Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
886 ratings

About the Course

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Very well prepared, from basics up to all commonly used techniques in bioinformatics. Prerequisites in Python is a plus, but not even necessary.

NF

Invalid date

very engaging and well-presented course material.

intermediate difficulty while conveying the basics of how even recent real-world genome alignment and assembly tools work. great course design!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 213 Reviews for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

By Huma P

Mar 4, 2022

Thank you for explaining algorithms for DNA sequencing in a easy to understand. Lectures and practicals are really good explained. I learnt so many new insights and I hope I will be really helpfull for my career. Once again Thank you Instructors.

By Davide A

Aug 6, 2020

Definitely the best course within the Genomic Data Science specialization so far! Great mix of theoretical intro to algorithms and data structures and their application to DNA sequencing. Thanks to Ben Langmead and Jacob Pritt, good job!

By Amós E

May 31, 2021

It's a very challenging course but it worth the effort. If you are coming from a biological background, and not computer science, you might need to study the Python programing language simultaneously, to be able to do the exercises.

By Dirk J

Sep 7, 2017

Nice to learn the basic stuff on how alignments and assembly software works. Very good job in how the topic is explained to the students with writing code dynamically. Not easy but you learn a lot on how things work and programming.

By David T

Jan 25, 2020

Great course. The lectures were wonderful, short but packed with useful info . The homework's were just the right amount of difficulty without being time sinks, and I learned more about data structures in addition to DNA assembly.

By Cristian D L

May 30, 2017

Excellent course, great teachers, the topics have been exposed smoothly for every level of expertise at bioinformatics. Hoping they make a second part with the others nice videos the teacher has in his Youtube channel.

By Konstantinos K

Oct 10, 2019

Excellent course and excellent instructors! This course had really good content and I learned a lot in a field I already work in. Recommend to anyone who want to learn more On Algorithms for DNA Sequencing!

By Rita P

Jun 6, 2017

This is the one course out of the genomics data science specialization that I found easy to follow and informative. The quizzes were challenging, but provided enough from the lectures to solve yourself.

By vaddadi n s k

Aug 8, 2017

This course provided me a very quick overview of all the core concepts pertaining to DNA sequencing. It is very well organized, crystal clear demonstration of concepts and I really enjoyed the course.

By Ouyang Y

Jun 11, 2020

I really enjoined this course. The course material and instructions are very clear and helpful, although the problems will take some time to solve especially if you are not very familiar with python.

By Lucas S

Dec 17, 2021

This course is a great starting point in alignment algorithms. The topics are well explained, but lack practical depth. I strongly recommend this course to any bioinformatician in development!

By Asfar L

Jul 7, 2019

This is the best course so far in this specialization. I enjoyed the way both instructors explained the concepts using simple analogies. It was a really productive month for me!

By Anastassiya Z

Mar 11, 2016

Awesome, you will learn a lot about how DNA assemblers work, but very challenging and time demand in, especially if your background is in life science and not computer science.

By Brian S

Oct 31, 2021

Great job on the course! It was fun and I will keep reviewing all the stuff I learned. You guys should consider making more courses, perhaps one on molecular biology...??

By Pranav S G

Oct 2, 2020

It was a very good experience to learn something useful for my work which they taught was really good and gave me some confidence to work on the data using

python algorithms

By Margaret P

Jan 23, 2023

Challenging course and took me longer than four weeks to finish but they explained the concepts well and the discussion forum posts from other students were very helpful.

By Syed A H

Aug 27, 2022

John Hopkin University provides an excellent course. It is effective for postdoctoral fellows and early career researchers, primarily those in the STEM fields !

By Laurence J

Mar 15, 2016

I had a lot of fun doing the little programming assignments in this course. I did not know I like algorithms this much. The pace is good and it is well taught.

By David h

Apr 13, 2016

My favorite online course ever. Thoughtful attention to detail, polished presentation, and helpful cohort of students made this topic really great. Thanks!

By Krishnendu S

Jul 21, 2021

An excellent course designed to prepare students for real challenges. Thank you Dr. Langmead, JHU and Coursera for designing such a beautiful course!

By Georges A

Sep 3, 2020

Very well explained, a lot of the gaps of the previous courses got cleared up. This course should be an example on how to teach a subject. Thanks!!!

By annet k

Feb 7, 2018

This is by far the hardest and most organized. My coding skills have improved greatly. The codes are explained very well. I definitely recommend it!

By Omar E

Oct 19, 2018

I loved this course a lot. It's well organized. The lectures are clear. And the practicals are highly useful. Also, the assignments are helpful.

By Sylvain

Jul 3, 2018

Very well prepared, from basics up to all commonly used techniques in bioinformatics. Prerequisites in Python is a plus, but not even necessary.

By Patrick B

Nov 21, 2016

This course was very helpful at building a perspective of how useful algorithms are in DNA Sequencing! The tools I have learned are invaluable.