Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
691 ratings
161 reviews

About the Course

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

Top reviews

VK
Aug 7, 2017

This course provided me a very quick overview of all the core concepts pertaining to DNA sequencing. It is very well organized, crystal clear demonstration of concepts and I really enjoyed the course.

KP
May 18, 2020

Very good course this is. Just a little advice, please make the quiz questions more clear and more specific because one shouldn't waste time to understand a question which is very easy to implement.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 158 Reviews for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

By Laurence J

Mar 15, 2016

I had a lot of fun doing the little programming assignments in this course. I did not know I like algorithms this much. The pace is good and it is well taught.

By David h

Apr 13, 2016

My favorite online course ever. Thoughtful attention to detail, polished presentation, and helpful cohort of students made this topic really great. Thanks!

By Georges A

Sep 3, 2020

Very well explained, a lot of the gaps of the previous courses got cleared up. This course should be an example on how to teach a subject. Thanks!!!

By annet k

Feb 7, 2018

This is by far the hardest and most organized. My coding skills have improved greatly. The codes are explained very well. I definitely recommend it!

By Omar E

Oct 19, 2018

I loved this course a lot. It's well organized. The lectures are clear. And the practicals are highly useful. Also, the assignments are helpful.

By Sylvain

Jul 3, 2018

Very well prepared, from basics up to all commonly used techniques in bioinformatics. Prerequisites in Python is a plus, but not even necessary.

By Patrick B

Nov 21, 2016

This course was very helpful at building a perspective of how useful algorithms are in DNA Sequencing! The tools I have learned are invaluable.

By Makragić A

Oct 26, 2016

This is the best course so far! Teacher is amazing! You have to spend some time on this course, but "at the end of the day" it is worth it.

By Bill G

Mar 13, 2018

Helpful material for DNA Sequencing and number crunching.

Well taught, I suggest a background in Python to make things more enjoyable.

By Deleted A

May 7, 2019

Very clear presentation. Good analogies used to help with understanding abstract concepts. Both instructors are excellent teachers.

By Raul A

Feb 13, 2018

Very good course I enjoyed it a lot. It has a very good layout at just the proper difficulty level for a course of this duration.

By Diana P

Apr 8, 2020

Great course! Best in the Bioinformatics John Hopkins Specialization so far in my opinion! Had so much fun with the algorithms!

By Mohamed A

Jul 8, 2017

Great course! The materials explain everything from scratch. The Practical lessons are very helpful! Thank you for this course.

By sandeep s

Dec 5, 2016

Excellent explanation. I really enjoyed this course (among others of the Genomic Data Science specialisation). Thanks a ton :)

By dan s

Mar 31, 2018

I loved this course. The material was really interesting and it was well taught. The assignments were excellent as well.

By Dorota A

Aug 9, 2016

Very nice review of basics algorithms and data analysis problem. Very good introduction to python programming in biology.

By Oliver S

Apr 12, 2018

I enjoyed the introduction to some of the algorithms used in genomics... and hope to explore these further in my career.

By Erik A

Jan 5, 2018

Really enjoyed taking this course. Very impressed by the quality of the lectures and practicals. highly recommended

By Ammar A

May 8, 2016

Excellent course that gives enough to understand a lot of interesting DNA related algorithms. Great instructor.

By Ahmed A

Aug 10, 2020

The quality of this course is very high, and I recommend it to anyone who is starting to learn bioinformatics

By 李仕廷

Jun 2, 2018

it's really a helpful course, and it would show you the basic algorithms of the software we are using today.

By Lara S

Aug 11, 2016

Very well taught and gives a good theoretical background, while still focusing on the practical side enough!

By Emile v M

Nov 2, 2019

Very good course on DNA Sequencing. Excellent teaching and just the right level of programming assignments.

By Jon V L

Dec 3, 2019

really well taught with clear lectures and good demonstrations of the implementations of algorithms.

By Fan S

Jul 24, 2019

Wonderful course! However, I think most of the homework can be improved to become more challenging.