Chevron Left
Back to Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
2,121 ratings
747 reviews

About the Course

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a 12-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of non-avian dinosaurs. Topics covered: anatomy, eating, locomotion, growth, environmental and behavioral adaptations, origins and extinction. Lessons are delivered from museums, fossil-preparation labs and dig sites. Estimated workload: 3-5 hrs/week....

Top reviews

JH

Apr 06, 2017

Thank you for this excellent course! I really enjoyed the short videos, the concise notes, and quick quizzes (both at the end of each lesson, as well as the main point quizzes throughout the videos).

TW

Dec 16, 2017

The instructors' explanation are very clear and easy to understand. Would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in Paleontology or dinosaurs in general. I really had fun learning.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 746 Reviews for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

By Brian W

Sep 14, 2020

A most amazing course. So much information and detail in so little time! It answered many questions so I can now understand many of the scientific articles I am ready. And the instructors were nothing short of phenominal. So clear, concise so that the course material was easy to understand. Congratulations - I cannot wait to see what's next.

By Dr. R G

Jun 28, 2020

The Dino 101 course was brilliant in every sense. I enjoyed every bit of it. The excellent demonstrations and mode of discussions will help me a lot to enrich my existing knowledge of dinosaurs. Being an assistant professor of Zoology, I must appreciate the content, design of this beautiful course and encourage others to participate the same.

By Erin S

Jun 21, 2020

This course was well-designed and carefully assembled. Text tracked well with the videos which had good production-value. I am a teacher during a pandemic, and I took this course as a sample (good or bad) of an online course. I was surprised by the quality and learned a lot about both paleobiology and student-friendly online course design.

By S K

Apr 19, 2019

Was always intrigued about the dinosaurs and their lives. This course helped in understanding their times as well as introducing me to their morphology and anatomy. Overall, a great course for learning about the dinosaurs. This course is helpful for someone who is interested in learning about the evolution of reptiles, mammals and birds.

By hilton m

Aug 11, 2020

loved it ! my inner child was awed and satisfied, maybe ill pursue this career.

the instructors were very clear , the notes before each lesson were very helpful and the course subjects were easy to understand. i highly recommend anyone reading the reviews to take this course!

those of you who put this course together are awesome! i loved it!

By Sarmad M

Jun 21, 2020

This review is biased because i love dinosaurs. Always wanted to learn more about them. Never really got the chance to growing up. This is a great first place to start learning more about these majestic creatures! The lesson notes and the videos are well prepared for your basic dinosaur newbie. The fossil viewer was my favorite bit though!

By Marie-Chantale B

Aug 30, 2018

This course was fantastic! I was only taking it for my own pleasure as I've always been interested in dinosaurs. It was easy to follow, even if you have no science or paleontology background like me. I highly recommend it. Congratulations to all of those you worked on building this class. I wish there was more online classes like yours.

By Thomas C C

Jul 19, 2020

Fantastic beginners course on dinosaurs. My background is in anthropology, ancient DNA, and geology and it was great to apply some of those principles to another field. Before doing this course I thought palaeontology was too divergent for me to branch into despite having a hobbyist’s interest. Now it seems more plausible than ever!

By Sarah B

Feb 21, 2019

This course was extremely informative and beautifully presented. An excellent grounding for the other paleontology courses offered by this passionate team from University of Alberta. I'm looking forward to diving into the more advanced courses from here on out. Thank you so much for all your hard work putting this course together!

By John J C

Dec 25, 2018

I had many concepts and ideas I have read in books made much clearer to me by studying this course! Koodos to the instructors and all that were involved in creating it! As an added bonus, taking it helped with my computer operating skills. (Which were basically non-existent beforehand!) I definitely plan on taking more courses!

By Lovina N

Jun 22, 2020

Absolutely loved doing all 12 weeks of this course! I have always had interest in dinosaurs and this only increased it. All topics were well planned and presented in easy to understand language, which kept me hooked. The short duration of each module also helped as it doesn't feel like taking in too much information at once.

By Vinda M

Feb 28, 2020

As someone from the Caribbean, we are not really exposed to learning materials such as in this course. It gives dinosaur enthusiasts a chance to come a lot closer to understanding these great creatures and in turn equip persons with the ability to pass on what has been learned to others. This Course was indeed a pleasure.

By Gabby G

Mar 23, 2018

I have a degree in Geology, but never had the opportunity to take a class on Dinosaurs. This class was great at explaining introductory concepts for beginners, but also challenged folks who were more advanced. I was able to skim through what I knew, and study at more length what I did not. Overall, it was a great course.

By Jamie G

Jun 15, 2020

I loved this course! I took it for fun since my husband knows everything about dinosaurs, he was a dinosaur kid, and he even learned a few things from talking to me about the course. It was a great course to take for fun or even for those who are interested in pursuing geology, paleontology, paleobiology and much more.

By Nilanjan C

Jun 07, 2020

It was an awesome journey. I am very interested in the science behind dinosaurs and their evolution. I came to know a lot about them and in a very fascinating, innovative and interactive way. Also some misconceptions got cleared and want to learn about them in more details. Thank you very much for offering this course.

By Matthew W

Jun 13, 2017

I love these courses. I have take all four of the paleontology focused classes available from Coursera. The staff at the University of Alberta have done an outstanding job putting together interesting and informative lectures on one of my favorite subjects. Well done. I hope that there may be more coming in the future.

By José E

May 12, 2020

Very, very instructive introduction to Paleobiology. The course introduces every concept a student needs to understand Paleobiology in a very thorough way, through the use of very interesting explanations and interactive studies of fossiles and quizzes. Would definitely recommend to anyone interested in Paleontology.

By Tamara V

Apr 25, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course and learning some things about dinosaurs. As a non-native english speaker it was a little difficult sometime to understand everything but the transcript of the video's were very helpful! If i had to change anything i would split up the first chapter, it was a lot of information!

By William F M

Mar 31, 2019

I thought the course provided an excellent introduction to Dinosaurs and subjects related to the study of Paleobiology. Materials were well put-together to dovetail with the instructional videos. Overall an excellent course for those of us interested in this subject and with little background or prior knowledge.

By Anya G

Mar 31, 2017

Thank you to all the instructors for putting together a very educational course!!! :) i enjoyed every lecture and have learned a great deal (my childhood dream of becoming a paleontologist (or at least as close to one as possible) has almost come true! :) Hope to continue learning in further paleontology courses.

By Warren D

Sep 04, 2020

What an excellent course. My 12 year old son and I expanded our knowledge of Dinosaur Paleobiology. We are so appreciative of the faculty of the University of Alberta for providing this opportunity in a very accessible format. We are only sorry the the course in completed. Looking forward to doing this again.

By MARK M

Jun 28, 2020

I loved this course. It reignited a passion I had for this topic as a young person and I have since read several more books and commenced the "Ancient Marine Reptiles" course. I thought the presentation and format was highly engaging and thank the presenters for the great experience I've had with the course.

By Keshav G

May 05, 2020

Dinosaurs are fascinating creatures and this course was very amazing in all ways. I love dinosaurs and by doing this course I had the chance to look at them with a greater understanding. Miss Betsy and Professor Currie are my new favourite teachers. Thank you so much, Coursera and the University of Alberta...

By Abderrahmane K

Aug 07, 2020

This course is really important for any biologist to understand basic evolutive principles through a bunch of so important information. You will learn about Geological eras and the rise of non-avian dinosaurs, and their relationship to modern birds. I would recommend this course to everyone studying Biology.