Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
884 ratings

About the Course

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

Top reviews

NF

Invalid date

very engaging and well-presented course material.

intermediate difficulty while conveying the basics of how even recent real-world genome alignment and assembly tools work. great course design!

SS

Invalid date

Very well prepared, from basics up to all commonly used techniques in bioinformatics. Prerequisites in Python is a plus, but not even necessary.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 213 Reviews for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

By Yi C

Nov 5, 2021

Thank you!

By KLEBER P D S

Jun 26, 2017

Very good!

By Bingdi L

Jun 2, 2019

Great!!!

By Ronald F R M

Mar 19, 2020

Thanks

By John C

Apr 21, 2020

Well explained, clear lectures with challenging homework assignments. Coming into it as a biologist was challenging since the course is designed for computer scientists, and if you are a newbie to programming you will most likely need to spend significant time outside of the course materials. The course would be hugely improved by providing examples of ideal code once students have passed the relevant quizzes/homeworks - at least then you can compare your own work to ideal code, and learn a good approach, rather than potentially take away a flawed one.

By Osman M

Sep 4, 2023

It is an excellent course for an introduction to computational biology, etc.. Ben Langmead is an exceptional educator. I did not know he was the mastermind behind Bowtie/Bowtie2. Omg! I am honored to attend his lecture. I highly suggest this particular course!

I gave four because I would love to see a more updated version of this course. Some fundamental concepts do not change, but a lot has changed in genomic sciences. For example, how modern hybrid assemblers work, etc., could be mentioned in the course.

By Roman C

Feb 21, 2016

This course gives a good introduction to some basic algorithms.

The standards it sets for students, however, is very low. They ask you to download an already written piece of Python code and change a line or two.

To get the most out of this course, I recommend implementing all the algorithms yourself, perhaps even in a different language.

"Algorithms on Strings, Trees and Sequences" by Dan Gusfield will be very useful for that.

By Deleted A

Oct 9, 2019

Very engaging and interesting course! Ben Langmead explains concepts very clearly and has clean, well-structured presentations. Enough biological background is provided even for individuals with no experience with genomics. What I found most helpful about the course is that the Jupyter Notebooks from the lectures are freely available on GitHub.

By Geoffrey K

Nov 17, 2018

I was completely new to Python when I started this course - and the good news is I learned enough to complete! (Yay!)

I suspect I'd have given the course 5 stars had I started with slightly more Python knowledge.

Still, the feeling of having got through is sweet all the same!!

By Daniel S

Feb 5, 2022

Almost perfect. Had a little trouble finding the (not really) provided downloadable files. Very good lectures, okay coding practicals (lack a bit of deeper explanation, feel a bit rushed). Other than that, a relly helpful course to learn the basics of handling DNA reads!

By Chunchao Z

Jul 9, 2019

The lectures are really excellent. Things that could be improved are coding instructions. These clips are not always as clear as lectures. My suggesting is using some graphs, examples, or pseudo code when writing the python codes.

By David B

Aug 21, 2018

It is well explained. More space to programming practical exercise is suggested.Very intriguing Programming Homework! You have to apply all the python knowledge you have learned so far and also the one you have still to learn :)

By Aydolun

Sep 23, 2017

If you do not have a coding background, you might find the homeworks hard but the practicals in the course are very helpful.

By Valdir B J

Mar 17, 2018

Very good lectures. Some of the homework assignments were kind of hard though (and no help in the discussion forums).

By Ana P

Jun 4, 2017

Great teaching, very interesting content. Only missing some checking of the contents (homework pages especially).

By CAROLINA I H F

Aug 13, 2020

Useful and really good, maybe complicated for those who are new at programming, but well worth it.

By Horațiu P

Apr 15, 2016

Awesome course. I recommend it to all how like programming and biology, specially DNA.

By Nikhil Y

Apr 13, 2020

It was a really good course to start in the field of computational genomics.

By Megha T T

Dec 9, 2023

interesting algorithms and quizes really help you understand the codes

By Sasha A M

Jul 8, 2022

Good course quite engaging, could be improved in certain areas!

By SHAN Z K

Nov 19, 2017

It's better to get familiar with python and start the class

By Dr. M G M

May 8, 2021

I wish you explained the practicals in more detail.

By Ulises O G L

Jun 16, 2020

I think more background about programming is needed

By LucyZhang

Apr 30, 2017

It's a little bit hard for the fresh guys

By Catherine J

May 19, 2020

Excellent presentation