Chevron Left
Back to Drug Discovery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Drug Discovery by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
2,110 ratings
442 reviews

About the Course

The University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Drug Discovery course brings you lectures from both faculty and industry experts. With this course, recorded on campus at UCSD, we seek to share our access to top people in the field who bring an unprecedented range of expertise on drug discovery. In this course you will learn the drug discovery process up to the filing of an Initial New Drug Application or IND. Each week you will learn the steps that a pharmaceutical or biotech company goes through to discover a new therapeutic drug. In this course you will be able to: * Understand the pharmaceutical and biotechnology market a changing landscape * Learn the major aspects of the drug discovery process, starting with target selection, to compound screening to designing lead candidates. * Recognize current modern drug discovery based on the lock-and-key theory, which attempts to use one single compound to hit one target to combat the related disease. * Increase understanding of the various drug discovery tools and methods that are used for finding, identifying and designing a new drug. * Define and understand the regulatory responsibilities for drug discovery to file an Investigational New Drug Application (IND). This course is intended as part 1 of a series: Drug Discovery, Drug Development (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-development) and Drug Commercialization (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-commercialization). We would highly recommend that you take the courses in order since it will give you a better understanding on how a drug is discovered in the lab before being tested in clinical trials and then launched in the market place....

Top reviews

HG
Oct 15, 2018

Very well done and informative. I truly appreciate the Drug process in entirety being broken down into sections that are easy to comprehend. It is obvious the speakers were chosen for their knowledge.

JS
Jun 9, 2020

This course helps to understand the basic fundamental & principles of drug discovery clearly. I am very thankful to the Coursera and University of California San Diego for providing this course to me.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 442 Reviews for Drug Discovery

By VIHAN S

Jun 16, 2020

Very illustrative and informative course, this course has helped me greatly to learn many new things in pharmacies.

By MOHIT S

May 9, 2020

Amazing course for those who are attached with a pharmaceutical background.

I must recommend this course to all.

By Kaksha H S

Jul 14, 2020

It was great experience. Really innovative, smart instructors and overall very well planned course content.!

By Amir r V

Jul 13, 2017

An up to date and precisely structured course for understanding network-based and fragmented drug discovery,

By Shivani M

May 1, 2020

good for those who wants to get deep insight what pharma company has to undergo to develop a effective drug

By sahand a

Jul 9, 2019

This course was amazing about approval process of drugs and also pharmacokinetic of them. Enjoyed it a lot!

By Ghule P B

Jun 11, 2020

It was very good time to learn drug discovery.

I'm thankful to the coursera for this wonderful opportunity.

By Flor D L A M T

Nov 3, 2020

This is a great course for anyone involved in Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. I truly recommend it.

By Yugeshwaran K

Jan 8, 2021

This course made a clear sense of Drug Discovery and The step by step procedures are explained very well

By Muskan k

Mar 28, 2020

The course is very helpful and I got the all my interesting facts and also got the rational skills sets.

By Apparao S

Jul 12, 2020

Coursera is the best plat to learn about the all topics regarding pharmacy field through online classes

By Sebastian H

Jul 8, 2020

Course could use an update on more recent trends past 2016, but really nice overview and great overall!

By karim z

Jul 5, 2020

Nice and intersting course. It gives a brief panoramic on the wide and complex world of drug discovery.

By Phương N H

Sep 16, 2020

Helpful information about the movement pharmaceutical market and adaptation in Drug Discovery process!

By Anubhav B

Jul 12, 2019

Generally very detailed and hits the point on the drug discovery. Material can be updated from 2013-14

By KALUVA N V

May 23, 2020

The course was useful in gaining knowledge about the drug discovery and their reactions in the body.

By Thitiphong N

Jun 2, 2020

Really enjoyed my time with this course. Very well organised sets of lectures. Highly reccommended

By BODDEPALLI A S

May 31, 2020

This course is very useful for those who are working in research and development (R&D) department.

By Swetha M

May 28, 2020

It was an amazing course .Very informative speakers made us aware of the basics of drug discovery.

By Maria M

May 22, 2020

Well structured course, for beginners and also for pharmacists as myself looking for a refresher.

By Aditi p

Aug 9, 2020

This course if very informative and learned many new aspects involved in Drug Discovery process.

By Karthik S

May 5, 2020

Must have some hands-on session to explore more about the computational drug discovery process.

By Haider H

Apr 1, 2020

Great essential and basic information to enhance my knowledge as a Msc pharmacology student !

By miral D

Feb 13, 2020

I love this course, as pharmacist it broaden my knowledge about the processes in drug discovery

By Amna L

Jun 30, 2020

highly recommended, as this course helped me in polishing my skills in my filed; neurosciences