Chevron Left
Back to Dog Emotion and Cognition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dog Emotion and Cognition by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,525 ratings

About the Course

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Top reviews

CG

Invalid date

Great course! It develops each topic comprehensively and combines old and new approaches to how we can improve our relationship with our dogs and help dogs learn to be included in our society.

KE

Invalid date

Interesting insights about how dogs think and what we perceive through their behavior. Taken purely for personal enrichment. Wish I'd had more time available to work with the lab material.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,345 Reviews for Dog Emotion and Cognition

By silbi s

Apr 15, 2016

The guy is full of shit. He's just trying to sell you his book and his online game product. He was also obsessed with bragging about all of his accomplishments. I was quite disgusted by him at the end. I paid for the certification, but now I want my money back.

By Sidney S

Feb 23, 2019

Not a lot of information if you have even minimal interest in the subject.

Seems more like advertising to go to his somewhat bogus site and spend money for ego and add to his "research."

By Ashley

Oct 21, 2015

A waste of money. Only $50, but it was so terrible I did not even want to finish it. And apparently I waited too long to get a refund as well. Never again.

By Adam P

Sep 30, 2016

If you didn't like the first few lectures, you won't like the rest. It won't get better. More repetition, clichés, and advertisement that anything else.

By Michelle M C

Jan 2, 2016

I just do not feel a connection with this professor - he is constantly plugging his book and the website. The content is just not engaging.

By Kt B

May 22, 2020

A ploy to sell their books and internet subscriptions. If I could give negative stars, I would.

By Grainne M

Mar 6, 2016

Not learning much and constantly being bombarded with sales tactics. Not impressed.

By Janet A

Jan 31, 2017

A waste of time. One long advertisement for the instructor's book.

By Kari S

Sep 7, 2015

Mostly just an ad for the instructor's startup. Very annoying.

By Judith M

Feb 21, 2016

This was a giant advertisement and got tiresome very quickly.

By Ivan C G C

Sep 23, 2021

A lot of advertising, so poor about tehcniques and studies.

By Manuel A

Jul 31, 2020

what a long ad

By Bill A

Oct 23, 2015

Not much here

By Ellie W

Apr 5, 2019

Fascinating material! I greatly enjoyed Dr. Hare's presentations and learning not only more about dogs but also cognitive processes across multiple species. I highly recommend investing in the optional reading material, "The Genius of Dogs" book. This course was my first Coursera experience, and it has inspired me to check out more courses. Thank you!

By Jennifer L F

Mar 23, 2023

What a fascinating look into the burgeoning science around dog cognition, expanding beyond operant and classical conditioning. I hold a degree in Neurobiology, Physiology, and Behavior and attended veterinary medical college and still learned some really fun things about dogs.

By Linda T

Aug 4, 2019

Great course with a lot of new information, not just about dogs but even domestication of other species, including humans. The predictability of aggression in humans would be an interesting next topic

By Nikole H

Nov 14, 2017

An excellent introduction to the world of dog cognition. Anyone who is interested in working with dogs, or just learning more about their new adopted family member should definitely take this course.

By Linda S

May 10, 2024

Excellent course on understanding dog cognition and communication through the application of scientific experimentation. Easy to follow lectures by Dr. Hare and great insights with his explanations.

By Dara F

Jul 18, 2019

Really interesting course that gives a great overview of some of the latest research in canine behavior. Helpful even for a regular dog-owner that just wants to understand the mind of their dog.

By Jeru J

Jun 1, 2019

This course is essential for a dog owner, business, trainer or even if you are just a person who has an interest in dogs! Concise yet packed with information. Thank you

By VALERIA

May 12, 2019

Dr. Hare was exactly the professor you would want him to be in this course. Enthusiastic, informative, and awe of the animals we call our best friend.

By Divinia J

Apr 30, 2019

I really loved the course.I learnt a lot of new things about my dog.The videos were short and sweet which is why it was easy to understand.

By Вера Б

Jun 2, 2019

Очень понравился курс. Узнала много интересного. Очень поможет в дальнейшем изучении психологии собак.

By Julian L V O

May 23, 2019

The author was quite talented in communicating the concepts contained therein. I learned a lot

By Donna C

May 29, 2019

This course was a good course to take on dog cognition and how smart your dog is.