Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Digital Image and Video Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Digital Image and Video Processing by Northwestern University

4.6
stars
1,277 ratings
253 reviews

About the Course

In this class you will learn the basic principles and tools used to process images and videos, and how to apply them in solving practical problems of commercial and scientific interests. Digital images and videos are everywhere these days – in thousands of scientific (e.g., astronomical, bio-medical), consumer, industrial, and artistic applications. Moreover they come in a wide range of the electromagnetic spectrum - from visible light and infrared to gamma rays and beyond. The ability to process image and video signals is therefore an incredibly important skill to master for engineering/science students, software developers, and practicing scientists. Digital image and video processing continues to enable the multimedia technology revolution we are experiencing today. Some important examples of image and video processing include the removal of degradations images suffer during acquisition (e.g., removing blur from a picture of a fast moving car), and the compression and transmission of images and videos (if you watch videos online, or share photos via a social media website, you use this everyday!), for economical storage and efficient transmission. This course will cover the fundamentals of image and video processing. We will provide a mathematical framework to describe and analyze images and videos as two- and three-dimensional signals in the spatial, spatio-temporal, and frequency domains. In this class not only will you learn the theory behind fundamental processing tasks including image/video enhancement, recovery, and compression - but you will also learn how to perform these key processing tasks in practice using state-of-the-art techniques and tools. We will introduce and use a wide variety of such tools – from optimization toolboxes to statistical techniques. Emphasis on the special role sparsity plays in modern image and video processing will also be given. In all cases, example images and videos pertaining to specific application domains will be utilized....

Top reviews

VT

Mar 21, 2019

AMAZING COURSE.\n\nTAKES YOU THROUGH EVERY TOPIC IN IMAGE PROCESSING.\n\nTHIS COURSE GREATLY HELPED ME WITH UNIVERSITY STUDIES AS WELL,\n\nTHANK YOU NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY AND PROFESSOR AGGELOS K.

HS

Oct 07, 2018

This course is much simpler and easier to understand for those who wanna get and set their goals towards the image engineering field. Really enjoy much doing this course. THank you everyone !!!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 248 Reviews for Fundamentals of Digital Image and Video Processing

By Pavan K P

Oct 13, 2018

I have learnt a lot in this course and i have done all the assignments thank you so much for teaching us

By Tanay N

Oct 10, 2018

AMAZING LECTURES. REALLY ON THE POINT AND IT HELPED ME IN THE EXAMS, ALSO THANKYOU FOR THE FINANCIAL AID

By Jasmin P

May 07, 2020

Thank you, sir, for your work on the course, I got to know a few more details which were missed before.

By KONDURU U R

Dec 30, 2017

Course is very good. i learn image processing fundamentals and video processing. its very good course.

By Hitihami M R T B

Sep 29, 2019

The course is very informative and the way ot present really helps to understand to the full extent.

By Shivank S

Apr 22, 2018

It was a detailed, resourceful and amazing course for learning basics of Image and Video Processing.

By Sanjoy G

Mar 28, 2017

The professor is very good. He explains very complex mathematical concepts very clearly and simply

By Ching-Hua C

Nov 10, 2016

The professor gave instructions in a clear and logical way. I benefited greatly from this course.

By pankaj j

Sep 28, 2018

This Course is use-full for implementing image processing knowledge to real life applications.

By Ivo S

Oct 07, 2016

Excelent introductory course to the subject of video and image processing, highly recommended!

By Doreen B

Jun 09, 2019

Wonderful lectures, subjects explained just at the right level to be deep but not too taxing.

By Kuruva S

Oct 27, 2017

It is very useful subject and once again thank you for giveing this subject as online subject

By Dmitry K

May 24, 2017

Very good! However, video compression took too much time without learning anything specific.

By Pranav K

Mar 26, 2019

This course has been really helpful for me in understanding the basics of Image Processing

By sridhar

Oct 21, 2017

Ive learned image and video processing very well.Very good teaching and effective material

By Akash T

Nov 04, 2018

introductory course of Fundamentals of Digital Image and Video Processing.

very useful!

By Aman W

Jun 21, 2019

Inarguably, one of the best courses for Image and Video Processing on the internet.

By 15MIS0361 S V

Nov 10, 2018

This course was very helpful to me and I think this would be helpful to my carreer.

By Jatin G

Mar 25, 2019

very helpful course. Starts from the very basics and the teacher is also very good

By Abasi J

Sep 25, 2016

Very nice course I learned new things. Thanks for the Coursera team and community.

By MANKAR P

Jan 31, 2018

This course covers the fundamental topics of digital image and video processing.

By zhang q

Jun 27, 2017

The content is excellent and I learned a lot. Some quiz questions are too easy.

By Shaik i C b

May 30, 2020

Fundamental of digital image and video process ing is help full for my career

By Juan M d M M

Mar 25, 2019

I liked very much because of the content and the exercicies given to practice

By IndRi P

Jul 10, 2017

This course gives excellent explanation to the great materials it covered!