Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.6
674 ratings
155 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

MP

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

SP

Mar 03, 2019

The course has a lot of basic information, and this isn't an intensive course as mentioned. but overall the information was clear and informative. thanks coursera.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 148 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Marina M L

Jul 30, 2017

Awesome course to get an overview of the trends and the changes we are living. Most of the content is quite basic, so dont expect to have pratical tools to apply on the daily job. But for sure helps to know the possibilities and be in a closer touch with the new technologies in order o better present the topic in a meeting or conversation. I for sure recommend.

By Anoop J

Jul 26, 2017

Very informative and provides an excellent overview of digital manufacturing including practical tools.

By Tejo R B

Sep 18, 2017

Very Good Course.

By Wesley T

May 02, 2018

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0.

By Michael T

Jun 15, 2018

very good and progress information !

By SARATH N

Oct 19, 2017

nice and a well prepared course on digital manufacturing.

By Mohammad j n

Oct 04, 2017

a great way to learn design and manufacturing try to don't miss it.

By Haley S

Feb 06, 2017

Great visuals, content and lectures from the professors. Easy to follow!

By K P k

May 30, 2017

Nice Introduction to DMD.!!

By Sanjeev V

Jun 24, 2018

The best online course for professionals who want to understand Industry 4.0 concepts

By Silvio M

Mar 01, 2017

A lot of hype has built up around Industry 4.0 which makes it sometime difficult to recognize the key components. This great course let’s you organize the tiles to see the big picture.I also find it very appropriate at management level. You get the elements necessary to envision a digital transformation project and communicate with all stakeholders.

By srikanth s

May 24, 2017

Very well explained with the right steps

By Puranjay M

Jul 23, 2017

I think the course is well structured and gives a nice overview of the Industry 4.0 paradigm. Being an industry practitioner, I felt more at ease with some of the topics but I felt it was great from a topic refresher perspective.

By Serkan O

Feb 15, 2017

It was very usefull information. Our Trade Center would have at 24 th of february this month a conference about Industry 4.0 I would be proudly inform taht I would be qualified soon and I already aware of it.

By Dmitry L

Dec 19, 2017

Good 101 lever introduction to DMC

By Qasim N

Apr 27, 2017

An excellent course giving a comprehensive overview of the transformation happening through digital manufacturing & design; unveiling the future industrial trends by exploring the manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution. Thank you University at Buffalo and coursera for providing this opportunity.

By Bhargav p

Oct 21, 2017

this course is great, must for mechanical engineer

By Marc s

Jul 10, 2017

Great introduction to DMD for Industry 4.0. Ready for the next course!

By Alexandr K

Aug 21, 2017

Great course! Many thanks!

By Silvio J R G

Sep 05, 2017

A really good introductin to the digital manufacturing framework. Specially interesting for manufacturing workers or engineers

By Seku S G

Nov 06, 2017

Very Helpful course for every budding engineer

By gowrishankar d

Feb 13, 2017

Gives a good insight of what really Digital manufacturing m

By Mohammed S P

Aug 29, 2017

The explaination by Prof. Key English sir was simply outstanding . I recommend this for those who want to learn about future of Industrial revolution. As this way a introductory course I found it very useful.

By Daniel K

May 31, 2018

This course is the good insight into digital manufacturing.

By 陈宇清

Nov 17, 2017

G