Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.6
739 ratings
175 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

WT

May 02, 2018

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0.

MP

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 167 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Qasim N

Apr 27, 2017

An excellent course giving a comprehensive overview of the transformation happening through digital manufacturing & design; unveiling the future industrial trends by exploring the manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution. Thank you University at Buffalo and coursera for providing this opportunity.

By Bhargav p

Oct 21, 2017

this course is great, must for mechanical engineer

By Marc s

Jul 10, 2017

Great introduction to DMD for Industry 4.0. Ready for the next course!

By Alexandr K

Aug 21, 2017

Great course! Many thanks!

By Senthilkumar

Jun 06, 2017

very useful and informative also reading materials are interesting. thank you for giving me the opportunity to participate and learn

By Vancho D

Dec 28, 2017

Frankly one of the best courses that I have tried and succeeded here on coursera. My background is mechanical engineering and industrial engineering and management. It was not difficult for me to understand the transition between the traditional manufacturing to digital manufacturing and design paradigm, However, I highly recommend that you take this specialization especially if you're into manufacturing and the transition to Industry 4.0. You'll take me later :)

By Marina M L

Jul 30, 2017

Awesome course to get an overview of the trends and the changes we are living. Most of the content is quite basic, so dont expect to have pratical tools to apply on the daily job. But for sure helps to know the possibilities and be in a closer touch with the new technologies in order o better present the topic in a meeting or conversation. I for sure recommend.

By Daniel K

May 31, 2018

This course is the good insight into digital manufacturing.

By 陈宇清

Nov 17, 2017

G

By Puranjay M

Jul 23, 2017

I think the course is well structured and gives a nice overview of the Industry 4.0 paradigm. Being an industry practitioner, I felt more at ease with some of the topics but I felt it was great from a topic refresher perspective.

By Dmitry L

Dec 19, 2017

Good 101 lever introduction to DMC

By Silvio J R G

Sep 05, 2017

A really good introductin to the digital manufacturing framework. Specially interesting for manufacturing workers or engineers

By gowrishankar d

Feb 13, 2017

Gives a good insight of what really Digital manufacturing m

By ALEEM A R T

Nov 24, 2017

its a very good initiative for the upcoming generations....

By Laurent V

May 11, 2018

e

By Praveen V

Oct 15, 2017

Digital manufacturing and design is a valuable course for the industry 4 community and its knowledge add value to those works in the manufacturing field in the industry 4. The manufacturing engineers who deals with digital design should go through this course.

By Scott A

May 15, 2018

A good overview of the Digital Manufacturing and Design. The course brought me up to date with the new technology.

By Noel J

Jun 01, 2018

Found it very interesting!

By Flavio R

Jan 17, 2018

Absolutely to be recommended to everybody is to start working in activities such as Additive Manufacturing, like I did. I would have liked attending this course before!!

By Chapalamadugu H C

May 23, 2018

It's extremely resourceful and worth the efforts.

By DineshKumar M

Aug 04, 2018

After the introductory videos, I wish to take the full course. Thank you the information

By Himanshu G

Sep 05, 2018

The Course was helpful and it really helped me a lot to understand what Industry 4.0 is.

By Aditya M

Sep 17, 2018

amazing experience

By Vikash S

Oct 20, 2018

Do this course if you want to know about digital manufacturing

By PRASANTH B

Oct 21, 2018

Nice introduction to Industry 4.O