Chevron Left
Back to Dog Emotion and Cognition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dog Emotion and Cognition by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,099 ratings
1,228 reviews

About the Course

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Top reviews

DE
Dec 13, 2020

I learned valuable information about dogs. I can better understand the thought processes of my own dogs. I really like that the lecture slides were provided after the lectures, so I could review them.

LT
Aug 3, 2019

Great course with a lot of new information, not just about dogs but even domestication of other species, including humans. The predictability of aggression in humans would be an interesting next topic

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,218 Reviews for Dog Emotion and Cognition

By Isabel W

Jun 17, 2019

I loved this course! It opened my mind to thinking about animals in far different ways than I normally would. It was very interesting, and I am now going to read The Genius of Dogs!

By Rachel C

Jul 8, 2017

Great course, learnt a lot of new and interesting things as someone who loves dogs. Hope to use some of the material I learnt in my MOOC on the relationship between humans and dogs

By James M ( W

Sep 6, 2016

This is amazing. I truly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone that loves dogs and wants to know more about them. I will probably take this class again. I liked it that much.

By Joy N

Apr 20, 2018

Dr. Hare is an engaging teacher and the course content is a wonderful adjunct to the typical dog training literature. I really enjoyed the course and his book, which I purchased.

By Natalia S

May 26, 2020

I loved that course! It was informative, interesting, very entertaining! Don't miss it if you have a dog, interested in dogs, love dogs, work with dogs! - Greetings from Hungary!

By BITNA L

Oct 21, 2017

I am just starting to take this lecture, but I think it's really good lecture. The pf talk to me very easily and make me understand well. This subject is not difficult. I like it

By Bryan B

Sep 9, 2021

Great course. Dr Hare's presentations/ videos were very informative. The class content was engaging. It helped me to better appreciate my furry, four-legged friend even more!

By HISHITHA T

Feb 6, 2021

It was indeed a great course to understand the silent ones and to teach them good behavior. I loved the course and looking forward to some kind of courses in the future as well.

By BEATRIZ A B M

Jul 13, 2020

Es un curso bastante claro e interesante, pues nos ayuda a comprender un poco mas a nuestros perros y nos da la pauta para seguir aprendiendo sobre como comunicarnos con ellos.

By Olivia W

Jan 19, 2020

Never felt like I HAD to do this course, always looked forward to it and to seeing Brian again haha! An informative and very enjoyable couple of weeks. Wish I could do it again.

By Jennifer K

Jul 11, 2017

I loved the course because I learned so much about dogs and coursera gave me the opportunity to do so at my own speed whenever I had time and felt capable of learning! Thank yo

By Tashauna M

Oct 3, 2019

This course gave me wonderful insight into a corner of learning and training that I hadn't considered before. I can't wait to do the entire dognition experiment with my dogs.

By Lorraine C

May 9, 2016

Fantastic course! I have learned so much. Worth reading the book "Genius of Dogs". So happy to have a certificate from Duke University signed by Brian Hare! Totally worth it!

By Francisco C Z

Jan 25, 2016

Really interesting, I learned a lot from this course. It's approach was more scientific than I expected, which is a great thing. Some experiments presented here blew my mind!

By AYLINE F R

Sep 27, 2021

Fue un buen curso para comprender mejor la evolución, aprender que hay personalidades con inteligencias diferentes y que hay que tratar de entender a nuestros amigos peludos

By Rayane R L

May 25, 2020

Thanks for this course! I’m very interesting to give the book and Brian is a really good teacher. Thanks for sharing all the things you know with us! Cheers from New Zealand

By Kim S

Nov 14, 2021

The course is thought-provoking and interesting, especially for all doglovers! Dognition is fun and stimulating to explore with your dog. Thank you for offering the course.

By Vaishak B

Jul 5, 2020

Absolutely loved the course and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The module quizzes made the course to be more interactive and engaging. Great stuff by Dr.Brian Hare.

By DENISE W C

May 26, 2020

Great course! Learned a lot about how animals learn, with yet so much more for me to learn and practice. The Genius of Dogs was also an excellent resource. Thank you again!

By Murat A

Dec 9, 2019

It is an excellent course. The course content is evident-based and scientific. While it is very comprehensive, the language is simple enough for any person to understand.

By Ashley G

Jan 5, 2016

i love this course! No where around me at all offers a class like this and for my situation the fact that its online is even better! I've learned/learning a lot, thank you!

By ARNAOUT E O

Feb 1, 2021

A GREAT THANK YOU FOR THE COURSES.

AS A PET GROOMER I HAVE LEARNED A LOT AND I WILL BE STRONGER IN MY WORK.

A LOT OF INFORMATION AND REALLY WORTH IT, AND VERY INTERESTING.

By Abe N

Jul 12, 2020

An incredibly well designed course, easy to follow the professor who is not shy of rigorous scientific rigor and providing a new venue for learning this discipline matter.

By Luana S

Jan 20, 2022

T​his course gave me a good basic understanding of dog's cognitive abilities and their limitations. This will undoubtedly be helpful knowledge for living with my own dog.

By James T

Apr 7, 2018

Very well constructed. The information flows at a perfect pace. This course would be beneficial for all dog owners, trainers, rescuers, anyone who interacts with canines.