Chevron Left
Back to Single Variable Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Single Variable Calculus by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
229 ratings
58 reviews

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this fifth part--part five of five--we cover a calculus for sequences, numerical methods, series and convergence tests, power and Taylor series, and conclude the course with a final exam. Learners in this course can earn a certificate in the series by signing up for Coursera's verified certificate program and passing the series' final exam....

Top reviews

PC
Sep 14, 2019

Loved it ! I've grown attached to Prof. Ghrist's lectures, so it is with a heavy heart that I took the final exam and finished this course. I xould really love to take another !

SC
Apr 9, 2020

A fantastic course. Kudos to Prof. Ghrist for making this a fun, interesting and challenging ride at the same time. Looking forward to Multivariable Calculus by Prof. Ghrist.

Filter by:

51 - 58 of 58 Reviews for Single Variable Calculus

By Subhee

Apr 5, 2020

h

By Vishal G

Feb 8, 2019

I took the discrete calculus part of the course (part 5 of 5) individually of the rest and the teaching is fine with examples for any concept introduced and links between the unfamiliar discrete calculus and ordinary single variable calculus are made all the time. However, I feel like the course isn't so well named as there is only a week of developing the calculus of sequences and then it goes to standard analysis content - I came for the new content only which was a little disappointing. I will pursue it in the future but there wasn't really any suggestions for further study which I found either. The challenge exercises were great for developing on the subject like with the product rule but there isn't much supporting material for the challenge homework like why the product rule formula is asymmetric.

I feel like the end part of the course should be the discrete calculus exam rather than the 5 part final exam because some may be taking this course individually and might not know some of the content in the final part and so, may not pass the course without using external resources to learn things they didn't learn. The final exam should either only be for people who have completed the four previous parts or a choice if you've only taken some of the five parts.

The course was good and Professor Ghrist is great at teaching; just that he takes a little too long but speeding up makes that fine. The topics never feel like they were underutilised or unimportant; every concept is given practical or theoretical justification for its introduction which is fantastic. It would have been nice to see more applications of discrete calculus as a method to evaluate sums, maybe as exercises? I did enjoy the course too, thanks Professor Ghrist and your team.

By Mary-Ellen W

Dec 24, 2020

The course was challenging and interesting. The homework was mostly fine, but one core homework set was almost impossible to pass (Week 3 Convergence Tests II), and the responses from one of the TA's in the discussion were so insulting and unhelpful that I didn't dare ask for any help.

By Jean B A

Sep 13, 2020

je voudrais un certificat de ce cours , Donnez-moi l'accès pour que je puisse payer le cours?

By Dhruv K

Apr 11, 2021

This provides a new outlook on calculus! I thoroughly enjoyed it

By karimdzan a

Dec 1, 2017

very cognitive!!

By Kevin P

Mar 20, 2019

Excellent.

By Meghan B

Nov 22, 2020

It starts with lesson 54 and assumes a ton of prior knowledge. I don't trust this course to lead me thoughtfully.