Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.6
740 ratings
175 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

WT

May 02, 2018

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0.

MP

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 167 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Serkan O

Feb 15, 2017

It was very usefull information. Our Trade Center would have at 24 th of february this month a conference about Industry 4.0 I would be proudly inform taht I would be qualified soon and I already aware of it.

By Dmitry L

Dec 19, 2017

Good 101 lever introduction to DMC

By Bhargav p

Oct 21, 2017

this course is great, must for mechanical engineer

By Marc s

Jul 10, 2017

Great introduction to DMD for Industry 4.0. Ready for the next course!

By Alexandr K

Aug 21, 2017

Great course! Many thanks!

By Seku S G

Nov 06, 2017

Very Helpful course for every budding engineer

By gowrishankar d

Feb 13, 2017

Gives a good insight of what really Digital manufacturing m

By Mohammed S P

Aug 29, 2017

The explaination by Prof. Key English sir was simply outstanding . I recommend this for those who want to learn about future of Industrial revolution. As this way a introductory course I found it very useful.

By Daniel K

May 31, 2018

This course is the good insight into digital manufacturing.

By 陈宇清

Nov 17, 2017

G

By Aileni R

Dec 26, 2017

great to learn

By Saurav K J

Oct 28, 2017

Good start of specialisation. Already feeling confident.

By Dave A

May 12, 2018

really enlighting

By Muhammad s

Sep 28, 2017

interesting course

i love it .

By Gehad M A O

Feb 16, 2017

This course is very informative, it discusses a broad of things regarding digital manufacturing, and it can put you on the right track by letting you know about the industrial revolutions, where are you standing, and which field do you want to proceed and work in. I recommend it to anyone who wants to start a career in manufacturing, even those who are already in the field and want to refresh their information or to know broader information regarding what they are missing, or want to upgrade their factory's systems. I recommend it also to engineering students, and young technicians. Good luck everyone!

By yashar k s

Dec 02, 2017

best

By VIPUL K

Apr 30, 2017

very useful

By Maria S N

Sep 30, 2017

Complete and simple to understand. This course gives a holistic overview of the current DMD approach.

By DineshKumar M

Aug 04, 2018

After the introductory videos, I wish to take the full course. Thank you the information

By Aditya M

Sep 17, 2018

amazing experience

By Mohammed G A

Jul 29, 2018

Excellent presentation and course material

By Brenda M

Apr 29, 2019

informative

By Bruno V

May 16, 2019

Very good introduction to the overall concepts and context.

By Bhunithan

Jun 16, 2019

EXCELLENT

By Alan R

Jun 21, 2019

Well oaced and strong supportung material.