

Jun 21, 2020

Its a good introduction with key points specified in short to the students and major work is for us to study and with a few video descriptions

By SURIYA V

Jun 03, 2020

special Thanks UB, they Refreshed my knowledge and this course give some interesting terminology which will be used later in my life time.

By Senthilkumar

Jun 06, 2017

very useful and informative also reading materials are interesting. thank you for giving me the opportunity to participate and learn

By Kishan K V

Jul 31, 2020

I love this course, I have now clear, the professor explains everything with ease and tones of examples relating to the real world.

By SUBHRANIL S

Apr 29, 2020

It was an introduction to DMD. This course clearly shows where the manufacturing sector is going and gives you the right direction.

By Hrithik S

May 01, 2020

It gave the right and descriptive information about the course. Overall this course gives us entire idea of digital manufacturing.

By Ashish S K

Jun 26, 2020

This is a best course that I ever seen. It provides recent technology based knowledge. Thank you for your sharing the knowledge.

By KUNAL D R

Mar 03, 2019

The course is very helpful the content and references provided are good. helped a lot to learn about possibilities in this area

By Silvio J R G

Sep 05, 2017

A really good introductin to the digital manufacturing framework. Specially interesting for manufacturing workers or engineers

By Mr. J S

May 21, 2020

This course is very useful for beginners to understand transformation of traditional to digital manufacturing and its need.

By JOSE P

Aug 04, 2019

Very well written, good examples, good references, materials, auto-eval, right pace and wonderful guidance from Dr English

By Naveen T

Jul 13, 2020

it's been a goodtime with coursera that increased our skill efficiently.....

thankyou coursera with regards,

talluri naveen