Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
884 ratings

About the Course

We will learn computational methods -- algorithms and data structures -- for analyzing DNA sequencing data. We will learn a little about DNA, genomics, and how DNA sequencing is used. We will use Python to implement key algorithms and data structures and to analyze real genomes and DNA sequencing datasets....

Top reviews

NF

Invalid date

very engaging and well-presented course material.

intermediate difficulty while conveying the basics of how even recent real-world genome alignment and assembly tools work. great course design!

SS

Invalid date

Very well prepared, from basics up to all commonly used techniques in bioinformatics. Prerequisites in Python is a plus, but not even necessary.

Filter by:

201 - 213 of 213 Reviews for Algorithms for DNA Sequencing

By HARSHIT J

Jul 28, 2020

The course is quite interesting and the instructors are very skilful in teaching and explaining. The sad part about the course is that the course is an ABANDONED one (like all the other courses in the specialization) i.e there is no active course staff or any instructor for help and you're pretty much on your own. Also, it requires quite an amount of mental exertion and I would HIGHLY recommend you to not take this course unless you have a good grasp of Algorithms on String and Networks. For someone with some background of Algorithms like me, the course is quite enjoyable.

By Dhynasah C

Jan 6, 2022

I was glad to learn the material but I think some of the way the alorithms were explained was very confusing. I ended up going to other sources to get better understand...also the project was very difficult...and I dont think the weekly assignments really matched what we were learning in the videos.

By Alexandra E

Jun 14, 2022

Course très instrutif mais également très intensif. Il est dommage qu'aucun des professeurs ne répondent quand on a des soucis concernant les examens et qu'aucune correction ne soit proposée.

By Srividya B B

Mar 26, 2024

Some of the codes given are needlessly complicated. Plus due to the merger of ipython and Jupyter, some material is not accessible. It becomes a pain to use and follow.

By Artur K

May 19, 2022

OK, but much less detailed and engaging than the UCSD course series on the same topic (Bioinformatics Specialization).

By Nelea R

Jun 29, 2020

Little support from peers or mentors in this class.

By Souhrid

Feb 4, 2023

questions are tougher than the taught ones

By Aaden S

Nov 26, 2023

It was a bit too difficult for me

By Bianca G

Nov 1, 2023

It is very poorly explained. It says that you dont need to have python skills, but it's almost impossible to do. Its hard to follow the classes, and the programming homeworks are too difficult and far more complicated than what is dictated. Its much more time consumming than I expected, it takes me like a week to make my code work correctly and there's no help provided. I truly dont recommend this course to anyone

By Van N

Nov 2, 2021

I am studying Bioinformatics, which means I have had already experiences with coding. However, this course is not easy at all. Furthermore, there is no clear instruction, especially for beginner programmers. Another part which I don't like at all is the quizzes. They are not easy, but there is no solution nor quiz instruction.

By SiefElDin S

May 31, 2022

The course does a good job explaining the concepts, but poor job in the practical section. with some codes not even explained and the assignments are moderately hard but makes me wonder on what did i exactly learn?

By Badreldin A

Jun 28, 2019

it is so difficult for the beginner biologists, without help from the professionals I would not pass in the homeworks.

By Jennifer R

Jul 4, 2021

Very difficult and the moderators do not help at all.