Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
887 ratings

About the Course

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Very well prepared, from basics up to all commonly used techniques in bioinformatics. Prerequisites in Python is a plus, but not even necessary.

NF

Invalid date

very engaging and well-presented course material.

intermediate difficulty while conveying the basics of how even recent real-world genome alignment and assembly tools work. great course design!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 213 Reviews for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

By Makragić A

Oct 26, 2016

This is the best course so far! Teacher is amazing! You have to spend some time on this course, but "at the end of the day" it is worth it.

By Bill G

Mar 13, 2018

Helpful material for DNA Sequencing and number crunching.

Well taught, I suggest a background in Python to make things more enjoyable.

By Deleted A

May 7, 2019

Very clear presentation. Good analogies used to help with understanding abstract concepts. Both instructors are excellent teachers.

By Tom S

Oct 13, 2021

As a Computer Science Teacher I would indeed recommend this course. I look forward to use Your Python-code for further practicing

By Raul A

Feb 13, 2018

Very good course I enjoyed it a lot. It has a very good layout at just the proper difficulty level for a course of this duration.

By Diana P

Apr 8, 2020

Great course! Best in the Bioinformatics John Hopkins Specialization so far in my opinion! Had so much fun with the algorithms!

By Mohamed A

Jul 8, 2017

Great course! The materials explain everything from scratch. The Practical lessons are very helpful! Thank you for this course.

By sandeep s

Dec 5, 2016

Excellent explanation. I really enjoyed this course (among others of the Genomic Data Science specialisation). Thanks a ton :)

By dan s

Mar 31, 2018

I loved this course. The material was really interesting and it was well taught. The assignments were excellent as well.

By David N

Feb 2, 2023

This course was REALLY worthwhile for me. The practical difficulties arising in sequencing are especially well explained.

By Dorota A

Aug 9, 2016

Very nice review of basics algorithms and data analysis problem. Very good introduction to python programming in biology.

By Oliver S

Apr 12, 2018

I enjoyed the introduction to some of the algorithms used in genomics... and hope to explore these further in my career.

By Erik A

Jan 5, 2018

Really enjoyed taking this course. Very impressed by the quality of the lectures and practicals. highly recommended

By Ammar A

May 8, 2016

Excellent course that gives enough to understand a lot of interesting DNA related algorithms. Great instructor.

By Ahmed A

Aug 10, 2020

The quality of this course is very high, and I recommend it to anyone who is starting to learn bioinformatics

By 李仕廷

Jun 2, 2018

it's really a helpful course, and it would show you the basic algorithms of the software we are using today.

By Lara S

Aug 11, 2016

Very well taught and gives a good theoretical background, while still focusing on the practical side enough!

By Emile v M

Nov 2, 2019

Very good course on DNA Sequencing. Excellent teaching and just the right level of programming assignments.

By Xue S

Nov 23, 2021

The course material is difficult but the instructors are very good. I learnt a lot from this course.

By Jon V L

Dec 3, 2019

really well taught with clear lectures and good demonstrations of the implementations of algorithms.

By Shijie F

Jul 24, 2019

Wonderful course! However, I think most of the homework can be improved to become more challenging.

By Brian M

Mar 7, 2017

Awesome! Although you should get some python experience before taking this course. I had a blast :)

By Tiffany L

Mar 4, 2016

Great course. The instructors are very clear. I learned so much about algorithm in DNA sequencing.

By Souheir M

Dec 24, 2023

Thank you for your efforts preparing and lecturing this course. I really enjoyed learning it.

By Shane P

Apr 3, 2020

Great Course. Good content and presentation with informative practical sessions. Thank You!