Chevron Left
Back to Disaster Preparedness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Disaster Preparedness by University of Pittsburgh

4.7
stars
893 ratings
293 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Top reviews

CH

Jan 31, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

EB

Oct 05, 2015

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 292 Reviews for Disaster Preparedness

By MUHAMMED N M

Apr 16, 2020

Good

By Muhammad F H

Apr 07, 2020

good

By JAMNESH P

Apr 04, 2020

Best

By Praneeth

Mar 26, 2020

good

By Jose

Nov 13, 2015

Very

By MALLA S K

Mar 23, 2020

ok

By Sugeng R

Jun 29, 2020

G

By Andrew J

Feb 07, 2018

V

By Thomas R

May 10, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course! I found it very engaging and helpful to my own personal planning. I would have liked to dig deeper into more first aid and CPR related things but the amount that we covered was good enough for me. Also, more information on Active shooter and Terrorism situations would be helpful as well. All in all, I think this program was well worth the time.

Thanks a million!

By Michael D O

Apr 05, 2016

The course was informative, but seemed to be geared towards individuals not accustom to survival situations. I would enjoy taking a more advanced, in depth program.

However, the course was clear and I enjoyed the assignments. Some of the quiz questions were based off of information which may have meant more to the instructor than it was significant to the students.

By Gourpada D

May 27, 2020

More Pictures/illustration could be better during large lecture period what sometimes could be appeared as boring. The course largely describes situation based on US, more important examples around the world could make it more enjoyable. Thanks a lot to the professor, I've learnt a lot of important lessons here.

By T V R

Jun 24, 2017

A well prepared step by step plan which has been prepared. Very easy to understand and made it very interesting to learn and enjoy the course. Tx for intimating few of the important activity though know about it but had completely ignored it during our normal life activity

By Abiven J C

Feb 21, 2017

Cours qui permet d'aborder différents aspects, ça donne des pistes pour ceux qui veulent aller plus loin dans l'organisation des secours , et bien entendu comment se préparer. Le dernier cours sur la construction d'abris et le "batonnage" avec un couteau est optionnel

By Jonathan G

Feb 20, 2016

informative course, although I found the assignment to be somewhat redundant and insulting to the student's intelligence. It's common sense that anyone what automatically know to make a list of survival items and an escape strategy in a disaster situation!

By Dr. A V

Apr 21, 2020

Compare to other coursera courses this course i feel somewhat different. They asked to submit family disaster plan and review family disaster plan of other candidate. Its a new experience for me. THANKS A LOT TO GIVE ME AN OPPORTUNITY TO DO THIS COURSE.

By Gunjan k

Aug 17, 2020

Thank you University of Pittsburgh and Coursera to providing very nice course on Disaster Preparedness..I have learned a lot of knowledge and technics by given lecture.and notes..I have passed with 90%.

Gunjan kumar

Email - gunjankr.1988@gmail.com

By Vimal D

May 24, 2020

A very well constructed course. It is more oriented towards personal disaster management but the lessons can very well be applied at larger levels. It orients your thinking towards making you a Disaster Ready Person. Good One.

By Tamara L

Apr 19, 2016

An engaging and highly informative course. My only concern is that the required reading was not available, and there were several broken links for optional reading. This needs to be looked at and repaired as soon as possible.

By Thomas M I

Apr 29, 2020

Well presented introductory course by clearly experienced and knowledgeable Instructor(s). Enjoyed the content, demeanor, and tenor. Slow tempo easily attenuated by speeding up play-back speed.

By Dagmawi M A

Oct 12, 2016

the course is great. also I would like to thank coursera for the fee-waiver opportunities without which people like me could never afford to take such high quality and up to date trainings!

By Hafiz M W

Apr 07, 2020

It is fantastic course, I have learned emergency preparedness skills, resources, different survival kits survival techniques and much more. I truly recommend this course.

By Kate

May 06, 2020

Course material was very useful, and the attention to awareness as an emergency preparedness skill was appreciated. The peer review section of the course needs revision.

By Pawan M

Oct 28, 2017

It is a great course...This will help you in understanding how you prepare and mitigate for the disaster..It is a well equipped and a good course conducted.

By Deshraj P

Jun 11, 2020

It was very intellectual course. The tutor was very well prepared & explained theory nicely. And the case study about disaster was very knowledgeable.

By Bro G S

Sep 29, 2016

Interesting study, it covered things that I all ready knew but also presented others that I had not considered. Overall a good place to begin.